Will Money Make you Happy?

in #money7 years ago (edited)

A lot of people suggest money will make you happy, while others believe money is evil and will make you a bad person. There have even been studies done on whether money makes you happy, and how much money you need to be happy. I am all about goals, making money, and trying to be as happy as I can be. I have been in positions where I was not making much money at all, and I am in a position now where I make quite a bit of money.

I think that money can make people happier, but it is not the money itself, but what money can buy you. It can buy you time, freedom, enjoyable moments, vacations, and comfort. Money can also buy you stress, worry, debt, and many things that will not make you happy. No, money itself will not make you happy, but if used correctly it can be a wonderful tool to create happiness with the right attitude.

IMG_20170712_203804_382.jpg

How will money make you happy?

Working non stop to make a ton of money is not going to make you happy. Making money, which you can then use to create free time for yourself can make you happy. I think there is a misconception that making a lot of money means you work all the time. To make a lot of money you may have to work really hard for a while, but if you invest wisely and build a business that money will work for you, freeing up your time.

Some of the things that make me happier thanks to having money:

I have been able to buy some of my dream cars
I am able to go on vacations multiple times a year with my family
I am able to have free time to golf or pursue other hobbies
I can give more money to charity
My wife does not have to work and can stay home with the kids
We can afford to pay for many activities for the kids
We can help friends or family when they are in trouble
We can afford insurance and health care
I have my own business and can make my own hours for when I work
I can employ many other people, which helps the local economy and those people

I wrote an article that goes into more details on money and happiness here: https://investfourmore.com/2017/12/26/will-money-make-happy/. I even list a few studies that back up my conclusion.

How can money make you unhappy?

I think money has to be used int he right ways. There are many people who make a lot of money, but are stressed beyond belief. They may spend everything they earn, are loaded with debt, and have to make tons of money just to keep their heads above water. I think these are the people that make others think having money is not all it is cracked up to be.

Here are some things I have done to make sure I am not stressing myself out with money;

I invest most of my money, I do not spend all of it.
I have created passive income that comes in whether I work or not. This allows me to take more risks, because I know I have a safety net.
I hire people to help me with many things. I make sure I have plenty of free time to enjoy life.
I focus on spending money on things that make me happy, not what society tells me I should want.

https://investfourmore.com/2016/04/04/is-the-pursuit-of-money-making-you-happy-or-is-ruining-your-life/

We all have different things we like to do. I love cars, and I have a blast with my cars. They are expensive and when I was young I told myself I did not like cars, because I did not believe I would ever have the cars I wanted. When I stopped limiting my beliefs, my career and life took off.

https://investfourmore.com/2014/07/01/able-buy-lamborghini-diablo-real-estate-business/

20170312_142945.jpg

I think if you use money the right way it can bring a lot of happiness. What do you think?

Sort:  

I think it has a lot to do with your personal goals and what you plan to do with the money.

For myself, i have a number, it is the number that will get my family out from all debt, mortage, cars, credit cards all paid off. Once we get past that point, the rest is gravy. Upgrade one of the cars, okay, if we can pay cash for it. My wife will always work, so insurance and monthly bills will be taken care of, and i can play in the world of crypto without hesitation once we pass that number

Very true. I think financial freedom is more important than how much money you make. https://investfourmore.com/2018/01/15/achieve-financial-freedom/

That's right!

When hearing [most] people say "money cannot buy happiness," you later find out that they are the laziest people, and that they are just using a poor excuse as to why they aren't being productive; or they're just jealous of those who do have money, because they themselves do not.

The reality: everyone wants a lot of money. Everyone wants to live freely. Everyone wants good food, a nice house, and dope cars, whether they admit it or not.

Money most definitely buys things that makes one happy.

— NP

Great comment. Many people hide what they really want in life because they don't think they will get it. When they don't think they can get it, they almost certainly will not. I would much rather try and fail, then never know.

Hey Mark! Good topic to speak on as it is a highly debated subject. Money brings security and memories. Yes of course you can be okay without making a lot of money but the things your children will experience with you will be cherished forever.

On a different topic... Have you done and article or can you tell me...
What expenses come with owning a house while you flip it. I'm talking the property taxes, electricity... Not the repairs. I'm creating a budget for my repairs... do you use any specific program?

Money bring desired buyable products, but do you give these products value to you? So without them, you are nothing? With them you are something? I believe we can find happiness without money. J.cole talked about this subject before he sells everything he owns.

Money can do more than buy products. It can buy time, which is our most valuable asset. It can buy vacations and travel, it can buy health care, it can buy insurance. It can buy a home. I did not say you have to have money to be happy, but I think it can make you happier if used in the right ways.

I think the money is very much to its use, if in my opinion, I will use the money to help others.and open a useful business.trus I will give alms to the poor and the poor.home much use for me./posting permatachannel

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by InvestFourMore from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 12.67% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @investfourmore!

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote!
I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar!
I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58889.18
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47