The 10 Most Worthless Bits of Advice For Minnows On Steemit

in #minnowsupport6 years ago

I was one of the early adopters of Skype back in 2004. In those early days, it was treated a bit like a chat room where people would randomly contact other Skype users to say hello. Social media hadn't really taken off in a very big way, so people had to work hard to get their dopamine hit.

Some of the wanderers who contacted me were young business people from Asia, especially China. They sometimes had jobs where they were doing business with Westerners, so I mentored them on how to do that. One woman wanted to sell plastic boxes to someone in the US, but the customer said that he would only pay _after_ he'd received the shipment. She was pretty upset and thought that she was going to lose the sale, so I wrote an e-mail template for her which said that she and her boss wanted to comply, but that the finance manager (who only understands numbers and not relationships) wouldn't allow it. The customer caved in immediately, so she made the sale and, I imagine, had a big smile on her face.

Mentoring

The point is that I like developing others. Making a difference is one of my top three values, so it all fits in nicely. Other people on Steemit seem to have a hankering for that, too, but their advice is bad. It's like they've eaten a can of alphabetti spaghetti and crapped out the things they say.

Here's my list of the most useless advice I've seen for people starting out on Steemit...

Be a great writer


Well, gee! Why not just tell me to become rich, while you're at it? I haven't been given any real clues about what makes one a good writer, but some do offer up gems like "write in your own voice." I was trained as an engineer - when I speak, people look for their Spiderman pillow and blanket!

Write all the time

The reason this one's on my list is because there's a bit missing. It needs to be "write all the time... but not all in one single post." I come from Ireland, which is a land of great writers. Joyce, Yeats, Swift, etc. It's not a land of great readers!

Come up with the kind of title that guarantees clicks

In other words, become as good as a professional magazine editor. Clickbait like "@penston made this pile of sick - you won't believe what happened next!" may be guaranteed to have people reading your blog, but it doesn't mean they'll upvote, resteem or follow you.

Find something to write about


This is what passes for advice in 2018, people! What do they think is going to happen if people don't heed this advice? Kitten videos? Oh wait, I think I understand this advice now...

Be a self promotion expert

If I could do that, I'd be the prime minister of 3 countries. I'm arguably the most entertaining writer on the Steemit platform, but I don't know where to begin with promoting myself. Maybe I'll just have to rely on the growing legion of followers who love my posts and live to read them every day to do the promotion for me?

Don't just be a blogger - be something better

There's a fine line between being inspirational and eating more alphabetti spaghetti. I can't go on with this any longer. I made it to number 6 out of 10 - you'll just have to continue this list yourselves in the comments.

Sort:  

Come up with the kind of title that guarantees clicks

This might not be such bad advice because most people don't read the post, they just upvote and move on, I've seen people with more than 50 upvotes but less than 10 views.

Many use voting bots for trusted authors +@minnowsupport can give you 20+ votes without looking at your post

Right now, this post has 21 views and 32 upvotes thanks largely to @minnowsupport and @qurator. If you aren’t familiar with them, check them out, along with @thesteemengine.

Come up with the kind of title that guarantees clicks

I have seen some of the worst titles on here, yet they get tons of UPvotes, etc.

When I first joined steemit in July 2017, someone told me to make EVERY UPvote count. Really? And a new person on the platform, who doesn't understand UPvotes yet, or cryptocurrency and their earning potential here... how exactly should I make EVERY UPVOTE count? NO explanation was every offered. So yeah, was even more confused.

Of course NOW I understand... but an we please explain and clarify your advice?

If you write a post about how to make every upvote count, reply to this with the link and I'll upvote it.

So down-to-earth points. haha. In a way funny too ! I shall think again as I am a minnow 🤔

Just make sure you don't give that bad advice to new people who join Team Malaysia. ;o)

I like this one I was given at my start here - "care about your followers, read and vote their articles".
Damn, I have 1100 follovers but only 10-15 votes from real people (if not count bots or curation trails) under my posts. Do I need to waste my time for rest 1090 of them? I have never asked to follow me and never promised something for this.

I'm spending my weekends reading the blogs of people who commented on my posts. I want to be part of a community, so I'm hoping to see who might be a real part of that. If your followers aren't engaging with you, they're not real followers.

You are so right. Clickbait like "@penston made this pile of sick - you won't believe what happened next!" .... It won't lead to upvotes, retsteems, or follows.
I've watched people on FB pages and in groups who ruin their credibility by posting clickbait articles with titles just like that. One of them caused my page to get a one star rating. I went and told her to come to Steemit and she woundn't have to compromise with clickbait articles from her website for ads. Alas... she didn't listen to me and I had to delete her from the page.
I delete clickbait articles posted to groups and pages.

What type of FB group is it? That could get seriously annoying very fast.

The page is The Pursuit of Happiness. People post clickbait all day over in Resistance Rising group. We have to go thru every pending post and delete them. We've started deleting the article and the person that posts clickbait. It is VERY annoying and a common problem.

thank you great advice penstion!

With love

Yours sincerely

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

and join the steem engine XD

I have a problem with the become a great writer issue too. Being more visual helps me by using the mobile apps.

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Penston from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61