Monero Mining on a Raspberry Pi 3 Profitability

in #monero6 years ago

Mining Monero on a Raspberry Pi 3

After having unprofitable results mining on the Raspberry Pi Zero, it's time to see what the more powerful Raspberry Pi 3 can do. The Pi 3 uses a 4 core 1.2 mhz ARM Cortex-A53 CPU with 1 gb SDRAM. For this example I will still be running the raspbin lite OS with the CPUMiner-Multi program but this time I will be going after a different cryptonight coin, Monero.
Raspberry-Pi-3-Ports-1-1833x1080.jpg

Getting a miner

First step is to download all the dependencies required.

sudo apt-get install automake autoconf pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libjansson-dev libssl-dev libgmp-dev make g++ git

Next, clone CPUMiner-Multi

sudo git clone https://github.com/tpruvot/cpuminer-multi

Once it has been downloaded, enter the new folder

cd cpuminer-multi

Compiling

Now let's compile the program.

sudo ./autogen.sh

sudo ./configure CFLAGS="-Ofast -mtune=cortex-a53 -mcpu=cortex-a53 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=neon-fp-armv8 -mneon-for-64bits" CXXFLAGS="-Ofast -mtune=cortex-a53 -mcpu=cortex-a53 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=neon-fp-armv8 -mneon-for-64bits" --with-crypto --with-curl

sudo make

Start mining

Once again, I'm mining on the minergate.com pool and as I noted before, due to the sites high payout threshold it could be a while before you receive a payout when using low hashing power. The command to start should be formatted like this:

sudo ./cpuminer -a [algorithm] -t [cpu threads] -o [pool address:port] -u [username] -p [password]

The Pi 3 has 4 treads that can be used to get around 9.25 H/s. This should bring in 0.00026 XMR per week at the current difficulty. With the price of XMR at $244.33 at the time of writing this, I will earn 0.064 USD per week.
pi@Cobb_ ~_cpuminer-multi 2_11_2018 9_44_03 PM.png

But what about the electricity?

With the meter registering .86 amps at 5 volts, I can figure out that the Pi 3 is costing me 0.072 USD per week at my electricity rate of 0.10 per kWh. This means that like the Zero, it's not profitable to mine cryptonight coins on the raspberry pi 3. I hate to admit this because I love my Pi farm, but this is where the situation stands. The only way to see a profit mining cryptonight coins on the raspberry is to mine something and hope it's value increases.
IMG_7049.jpg

Sort:  

I'ts a fun project to do but not really worth the time.
You can use a raspberry to make a steem bot:
https://steemit.com/technology/@niel96/fk5r5hlqw

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

The pixel 2, mining monero, will earn me $10/year; if you have higher end Android boxes, the results should be fairly similar. My friends leave their Android boxes on all the time, and so I recommend them for mining altcoins.

This is what I do as well. Also if you search online trough some of the pre-paid phone sites, you can scores some really cheap deals on some decent Android phones, then use them to mine many different crypto coins via the Miner Gate app.

THIS IS PERFECT!! I know the power to profit reward is not great, but that is why I'm going to be setting up my Pis with solar power! Only need to pay the initial cost of the hardware, then the mining will be all free to operate. ( Also what I do with 15 Android phones, each makes about .03 a day, in today's prices)

Sometimes it's good to read something totally out of your comfort zone. I read this and had to Google a few terms! I recently did my first Steemit article on equity release. It's a great platform and I'm enjoying the diversity of content.

Very informative. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88