How I Started My Ad Agency With Zero Money

in #money7 years ago (edited)

When I was fired unexpectedly from a small digital publishing and list management startup in Virginia, it really shook my confidence because I didn't understand why. I felt better when I found out that the boss hired his father-in-law to take my place. It meant that he was kinda forced to by his wife. Not a good move for any business, but regardless I was out of a job. 

(www.giphy.com)

I'm a talented guy with an incredible resume, it will be easy to find a new job I thought. Well, it was, but only one problem. I would have to commute over an hour and a half to DC to make the same money I was making before. That is time away from my family, time away from my kids and time wasted in the car.

A tough choice was in front of me. I could either work in DC and make the same amount of money that I was making or take something more local and a huge pay cut. Those were my first options. My wife took starting a business off the table because my last one was a challenge on our family. It didn't matter, I was destined to go my own path.

Over the course of three weeks I decided to stop looking for jobs and to learn as much as I can and try to find something that I can sell to people or businesses. After watching tons of free training courses that led from one to another I started filling in some blanks in my head. I had done social media management, affiliate marketing, email marketing, retargeting, list building, online fundraising, paid ads, list rentals, contests, live streamed events and a slew of other skills, but after watching and learning for three weeks I learned how to put it all together. I realized that my greatest asset was myself and that I should just give my knowledge to businesses... for a fee of course.

I wanted to be a digital marketing consultant. I knew I would have to really get my hands dirty to start and run the promotions and do the building before I could hire someone, but I was excited. If there is something I didn't know, there were dozens of YouTube videos showing me how to do it step by step. 

I told her I am starting a business and she needs to get over it. I also said I would start it without a penny and I did.  Starting in April I picked up my first client building a simple Weebly website and some online funnels. I made about $600 bucks. I used that to get a logo, make the company official and pay for some online services. I then went out and picked up a couple of other clients paying around $500 bucks a month for me to do their Facebook ads.

 In May, I picked up three more clients. This time each one is paying at least $1,000 for me to do email marketing and different services. A few other people paid me to build some simple sites or funnels online and I delivered quick to each one. Within two months, I made the same amount of money that I did my last two months of my old job.

Just today I landed a whale. A big client that is paying more than all my other ones combined. Things are going well. On top of all of this, I have been able to deliver for each client and each one has seen growth in revenue directly tied to my work. I don't have a confidence issue anymore. lol

At this point, I am just starting to see the light and really opening up to the what is possible with my little digital ad agency. To be honest, getting fired was the best thing that ever happened to me.


Thank you so much for reading my story. Any feedback, upvote or follow would be greatly appreciated.



Sort:  

Thanks for putting your story out there. Inspiring stuff.

I did some digital marketing work recently for a client and have to say that it's a lot more fun and mentally stimulating than the trading work i used to do at a corporate.

Just curious but do you list your work done for clients on your site? I'm asking because the client of the project i just finished doesn't allow us to use his name sadly.

Hey! Thanks a lot for the reply and kind words. To answer your question, I only post past clients. I don't make it public who my clients are currently, because I want my client to get the recognition. I stay in the background and they typically refer better that way. At least in my business. I live in a pretty small town too. About 200K in the metro, so my works spreads pretty quick. I hope that helps. Any other questions, let me know.

I'm down to pay you for doing some Facebook ads for me @walkingkeys

Chuckypita that would be awesome. I am sorry, I'm new to steem and don't see a direct message. If you reach out on this contact page, I'll get in touch. http://www.keysermedia.com/contact.html
I really appreciate it and I hope I can help you out!

That is awesome! I just replied back as well. Thank you!

I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

Thank you!!! I am following you too now. I'm a large man, not a fat kid, but I look forward to your food blogs. lol Thanks for the support.

I'm following! Thanks for the support. I really appreciate it.

Very Motivational Keep It Up.

Welcome to Steemit @walkingkeys :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Thank you, bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71