Can You make Money by Going Grocery Shopping?

in #shopping7 years ago (edited)

Today I set my alarm at 6 am to go grocery shopping.

Why so early you ask?

Harris Teeter, a grocery store in my area, doubles coupons up to $0.99 every day. However, sometimes they have events, sometimes weekly, other times just "blitzes" of three days, where ALL coupons up to $2 double. This is called SUPER DOUBLES. This blitz starts at 7am on Sunday and lasts through Tuesday at 11:59pm.

I love super doubles! These are the times I get items for free or very cheap.

After spending some hours planning my shopping trip last night, with a list of what to get, paired with what coupons to use, and what, if any, I would be paying at the register. You see, there are some rules to these super doubles events.

RULES

  1. To get sales prices you must have a Harris Teeter card.
  2. There is a limit of 20 coupons that will DOUBLE. (You may use more coupons, but only 20 whose value is $2 and under will double).
  3. Only 3 like coupons may be used at Harris Teeter. That means if I buy toothpaste, I can only use three of the same coupon( unless there is another limit of the coupon which limits to one or two items per day).
  4. If an item is out of stock, you may request a rain check. These will expire in 60 days, and may not be used with coupons when bought.

My Shopping Trip

IMG_3942[1].JPG

My receipt says I saved $66.92, which means retail price for my shopping trip was $70.07. I PAID $3.15 for all of these items at the register. HOWEVER I used the app Ibotta

If you want to save money download the app Ibotta an use my referral code: https://ibotta.com/r/ytrba

ibotta.png picture taken from Ibotta website

THEREFORE...

By using Ibotta app, you get money back by purchasing certain items. I got some rebates and received $4.50 back.

$3.15 (I paid) - $4.50 (I got back) = -$1.35 or I got PAID $1.35 to take home all of the items listed above. I would say that is a great deal! =0)

IMG_3950[1].PNG

Have you used coupons in the past and gotten great deals like I did?

Sort:  

Thanks for the news. This is a good post. I upvoted, retweeted and followed. I will share this on Facebook and Twitter.

Oh wow thank you @debmund! That means a lot. Hope you have a wonderful day! :)

I LOVE IBOTTA! LOL
Actually just saved about $5 in my grocery shopping today and it's one of my ultimate favorite activities in the world. Yes. I love grocery shopping. LOL
Sadly, we don't have any places that double coupons in my area. Ah well. I'm just happy to be surrounded by food. :D

That is great! I am glad you also use Ibotta. It's great. There are other apps as well. Maybe I will mention them in another post. Thanks!

Nice, I shop at Aldi's cause they have great prices. But Ill def look into this!!

Yes Aldis is great too! They have the best prices. But they don't accept coupons. I understand why they don't because many things like milk and eggs you can't get cheaper than Aldis. Plus I love the system they use for carts. It's the same way in Europe, that way people put back their own carts to get their quarter back. Thanks for your comment! :)

This reminds me of the Super Couponers TV show, I wish they did this sort of thing over here (New Zealand) occasionally we get pizza codes and stuff that cross-over but never anything on this kinda level.

Thanks for the interesting look into the coupon world @sgnsteems

Thank you @yoza.ossan! I am also not an "extreme couponer" like you see on TV shows. But i have saved quite a lot of money by using coupons. I hope it will travel for New Zealand for you! Nice to virtually "meet" you 😊.

I might have to check that out! I'm not going to lie...I order my groceries online and have them delivered to my house. I get a lot of flack about being lazy, etc, but the time I save I get to spend with my kids so bring it on, haters! That being said, I don't use coupons and wish I had the time or energy to do that. Does Ibotta work with every grocery store?

Thanks for your comment @thesimplelife! Ibotta works with many stores, is there a specific one you use? You make a great point about spending more time with the kids when you have them delivered. You can also integrate the kids in the grocery shopping and have them help you sometime.

Mine are a little young right now. Going on a trip to the store is not quality time spent yet! They are very close in age (baby and toddler) Hopefully someday it will be!

Yes that is definitely harder than to have a "field trip" to the store LOL

Plus just getting both ready to GO to the store takes longer than being at the store!!!

Lol! I know exactly what you mean! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84