Traditional Thai Bamboo Tattoo - Sak Yant (A journey with Bealltor MMA veteran, Adam Schindler)

in #mma7 years ago

Remember  

My time on the road with THE WHITE POWER RANGER aka THE WHITE RANGER, Tommy Oliver played by Jason David Frank

and I told you how the editor chose to chop out a lot of the not so big named fighters and focus on the names that would sell the issue? Well one of the coolest subjects of this assignment was my buddy and Bellator MMA veteran, Adam Schindler. Adam was coming off of a solid win via rear naked choke and was invited to debut at Bellator . He went to Phucket to train at the world renown Tiger Muay Thai gym. My buddy @vischangefitness and I were suppose to train at the same facility back in our fighting days as well, so I was no stranger to this facility. Training is taken very seriously and i was not able to hang around unless I was going to train as well. After training camp had come to a close, you go to enjoy the city. 


Keeping with the warrior spirit, Adam saw it fit that he get a Yak Sant tattoo in Chalong. Yak Sant or yantras have been around for thousands of years. It's Buddhist prayers delicately designed to flow with the art. They are said to have magical and protective powers.

Traditional Yak Sant are actually performed by Buddhist Monks but this was not the case. What made this patently unique is that he was an artist and his 10 year old daughter was his apprentice.

She stretched the skin, while he jabbed Adam with his snake venom inked bamboo needle. Legend has it that Yak Sants ink are infused with snake venom. After and $4000 Thai Baht and 4 hours of silent, slow, meticulous penetrations, the vision was a reality. 

   Why did Adam choose to punish himself for his very first tattoo? I have no earthly idea. What I do know is, he won his fight at Bellator 20. Was it because of Tiger Muay Thai or his Yak Sant?


 

There's Adventure in all of Us

I showed you how to pay rent with STEEM
I showed you how to turn STEEM into CASH
I took you on a day as Urkle
I took you to @ned scott's funeral (RIP)
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB   

STEEM ON & I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

...mostly in Texas LOL Animation graciously donated to @xtrodinarypilot by @xtrodinarypilot   

Sort:  

cool tattoos

The Wheel of Upvotes was randomly spinned for you!
Where did it land?
qq.gif
Congratulations! The upvote is coming straight to your post with a little bonus ;)!
If you like this idea, please upvote this comment or try another spin on the wheel so the project can grow! :)


I saw your post in the #postpromotion channel on the WhaleShares discord. Thank you for being with us! :) Anyway I think that is really amazing tatoo and Adam has a damn good body too!

I'll be sure to let him know that you think he has a HotBod lol.... and yes I do love the Wheel.

Great post that has to hurt a lot !! any idea what the tattoo stands for ? thanks for sharing :) will follow !

I have no idea. They are to represent prayers combined with incantations. It could be a straight up insult for all I know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27