"The Seven Cures of a Lean Purse" - Part 4 of 7

in #money6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my dearest reader!

Everytime I compose the continuation post of this series that I am going to share to you, I get so excited. I get excited thinking that, again, I am going to share something valuable to you. You may have read this book already, or have heard of it, but the fact that you're here willing to read the rest-- Thank you so much! May you share these cures to the people whom you know that might need it.


Image Source

Oh! I am glad to tell you that we're already on the 4th Part, amazing isn't it? I am hoping to tell familiar readers like you. And if ever this is your first time to read this series, don't worry. Allow me to introduce to you the preceding parts:

▪️Part 1 of 7

▪️Part 2 of 7

▪️Part 3 of 7

Also, this is my contribution to the Financial Literacy Campaign together with @smaeunabs and @jcvertucio. Just recently, @smaeunabs launched #thebudgetchallenge in order to promote responsible budgeting to our Steemit community. Maybe this will interest you, I encourage you to join!

In relation to the third cure, I can relate if you'd say that it's hard to find a good investment. Indeed, it is hard. Especially what you'd be using is from your hard earned money. You don't want to lose it, right? You want to make sure that your money would not be put into waste.

"Misfortune loves a shining mark. Gold in a man's purse must be guarded with firmness, else it be lost." - Arkad

Now let's go on to the FOURTH of the Seven Cures of a Lean Purse:

▪️Guard thy treasures from loss
Guard thy treasure from loss by investing only where thy principal is safe, where it may be reclaimed if desirable, and where thou will not fail to collect a fair rental. Consult with wise men. Secure the advice of those experienced in the profitable handling of gold. Let their wisdom protect thy treasure from unsafe investments.


Image Source

This is the challenging part for most of us. In aiming to have large sums of ROI or quick returns, we tend to invest our money right away without knowing more about the investment itself.

This implies the importance of educating ourselves first before investing. It is education that would lessen the risk. If we know where we are investing our money into and understood how it works, it will give us the confidence to invest.

"The penalty of risk is probable loss. Study carefully before parting with thy treasure, each assurance that it may be safely reclaimed. Be not misled by thine own romantic desires of making wealth rapid." - Arkad

Now, you might think that Arkad is so amazing that he didn't have pitfalls in his investments, but let me divulge to you that his first investment was a tragedy. He entrusted his gold to a brick maker to buy jewels. He lost his one year savings because of the unwise decision.

You see, experience is a great teacher. It allows us to taste the bitterness of failures for us to appreciate the sweetness of success. And the most important part, we can use it as a great stepping stone to advance and correct whatever mistake we have done in the past.


Image Source

"Better by far to consult the wisdom of those experienced in handling money for profit." - Arkad

With this, if we know someone who had credible experience in investing, let us ask for guidance. If we know none, well, let us resort to books. Also, the good thing about nowadays is that, the resources needed for certain topic of interest are now readily available from the internet, all we have to do is research and read or search for videos and watch. Podcasts are also available for us to listen to. If we are not fond of reading, let us try to search for seminars or public talks then attend.

Let us not mind if it takes too much of our time to learn. We just have to remember that we are growing roots that when the time would come that there are challenges to face, we would be ready for it. Together, let's say...


Image Source

You might be wondering if I already have investments at this point of time, well... I do. Though it is not as many as you think. Like what I have mentioned, I am also taking my time to read and learn about other forms of investments.

So, take your time too!


Image Source

I believe the past parts have been overwhelming. Maybe many of you doubt it, but let me tell you, the road to financial freedom varies depending on your priorities and goals. If you have come across other ideas that would aid you, go!

Do not limit yourself with one book, one advise or even one investment.

Disclaimer: Me sharing to you these doesn't mean that I have successfully followed it all, but I am applying it. Well, it doesn't work over night and it won't. It entails sacrifice and discipline. Believing and following these are all up to you.

If you find something wrong with my post, please feel free to correct me. I am very open for suggestions and other reactions that would help me improve my posts. Thank you.

Thank you so much for following this series! Keep posted for the next one!💕

Sort:  

This series is awesome! Mubasa pa ko sa uban :) Keep it up @namranna!

Thank you so much for appreciating senpai @thegaillery! 😘

This is a great advice to my old self hahahaha
Again, thank you for this wonderful cure man!

You're welcome daw @smaeunabs, ana George Clason hihi! Bitaw shei, I salute you! After all the struggles and experiences you've been, it made what you are now. 💪

Yay! I am proud of us man! Cheers to financial freedom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85