Steemit success! Sending SBD from Bangkok Thailand to San Diego California Part 2

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I wrote a post about trying to send steemit SBD to my son @bxlphabet in San Diego California.

First attempt - Sending SBD from Bangkok Thailand to San Diego California

Sending money from Bangkok is not easy! But sending sbd from me to my son was simple as could be. We almost did it but not quite! He has the money in his Coinbase wallet, but he was not able to get it out of there. Somehow the connection to his paypal is not working.

Help Arrives!

Luckily, @mariannewest came to the rescue. Marianne read my post yesterday and was not happy with the fees we were paying to transfer money as you can read about there. She lives fairly close to my son in San Diego (not that close!) and offered to personally take him the USD if I could transfer her the SBD and we could figure out what the exchange was. Between the three of us - we do not have much crypto knowledge. But today we gained some!

How to value SBD in terms of USD

We used a combo of penguinpablo reports and another site - https://www.coingecko.com/en/price_charts/steem-dollars/usd
to figure out the right amount and agreed to it. Is this the right way to convert sbd to usd? We have no idea but we did it anyway!

Healthy food too? Yes!

Then, as soon as we figured that out, and quick as can be - Marianne drove over there and even took my son some food from her garden and stock. Marianne is a homesteader, so this is the good stuff! Can you believe that???

And a photo record for mom!

To top it all off I got this fantastic photo of the happy participants in this trade! And proof of the funds in case I was in doubt lol.

Another steemit miracle out of the many. Are you surprised to know that Marianne was also on tsu? Me either!

Nothing at fitinfun would be possible if I still weighed 275 pounds. Those were such hard times! Anyone can lose weight if I did.

steemit fitinfun site link before and after.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you so much for writing this story :) You always help everyone!! A pleasure to be of service :)

Aw! You are so nice, Marianne. Free coaching to you for sure! Let me at your twitter or your you tube lol. I'm still on Cloud Nine about this . I just wish I had some of the greens you took him :)

When you come to visit :) Did he contact my friend for the job?
Oh, and twitter please. since they changed things around, I can't find a thing! And I was interested in hearing that you make affiliate sales from there. Working on that part :) https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

I do not know - he asked how to prepare the food and then that's all I got. I will look at your twitter as soon as I get up.

For now just make sure to tweet your open posts each day - a couple in the am and then in the pm. I go out to 4-6 days as well as the current one and skip the ones in the middle. Alter the tweet text to have 2 hashtags. Use either @steemit or #steemit on all posts! That's a start :)

Sharon, I am in a map contest again and would love your vote :) here is the link
https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@accelerator/six-of-the-best-from-our-new-mapsters-map28-minnow-contest

To vote for me, either upvote my comment under the Map 28 post or leave a reply to my comment saying "vote" or do both.

Cool use of Steemit :) Steem is one of the most efficient ways of transferring money imo. No charges. One of my great frustrations living in BKK was dealing with all the banking regulations and fees. It got to a point that i just gave up and lived with the charges.

I sure get you there! Every time I transfer - it's a whole new ball game - not to mention the long trips and the odd closing times. The best thing though is that they are open 7 days a week. Banking on Sunday is so exciting for me!

Hopefully I get enough sbd that I need to find bkk steeemers to help me cash out. That will be a big thrill.

Great to see you today and here the story "in the real" then see it in the bit less than real! Hope you had a good nap! -Dan

Yes , and now another one! Naps are my life now :) Just coming back to consciousness now :)

This is a great story of success and how amazing the community is and also a great way to network.

Yes, it sure was! And also a good reminder of our old days at tsu :)

Single tear 😢

Wow! lol I had the same issue getting just plain old USD to my son when he was in Denver and I was in Florida! You'd think the powers that be could make these transfers easier... Congrats on making that work! 😃

Thank you! It's pretty shocking how money transfers have become so difficult in this internet age. When someone getting in their car to deliver cash is the "best" answer - we are in a crazy world!

What a great story!

I can't help but think that this whole process should be way easier than it was. Someday!

This is truly the best story of all my adventures with money in Thailand.

Where else is your banker the lady across town who drives over with the money?!

@mariannewest rocks!! So glad that worked out the way you wanted it to Sharon!

Thank you! This was an amazing and wonderful result!

Congratulations @fitinfun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Thank you! This is a new one on me and I will look into it.

Congratulations @fitinfun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70949.50
ETH 3803.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45