No money no problems...

in #money8 years ago

image
Sooo.. I was thinking. How about we live in a non-monetary system? Let's get rid of all the money. Let's make everything we own, available to anyone who needs it. Let's get rid of ownership and let's share. If I'm not using my bike on a particular day, let me give it to someone who does need it. Share a lawnmower with the whole block, share a barbeque with your street. Many things you don't need everyday. Let's get rid of all the money. Life is not meant for working all day everyday. Do what you love. You like making paintings? Paint and someone else will put it on their wall, and in return that person will fix your car, or make you meal.

I wonder, would christmas still exist if there was no money to be made? Would there be any holiday at all? Or maybe christmas would really be about giving.. giving joy, giving things to others you made yourself. It would have a whole other meaning.

I wish one day to see a world like that. A non-monetary system but for now it's seems impossible because many people can't let go of either money, or the idea of money.

Sort:  

It's not so simple. Money is the system of trust we use to cooperate with one another. Originally born out of debt, if you have chicken and I want chicken, then when you give it to me then I owe you. Before we had money, I just came to your village and killed you and took what I wanted. Thanks to barter and early coinage from the blacksmiths, we started working with our neighbors.

I see what you mean. But if I give you that chicken you don't owe me. I'm talking about sharing not trading. Also, we have enough resources for everyone so if we stop being greedy everyone can have what they want or need and if not there will be plenty of replacements. But maybe I'm being to unrealistic or idealistic...

Keep working... together that is

Congratulations @alies! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alies! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alies! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33