Attention Minnows: Distracted Dolphin Desperately Seeking New Content

in #minnowsunite7 years ago

giphy-12.gif


Are you commenting on articles and attaching links to your posts to try and get them noticed? While it often backfires, it's an understandable desire to want people to read your work and engage with the content through commenting and dialogue.

This is a call for minnow content for my reading/voting pleasures!

giphy-13.gif



When I started Steemit last summer, it was easy to keep up with the talented authors who were producing content. As a minnow, I read a lot of @stellabelle and @rok-sivante and watched @craig-grant for the first time ever (not on youtube. On Steemit) while @andrarchy explained the differences between Steem/SBD/SP in his vlog.

I could read @ericvancewalton and @michelle.gent 's fiction and keep up easily with the @markmorrisjr and @fairytalelife stories as they unfolded.

The Times They Are-a Changin'

giphy-14.gif

Sure it's sad that I can't see many of those authors who once dominated my feed, on a regular basis anymore. But the reason why makes me really happy.

It's because there are so many new Steemians!

Over the last year, it's been mind numbing to consider just how many people have woken up to what Steemit offers as an alternative to the creative siphoning happening pretty much everywhere else.

I didn't notice just how deep this ocean has become, and how many amazing new authors I'm seeing produce such great work.

Don't Be Sneaky, Just Be Awesome

giphy-15.gif

With HF19, the day that I've been mentally pushing off has finally come: I have voting power to issue to content and it's almost wrong of me to not use it up or at least delegate it to be used. There's too much good content here that deserves these votes.

I'm choosing to use it instead of delegate, so I need an introduction to the greater sea of new authors and content creators!

If you are a minnow who is creating awesome content, and you're looking for a dolphin who is looking for great content... Welcome home!

Let's Play

giphy-17.gif

Of course, I still try to seek out my faves like @opheliafu @meesterboom and the inimitable @papa-pepper so I can vote and support their work that I love very much, but those guys are *wayyyy past me in terms of SP and I don't want to feel like I'm only voting on the established brilliant content I know is good (to me).

I want to be continually awash in the digital glow of established and new content, slowly getting a screen tan from the hours spent in only that light.

So calling all minnows! Comment and post links to your favorite minnow work, or your own work and please try to put a little commentary in there to explain why the link is good content in your opinion. It can be just a few words, it doesn't have to be an essay... and if you write nothing and just put a link, I'll probably check it out anyway ;)

Steem on! See you at the voting button!



@prufarchy

DQmPdQzY6iFfArS2rGXwaUdapgu2AePV9jvhbA97gv8PSth-1-1.gif

Sort:  

thanks, would you take a look

https://steemit.com/finance/@wilkinshui/road-to-financial-freedom-understanding-leverage-2017630t201427771z

I enjoy to write out this post because i think understanding leverage could help one avoiding financial disaster and could be beneficiary by the careful use of it.

That was a great read! Upvoted, commented and followed!

Did I inspire you to write this post? lol! I hope you find some great people, I could also make some suggestions ;)
I finally wrote the Mom and a Brewery post...actually I think it was meesterboom I was talking to about that, but you'd enjoy it too:)

Haha no but I saw your post right around the same time! Great minds, my dear Dreemit :)

Hi! I am a painter and like to present different perspectives of life through my art. Also i like to promote social issues through my posts(see https://steemit.com/life/@mindboggle/a-transgender-royal-princess-too-hard-to-accept).

In my latest painting, I tried to depict the intricacies of life in mere reflections from a canal. https://steemit.com/art/@mindboggle/life-in-reflections-from-canal.

I have the feeling that I, being one within my first week on Steemit, definitely qualify for what you would consider one of these small fish. Swimming about in such an abundance of space that I easily go unnoticed.

I have avoided with much self control the temptations of advertising my writing in the posts of others like you mentioned, but have found that finding traction for my story is certainly slow going as a result.

