My Name Is Hope: A Touching Story and Beautiful Poem About HopesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnowsunite8 years ago (edited)

What is hope? Anja Ringgren Loven, an aid worker from Denmark would know more about hope than anybody else.


Image Source

Few months back, Anja rescued a dying and naked child that was abandoned by his family. Photos of Anja feeding the emancipated child went viral. Subsequently, Anja adopted and nursed the child back to health. She gave him the name Hope . Below is a picture of Anja with Hope a few months later.


Image Source

According to the Oxford Advanced Learner’s Dictionary, hope is defined as a belief that something you want will happen, something that you wish for, or a person, thing or situation that will help you get what you want.

That to me is a highly inadequate definition which is more academic than anything else. For what is life without hope; hope is that fibre of life in us that keeps us alive and strengthened our zest for life. As human beings, we hoped against hope that things will work out, the worst is finally over and that tomorrow will be better.


Image Source

As the above story beautifully illustrates, a human being can give hope to another. There are limitless ways one can give hope to others. Even those who are poor or in difficult situations are able to give hope to others. I hope (pun intended) that my poem below succinctly define the true meaning of hope.


Image Source

My Name Is Hope

My Name Is Hope
Hope is a word of encouragement
To motivate the weary and heavy laden
To move on with a smile

http://quotesempire.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/A-word-of-encouragement-during-a-failure-is-more-potent-than-a-word-or-praise-after-an-achievement..png
Image Source

My Name Is Hope
Hope is a listening ear
That understands our woes and sorrows
For there is a better tomorrow


Image Source

My Name Is Hope
Hope is a guiding light
To show us the way
Leading us from our darkest moments


Image Source

My Name Is Hope
Hope is an act of kindness
Shown to perfect strangers
Without expecting anything in return


Image Source

My Name Is Hope
Hope is happiness returned to sender
For we reap
What we sow


Image Source

If you enjoy this poem, do read “Life Is Simple” which is also written by me.

Giving and receiving hope
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment and follow me.

Sort:  

This kind of posts should be trending

Thank you for your compliments, but at the moment I have only 10 votes

There is always hope. I experienced hope in a different way. Having Meningitis last year. Went to lie down not feeling well. Next thing I know I wake up in a hospital days later...

As long as we do not give out, hope is always there

What a wonderful story of a woman nurturing a child back into good health, following her compassionate heart and motherly instinct. Very nice poem as well, we need more positivity here on steemit. The more I read, the more I learn, the more I can apply to my own life and express those values to my loved ones, such as hope described in your poem. If we can provide hope in every moment to those we care about as well as the "perfect strangers" as you say, this world would be a whole lot more enduring and invigorating. Your poem provides hope to all readers even those who don't upvote it, your words stay with them reflecting who you are and what you stand for. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted

@verbal-d thank you for your kind words. I was touched by what one person in this case Anja can do to show her kindness and compassion. Yes, one person can make a difference. Although this poem did get much eyeballs, I am very encouraged by the comments here.

Exactly, we never know how much influence we have until we follow through with our plans and choices. I'm glad your poem recieved a lot of love. It was well deserving. Steem on.

Yes I will defnitely be steeming on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44