Top 3 Rental Property Upgrades That Waste Your Money

in #money7 years ago

If you own a rental property long enough, the time will come when you will have to pony up some cash to renovate.


This post is from my buddy @getonthetrain or as I call him - the side hustle king! If you want methods and tips for building financial freedom, he's your guy.


Good landlords never waste money doing things that don't need to be done. It kills our profits without providing a good return. This is especially true when it comes to rental property renovations. Over time everything deteriorates. I mean, do you feel the same as the twenty-year-old version of yourself? I know I don’t. Heck, my body hurts in ways I never expected to feel. But I digress…

If you own a rental property long enough, the time will come when you will have to pony up some cash to renovate. It's either that or be left with lower rents and tenants that are at probably at the lower end of the desirability scale. I don’t want that. That’s something that’s way worse than spending some of my earnings to keep the place comparable to other rentals in the area. I think you will agree with me here.

So while renovations are worthwhile when the time comes, we want to use our money in the most efficient manner that we can. That doesn’t mean being a cheapskate and using the cheapest material we can get as that never works out well in the end and you usually just have to redo everything in a few short years. No, we want good materials used in areas that offer the best return on our money.

What we don’t want to do is waste our renovation budget. To that end, I have come up with the top three areas of wasteful upgrades that I have seen landlords spend money doing – and what to do instead.

1. Waste Money in the Kitchen

Landlords upgrade the kitchen cabinets and countertops expecting to command a higher rent, ‘wow’ potential tenants, and get the place rented faster. If you have your property in an area with a large demand for rentals (and you bought your property in such an area, right?), it is a waste.

Just having ‘nice enough’ cabinets and countertops are enough to get a pick of quality tenants in these locales.

A handyman can often make them nice enough by repairing any deteriorated areas and staining them. I bought a property that had 80’s style particle board cabinets with a section that had gotten wet, but didn’t replace the whole of the kitchen cabinets though! Instead, I paid a handyman to cut new pieces to replace the damaged sections and gel-stain away the 80’s style. I also replaced the cabinet hinges and installed pulls myself. The result of these inexpensive upgrades was a ‘nice enough’ kitchen brought into the current decade. Total cost? $160 in labor and $280 in materials.

Once those shiny new cabinets are in they just won’t look good without a granite or quartz countertop, right? Nope, don’t waste money. Regular tenants aren’t expecting fancy stone countertops, so don’t do it! They make good looking Formica laminate countertops on the cheap nowadays.

Oh, and please don’t go crazy on the appliances either! Most renters aren’t going to know the difference between the low-end and high-end models. Just having clean, working appliances is enough.

2. Waste Money in the Bathroom

Another area some landlords feel the need to overdo it is in the bathrooms of their rentals. Putting in fancy sinks (or adding dual sinks) or changing the tub into a walk-in shower with a rainfall showerhead.

Don’t do it in a rental! Bathrooms should be nice, but basic. Basic ‘out-of-the-box’ vanity with sink built into the top, tile or vinyl on the floors and shower walls. The vast majority of renters just need a decent place, fancy upgrades are for homeowners. Think of the motto KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid.

Where do you want to spend the money? Buy good quality faucets (don’t forget the pipes too!) and toilet. I find that installing commercial grade faucets and toilets are the best, as they are made to withstand abuse. If you can kill the maintenance issues before they even start with quality materials that don’t break or leak easily – do it! That, to me, is worth the additional money.

3. Waste Money on Carpets

Rental units often have carpeting because it is cheap and easy to replace, and it is. The problem is that you are going to find yourself replacing it every two tenants, on average. Wear and spills are going to happen.

So in a rental that you plan to hold for the long-term, I say stop wasting money with the carpets and install a high-traffic resistant vinyl flooring. Yes, it will cost more initially but over time it will come out to be the best return on your dime. I say vinyl over laminate because vinyl is 100% waterproof.

They make amazing vinyl that mimics wood or tile, buy the type that your area expects. Wood in New England or tile in Florida, for example. You should only install flooring that has a timeless style – no fad patterns that will be dated in a decade. I recommend the TrafficMASTER Allure vinyl brand in a neutral pattern.

Encourage the tenant to use area rugs as any wear or stains will be at their expense.

Most tenants expect that carpet will be in the bedrooms. I use a mid-grade carpet made of nylon with Scotchguard protection.

