Apps to Pay you MoneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #money7 years ago (edited)

In yesterday's post I mentioned how I made money by grocery shopping. Today, I will mention some apps I use that will save you money just by purchasing those products. Most grocery stores will obviously not pay you to buy their products (except Wallmart, I have actually gotten money from Walmart when a coupon's value was greater than the price of the item!!).

1. Ibotta

I mentioned Ibotta app yesterday. However, I didn't say much about it. Ibotta is an app available on your smart phone. All you have to do is buy your groceries normally. Then you open the app Ibotta which you have downloaded. You can click on this referral link for easy download. You can then search for any items you may have purchased and add the items you want. Once you are ready, you click on Redeem and take a picture of your receipt. Then you verify each item by scanning the barcode and upload the receipt. Then, the savings are added to your account, which you can withdraw or exchange for giftcards. the picture below shows an example of what you can redeem at Target.
IMG_3963[1].PNG

2. Checkout 51

If you find Ibotta to be too much work, you can try Checkout 51, another app where you can save money for every day grocery items. Just like Ibotta, with Checkout 51 you buy items and the add them on Checkout 51, but this app only requests you upload the picture of the receipt, you do not have to verify each items by scanning the barcode. Checkout 51 usually rewards you within 48 hours of sending the receipt! You can cash out once you reach a $20 minimum.

As you can see in the picture below, items such as eggs and bread give you $0.25 each. You may think that is not much, but four of these items are one dollar, and each dollar helps!

IMG_3965[1].PNG

3. SavingStar

SavingStar requires more work upfront, since once you download the app, you must enter or scan your cards from different stores into the app. For example, CVS has a card, or Harris Teeter has a card. You input that information to link them. The most important thing to remember with SavingStar, is to "activate" or add the items you want, before shopping for the items. Since they are linked with your card for that particular store, it will automatically pay you once you have purchased the item, as long as you activated the offer. This however, makes it take longer to receive the rebates. Sometimes up to three weeks later. But I view it as a savings....and I do not have to do extra work for it. I usually activate most of the offers available on SavingStar, unless I am absolutely certain I will not buy a product, so that it will automatically pay me. It can't get easier than that!

IMG_3964[1].PNG

4. MobiSave

MobiSave is another app that needs the items to be activated before you so shopping. Yet, this app does not request any store cards. You activate each item you want before you shop and once you finish shopping, you take a picture of the receipt. MobiSave will pay you quickly, and the best thing about this app is that it will transfer the money for each item directly into your paypal. You don't need minimums to transfer them out, and you can also treat this as another savings account paying you "interest" :)

MobiSave is one of those apps that has rare products, but it works great!

IMG_3966[1].PNG

Most of these apps aren't connected which means that if you buy diapers, and you find a rebate on Ibotta, Checkout 51 AND SavingsStar....guess what? You can redeem them all!

There are obviously more apps that save you money, but these are the four I use most.

What other apps have you used that you find useful? Are you willing to give any of these a try? Why or why not?

All cents and dollars add up, so start on saving! :)

Sort:  

I use checkoutsmart and clicknsnap, I'm in the UK so imagine there all different :)

Whatever works for you dear! The main thing is to save money! :) thanks for sharing

That is very true :)

I have all these apps but primarily use iBotta. Actually, this reminded me that I should check those other apps to see if I can save more money! Every penny counts and I love that they don't talk to one another. One time I had the same item on 3 of the apps. After all was said and done, I got it almost for free.

I have gotten paid money many times to buy an item for using a few apps. It is great! Do you use any other apps I have not mentioned?

Let's see... Mobi, iBotta, SavingStar, Checkout 51, Groupon for restaurants and activities, and Target's Cartwheel app! You can get some pretty cool savings right at the store.

Yes! Definitely cartwheel for target. Did you know you can stack a manufacturer's coupon, a target coupon AND cartwheel for the same item? And if they have rebates on the apps even better! ;)

I tried once and was limited to one manufacturer coupon OR store coupon with the app discount. Sometimes I forget to read about the exclusions. Still... I love when I get those "free" gift cards!

You should be able to use both, unless they were both manufacturer's coupons. Now they don't do overage, so coupons can adjust down so you get free items but not make money. Of course you can if that same item is in the apps. But those gift cards are great! :)

We definitely do not have these apps where We are currently based or even back home. We have Taskspotting though, which gives us freebies for completing surveys or watching ads. Every "mission" has corresponding points too which can be redeemed for cash. I recently claimed $5 for 500 points. Not too much, but considering I also had freebies (actual product size as sold in the market, not samples), it is already good.
We also have an e-wallet called Beam where there are free cash backs. I remember I was able to purchase a bag and a pair of shoes worth around $80 then I paid only $3 in cash + my cahsback points. 😉😀😊

That is great @arrliinn! Any savings no matter which way you obtain it is great! Redeeming points is a great way too. Didnt it feel good to buy a pair of shoes for just $3? :)

Yeah! I wouldnt have bought those at their original prize. Lol

LOL! I know exactly what you mean. That is why I love coupons. On the bad side, I can now never pay retail price for many items. I only buy toothpaste when i get it for free! LOL

When you look at the price tag and go, darn! Where's my coupon?! Lols

Well in that case I am like " i will come back with my coupon tomorrow" lol!

I will be checking all of these out! Some of them seem a little more labor intensive than others but it may be well worth it. Do you have an estimate of how much you save weekly or monthly by using these apps?

I hope some of these or all of them can help you save some money on your groceries! No i don't know on a weekly basis, but it keeps a lifetime total. My total for Ibotta is $93. There are times where i don't use it at all, other times, i use it often. If you were to use it daily you can save a lot! :)

You are welcome! :)

I've never heard of these apps! very cool. How do they earn their money? . . . from the grocery store?

Great question @jannell! These apps just follow your shopping habits pretty much. That is how they get paid. Information :)

Ah HA! 'a la Facebook' . . . hey, at least you/we are getting something out of the apps!

Yes! I get paid. Same as steemit. Facebook pays you $0! And they use and sell your information... :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58