PAPA-PEPPER MAKES A MISTAKE WITH THE “PINK STUFF”

in #mistake7 years ago

This is why reading labels can help.


I’m not sure if this has ever happened to you, but I’ll be honest, it has happened to @papa-pepper. You may have heard the saying, “Not all that glitters is gold.” Many of us are very familiar with that saying and its meaning, but I’ve got a new one to share with you.

”Not all that’s pink is Pepto Bismol.”

Yeah, that’s a hard lesson to learn. Interestingly enough, Calamine Lotion is also pink, but does not have the same effect.


CALAMINE

Calamine Lotion is mostly used for skin irritation, caused by things like Poison Ivy. Over the years, it has become a great friend of mine, so I usually keep some around.


PEPTO

Pepto Bismol (and generic variations) is mostly used for internal issues like heartburn or diarrhea. Periodically, I will use it for heartburn.

Both of these medicines can be very helpful in treating certain ailments, if they are used the correct way.


Obviously, although these bottled liquids are both pink, they actually have different purposes. Once though, in a desperate moment, I ran to the bathroom in search of relief from some bad heartburn. Looking for the Pepto Bismol, my eyes quickly found the first pink bottle I could see, and I quickly took the top off and dumped a large portion of Calamine Lotion down my throat.

YUCK!

This was not my goal, and I noticed the difference in taste immediately, but it was too late. Calamine Lotion is much chalkier tasting, and is not supposed to be ingested. Hopefully this hasn’t happened to anyone else, but it sure has happened to me. I don’t think that the Calamine Lotion helped the heartburn, so I’ll stick to Pepto Bismol in the future!

Also, I hope that my ordeal and foolish choice gave you a good laugh! Steem on!

As always I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pink-stuff


Until next time…

STEEMIT IT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Sounds delicious lol I can only imagine the noises you made when you realised. Ratheer you than the little ones, the bad move will probably have made you more aware now and it won't happen again hopefully

Hopefully I won't make that mistake again! Hopefully...

Make sure you turn the bottles round showing labels then you might just catch the name before making another mistake. I darent think how calamine lotion tastes lol

Good point!

Thank yo for en-lighting us to the danger of pink!

Very dangerous... if you are not careful!

RoFL! Oh my goodness, as soon as I started reading I was really, really hoping you had mistakenly put Pepto on something and not downed Calamine like you did XD Hope it didn't make you feel too much worse, you seem chipper enough so I guess you survived the ordeal ;D

I figured someone may see where that was going. It caught me by surprise though!

When in search of quick relief, this is not an uncommon mistake.

A male acquaintance, who shall remain nameless, mixed up the Ben-Gay and the 'jock' itch cream. He saw 'white tube with creamy ointment' and didn't really read.

He reads ... now.

I made a mistake with the pink stuff (pepto) once. Never use it then drink beer. Drank about 40+ beers then the pepto wore off. Went from kicking ass at chess to head spinning in seconds. That line your stomach stuff is bad news. Caused all the alcohol to shoot into my system at once. Puked so hard I work up the RA 4 floors up. Good old college days.

A different mistake which caused another problem, but more proof that it can be dangerous! Thanks!

Calling poison control came to mind :)

But I'm sure a smart individual like yourself checked the pink bottle if it said call if digested

Heh! And they call them child safety caps...

Heh! Exactly what are you incinerating?

I smell smoke

Oh goodness, what'd that calamine lotion do to you?!

(Literally lol'ed, thanks!)

Glad you got it. I like that one!

I read it the first time, but then my brain started burning too!

My wife uses baking soda with water for heart burn, not that there aren't plenty of white powders to mistake that with also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56