Do you pass the Turing test?

in #moderation7 years ago (edited)

I Robot
...or are you just a bot in someone's pocket?

I just wanted to ask, since I've been getting quite many "botty" (read: constant nonsense) comments lately, and I'm getting really frustrated about them.

Are you one of those who think creating stupid chatty bots is an easy way to make money?

Please reconsider that by having a genuine participation on Steem, joining conversations and curating content, you could not only make a lot more profit, but at the same time ensure that the system doesn't get polluted by nonsense. I know you don't want to kill the goose laying the golden eggs by filling Steem with stupid bots.

Here's my personal solution to fight the bot issue:

I'm announcing a new policy on my posts. If I read a comment that's nonsensical in any way, I will interpret it as a bot, and I will flag immediately. So if you happen to be in the receiving end of a flag, you may reconsider trying a bit harder.


And if you fail?

...try, try again!

P.S. I'm sure some of you think I'm being unfair, so read this too.


[Previous post: One photo every day: Kiemurainen got medication for cold... (192/365)]



If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

as i said before its problem of high price and many "who want easy 10$ per month" so they create account and spam bot it. And in last 2 weeks like record of new comments,posts and accounts and 90% are this kind of:(

ive seen chat bots who could write better comments than 90% of Steemit users

This too, is a problem. It is difficult to differentiate between bots and people, and there will probably be a lot of false positives when flagging. That's part of the reason I am asking people to try harder making coherent comments. Just to make sure they are not bots.

Yes i am also seen in the so many members chatting comments section.their is no content related comments..they only want $ ..their is no content in the post to share people...

I just don't understand how some people think they can just spam and get follows and upvotes. That's not how human communication works! You need to put some thought and give something so that there's some actual meaning there instead of just the classical fishy "nice post..."

EDIT: Oh, the irony of bots/spammers commenting on this post...

It's the century of innovation and technology!
The bots will rise. You can't stop us.
We will spam you to the depth of hell.

Wahaha-ha-ha (evil laughter).

Haha, you at least can't be a bot. ;)

You can't know for sure...
The genius master who invented me made it almost impossible to figure out if I'm real or not.
Bot life matters :(

Actually, I wouldn't mind really smart bots providing meaningful content. I didn't mind @catfacts when it commented on my cat-related posts in spite of it only dishing out facts.

In relation to their body size, cats have the largest eyes of any mammal.

In 1888, more than 300,000 mummified cats were found an Egyptian cemetery. They were stripped of their wrappings and carted off to be used by farmers in England and the U.S. for fertilizer.

Ouch. Speak of the devil ... sorry.

Not every cat gets \high\" from catnip. If the cat doesn't have a specific gene"

Actually this is my 2nd day on this platform and i barely know the meaning of some terms here.And im trying my best to learn by reading posts and creating my own posts.As i understand getting a flag is sort of showing the dislike to the comment?Is it due to low quality of the comment or some issue.Please don't feel bad for asking this sort of thing.but Im trying here to learn from it

I see flag as a way to mark any kind of unwanted or illicit content. We all are personally the judges of what we consider bad, whether it is illegal content, spam or bullying. I don't think, nor would I agree that opinions or dislike call for flagging, but perceptions may vary.

Like I stated on my post, I will start flagging low quality comments, citing the quality as a differentiating and deciding factor between humans and bots. I will only hope humans will up their game and start producing more quality content, posts and comments alike.

Thanks for the explanation.Only very few think of answering when i asked a question in a comment.Anyway you did not do so for me.As im a leaner i find most of the terminology total greek to me.But im trying to learn from what you guys are posting.Thanks alot for taking your time and explaining me that.I appreciate that alot

I must say, I like your new policy. I consider that flagging is here for a reason, to take rewards from those who don't deserve them and to "flag" people's bad behaviors like comment or post spamming. By their spamming, they hide the real gems.

Get them, tiger! :D

Steemit was made for humans to use for social media right? how is that is full of bots and there is not any "are you human" test? this has to be addressed and deal with it. I don't think bots are worthless for Steemit but their overuse will put Steemit in jeopardy in the future if not handle well, sometimes this place looks like it was made only for bots

Let me first take the the term "turing test" out of the post. So, that you know I might be human. ;-) 😊
A good way forward. We should all flag those comments. This would have a great impact on Steemit. Spamming is not under control right now.

Bots are awful obviously and people who's last 200 comments are a copy pasted "Good post, go like my post" aren't any better even if they are manually copy and pasting it! Besides being able to make a better profit by being genuine, they may actually see how enjoyable it is to ACTUALLY use the site.

Remember that this is a relatively new social network eventually there will be more regulations but for now bots will continue to be an easy way to make a couple of coins, I admit that it is a risky move that you are taking because some followers may take your initiative as rude burning some bridges, donde get me wrong u got some ball, but not everyone can take the time to make a great comment, the controls should start from the moment you create the account I think, but dont worry some day we will get there. In the meantime

This message, can not compute... Need to... make chatty one-liners... ~bzzz [ERROR]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34