Thank you for creating a thread like this where such a thing is welcome. Please read on as requested:
https://steemit.com/writing/@rabbt/ether-rabbit-chapter-1-aware

@rabbt

Hey now, that was a weird and interesting story! Sadly I can't vote on it because you can't vote on a post in the last 12 hours before payout :(

But gladly, it's a very odd story and I'm super curious about the job!

Fiction can be hard to gain traction with, but if you love it, do it! If nothing else, it's an ever living repository of your cannon of work :) I'm following!

Thank you. I am in the third chapter at this point and I am just simply enjoying writing and developing this sort of anti-hero character. This is a living story, meaning the dates and times are written on those actual days at the present time, so the timeline progresses in real-time. It's fun, and I usually sit down and write a chapter each 4-5 days.

Hope you stay along for the adventure. Thanks again for offering this much needed outreach to spark interest. Followed you as well!

That IS clever! I'll be along for the ride, thanks for responding to this post :)

your story is in keeping with the #blockchainfiction tag I've been putting content into... there just isn't enough cryptofiction in the world

So far I have a series called blockchain explorer and another called BitPunk V.1 :) keep writing!!!

I had read some of your poetry but I didn't see the BitPunk Series the first time through. I will be reading this immediately--Cryptofiction.. what a great word.

We simply use those as our category tags to participate?

These are made up. I just decided to start pouring content into them because I believe cryptofiction / blockchainfiction / BitPunk will be a genre before we know it and this way we can find these stories in the future :)

So there's no official kind of participation, but if you like that genre you might consider throwing that tag in there.. completely up to you tho!

I'm trying to create great original content about the things that I know the most about.

Advocate for Natural Health Care for Babies
Promoting Preschoolers and Hot Glue Guns
Encouraging Gambling Kindergarteners
Doing hard math with kids
Elaborate Cakes for a Middle Chile

Having read through your feed, I'm not sure we have a lot in common. However, you are not your feed, so perhaps something tickles your fancy.

Anyway, thanks for asking. :)

https://steemit.com/travel/@diabolika/the-top-5-reasons-why-travel-can-show-your-purpose-in-life-and-why-you-should-travel-now

@diabolika is a total traveling free spirit and there's a rebel streak in her writing. It's fresh and interesting!

https://steemit.com/freedom/@anarchospace/i-dream-of-freedom

This is my post (guilty as charged) and I think it deonstrates very well who I am as a writer and what I'm trying to accomplish with my writing on Steemit. The post is a mix of spirituality and libertarianism.

I appreciate what you're tying to do here! Very awesome!

Thank you for both of those great reads.

While being stuck on a bus in Nj/Nyc traffic, I feel like I'm being more productive than I will be at my corporate office when I finally arrive.

I definitely followed her and also you! I'll dive more into your blog when I'm shackled to the desk ;)

Awesome! And I can picture the bus scene (a friend of mine used to describe his bus rides to work, while reading Mises on his tablet:"Me, doing God's work, surrounded by aliens!")

Haha I usually download some voluntaryist.com PDF newsletters but that was before Steemit.

Times are changing...for the better!

I wasn't sure what I'd find on Steemit, but I feel very free here (I know it may sound funny...it feels funny) and I'm sticking around forever:-)

Not funny at all! That was my feeling right in my introduceyourself post last July. Those who seek it can sniff freedom when it rears, as rarely as that is ;)

Good stuff. First off , id like to nominate you to take a look at @phoblographer , who is just a brilliant photographer.

Also, check out @prakashghai , who has brilliant examples of minimalist photography

And lastly, ME! I post about everything, but mainly my travels, photography, music, a little bit of history 7 tech. Here is my latest

Last time I checked I was still awesome! :D
Honestly, great initiative, there are very few people who actually read stuff here nowadays and this must change if we want a bright future.

Great post @prufarchy! It would be great if others with your voting power took some time to support the new users to the site. I understand that there is a lot of content these days but there are also a lot of new members supporting the more established members with upvotes, comments and resteems so it's great to see that support reciprocated.

Thanks again and hope your day is going well!

All I know is I'm upvoting this post because you are just incredible. I find myself easily lost in the waves of good content, I'm just in love with this community and super grateful for having stumbled upon your account ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65