Conclusion

Unless you are renting in A-class areas, just keep your places ‘nice enough’. Most renters want a decent place at the going rate. So give them what they want.

The object is to have satisfied tenants without spending more than you need to. It does NOT mean being a cheap miser. It DOES mean to spend your money in a smart and efficient manner that keeps the cash flowing.

I hope you found something of value that you can apply to your business. If you have additional knowledge to add, or just want to say anything at all, leave a comment below.


You can follow more of @getonthetrain's adventures on his steemit blog or website, http://www.doublingdollars.com/, where he often writes about side-hustles and his philosophy of life and money.


Steemit_txtdvidr.png

Best Regards,
Scaredy Cat Guide Logo_SiteHeader2.jpg

Sort:  

A+ tips. From my experience when my parents had rentals.... The carpet is the #1 expense and consideration.

I can see how kitchen and bathroom can be a temptation for upgrades nowadays as tv shows like Flip this House show making Houses for sale to be more flashy.... But I agree... That doesnt translate well into the rentals.

But high quality in terms of durability is a definite. Don't cheap on key or highly used materials... The labor cost will kill u over the longterm. From either repair or replacement!

Keep these coming!!! Dave Ramsey would be proud!

Hey @em3, glad you enjoyed my landlording tips! I'm partial to Dave Ramsey as well. We need more money talk on steemit, and not just crypto. How to build and handle wealth over the long term is very important.

I agree!

(Steemit glitch ate my comment..so keeping it short)

Peace

lol...Dave Ramsey, nice. I personally am definitely more a hybrid of Ramsey and Rich Dad Poor Dad.

Oh for sure.

Dave is good for average cushy americans that learned to live outside of their means and it screwed up their life. They are ready to listen to some reason.

RDPD is great for just starting out and learning how to live responsibly AND get rich along the way.

Nice post !
I agree 100%, ROI is is key in any expenditures whether short or long term. Imho, "Nice enough" IS key, and clean is paramount to attract and keep "Good" renters. Another key to keeping good renters is to be prepared when something breaks and fix asap.

Hey @jtstreetman, glad you enjoyed (and agreed) with my article here.

Certainly being "Johhny on the spot" to fix any problems will keep the tenants happy. Happy tenants stay longer, which saves on vacancies and even renovations as they get used to the place "as-is".

Have a good one man! :D

Exactly, good consistent functionality is the important part.

Indeed, one of the best parts of your post was mentioning, quality faucets, toilets (And pipes) etc .. If you want to do it right, go commercial, one of the best ROI in the house ... Another really good ROI is doors/windows .. keeps down the wear and tear on heating / cooling units..

Speaking my language man! :-) I have a ton of other posts specific to real estate on my website too if you want to poke around -https://scaredycatguide.com/scaredy-cat-blog/

Nice page man ! A LOT of really good info on your site ... I hope you are making $ from all that work !
I used to rent to own, renovate and move on .. then lost it all, 25 yrs work down the drain and lost all my (25 yrs collection) tools. At least I didn't lose the knowledge I gained. Starting over w/out a dime is a challenge, but !! I know a few things, lol !! Good luck in the future man !

BTW !! I would REALLY like to see you post on ... Acquiring abandoned properties ... of at least your thoughts on it. So many people doing/trying this.

Are you talking properties that people walked away from cus they were so underwater or...?

Consider .. driving in the mountains, come around a corner and seeing a house that has not been lived in for 10+ YRS ... seemingly abandoned. They are everywhere in the US.

I agree with you on all three points. It's been a few years, but before we left for Chile, we had a rental or two. It was seldom that I would even paint, but when I did give the walls a fresh coat, the property would normally occupy much faster. That was my way of saying that normally clean and the appearance of fresh are most important.

You got it; A clean and "fresh" place is key!

I only renovate the properties I plan on to resale. I will wait for my tenants to move out before I renovate anything!

Good post about rental property. Same thing is pretty much applicable to selling a place. 🐓🐓

Right , "area" dictates the quality of the rehab. Good advice.


This post was resteemed by @funaddaa!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 3700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @funaddaa users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in funaddaa's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Please make your bot image smaller. This is annoying and soon when I see these resteem bot posts I will start flagging!

Very informative post, many things to learn, great effort by you. Upvoted and resteem

Right? What did you think about his cost fractimilization chart?

But what about wasting money on me?

LMAO...that is a given ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89