It's unfair?

in #moderation6 years ago (edited)

So, after my post "Do you pass the Turing test?", a recent conversation went like this:

Spectacle.V10010.png

Can you not agree with what I am saying here? We, both the blog posters and commenters alike need to fight the bot phenomena with the tools we've been given. Those who write, need to write well enough to not be mistaken for bots, and those who curate, must assume every nonsense post or comment is a bot.

The problem we have is we do not yet see bots as a problem that affects both us creators (writers, photographers etc.) and commenters. We all need to up our game, both quality-wise, and policing quality.

Yes we can and must find ways to find out if someone is really a bot or not, but for now we don't really have other tools at our use than flagging.

I do have an idea though... A mechanism on top of steem that would make it possible for us to "whitelist" real, actual humans so that their name would be shown green or something whenever we hover our mouse on top of their avatar or something like that.

As a major producer who gets +50 comments per post it has become hard for me to keep tabs on who may or may not be a human or a bot, just on a hunch, so you can probably understand my dilemma, and everyone else's who has been able to gather a sizable following, writing thousands of comments a week, or perhaps even per day. It will become increasingly hard to spot a quality comment in a sea of what could only be described as a cacophony of mediocre.

And it may sound unfair too, but I'm not saying this lightheartedly, most human communication is pretty much mediocre (no offense), but now we have an additional source of the same – the bots – we can't just sit idly and let some random sentence generator take our place.

Or can we?


"EXTERMINATE!!!"


[Previous post: I see it everywhere!]



If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

What you did was 100% correct and I agree with you, even though you considered me a bot and I did not mean anything wrong
You dropped my reputation from 46 to 45 ,, but I do not blame you my friend

Your reputation will rise again. :)

And thank you for the support and understanding. It means a lot, and I will keep it in mind.

Thank you, and I'm sorry if I did something you did not like
Do your work and do not listen to those who frustrate you

@gamer00 made a game, or a test if you will, put a comment, that comment can be flagged, up-vote or ignore, so you choose to play the game, so it is only fair to accept the results right? Of course, you can debate the test, and the results with the tester, which is only fair, and I don't know if me that think this but, you can't actually make this test "fair", and that's because this test, it is not fair... for bots.

Which is the point for the test to begin with (yes, since the beginning this test was not "fair" for bots, as it is intended for them to fail the test).

Now, you can't make the test more "fair" because bots would take advantage of that, and being too lenient in humans will conflict with one of your objectives of training humans to able to create better comments for your post in the future, so you can start filtering out bot and nonsensical comments more easily from your post and make a post rich on content, which is your goal.

A whitelist is a pretty good idea with so many bots flying around, and this can be made temporarily outside of Steemit, but, i doubt that doing it that way will make a lot of people tempted to use it, as for the moment, the best thing you can do is making the rules clear for everyone, so it is "fair" again.

One thing i would love to know is, was Steemit.com made for bots? The ToS say no under user conduct.

First of all a greeting
you are very right in what you argue, and also the idea that the names of human users, so to speak, are of some color to identify them, or something else

is seriously. You put me as an example. where everyone will give you the reason why you are going to vote for them. and also you vote for your own publication "try a bit harder"
thank you for giving me the reason innocently

Good, finally I can see you write lengthier sentences and something with a meaning! :)

It kinda makes sense with a whitelist idea.
But I mean... there is a rating thing and it is supposed to be resolved naturally with flagging.
I don't know. It's a neverending fight of bots and people.

I agree with your motivation and I understand it, for me it was a very strong shock when i started in steemit, and see as a post, with a photo with hundreds of dollars, while great publications did not earn anything.

But it is a problem of both sides one the unscrupulous use of bots to gain followers and votes and on the other hand the unwillingness of the community to avoid it.

For the last thing is that I agree with your initiative, the solution to the problem of the bots will not be solved with automated rules since these can always be skipped and in some cases exploited by the developers. It is in the hands of each one of us, on the one hand those who have the power to apply it in favor of avoiding the misuse of bots and who do not have the power, generate quality content for the benefit of the community

Seeing you call out people in your posts is pretty entertaining I can't lie... I love your whitelisting idea too actually. Or make it clearer at all times on the website when you follow someone so we can just follow people that we would otherwise put on this whitelist.


what you did was very fair. don't listen to those complains. @gamer00

@resteemia
reteemed & upvoted & commented & followed

Completely agrees with you, since bots not only badly affect the community atmosphere in the ecosystem, but they clog the posts of authors with spam, which hurts the post itself and screen out qualitative commentators. I, for example, read a post, I think and try to comment on the topic, and someone just wrote two words and waits for encouragement from the author of the post. It is necessary to fight against this and thank you @gamer00

I totally agree with you sir.but the thing is most of them don't realize the need of this.For anything to last so long it has to maintain its quality.when i fails to maintain that eventually it will reach its end.we are with you sir and im sure you are doing the right :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33