Psssst.. Hey Minnow (part 1)

in #minnows7 years ago

Dear Minnows,

It is great to see so many new users signing up and checking out SteemIt.  I understand it can be a tough start up process. 

While I hope over the last 9 months we have made some progress with on-boarding, I want to hear your experience.  I also want to help a bit.  Although, I think technically I am still a minnow, things change quickly as you develop your account.

Over the next week, I will be making a series of posts geared towards helping minnows get established, and also managing your expectations.

A few quick things:

  1. You will likely not trend or earn a lot right away, it take time to build a following, getting votes from those who have SP is your goal, and it has to be earned.
  2. Like anywhere else that you join or work your influence builds over time.
  3. There are voting bots and not all votes are equal.  Votes are weighted with the Steem Power the account holds (At least for now) So, accounts that have been established and that hold a lot of Steem Power are the votes you want if your goal is earning.
  4. Flags and down-votes happen - When someone flags or down-votes your post it can reduce or remove the value of the votes you have received, changing the potential payout of your post.  Don't "bank" on having those rewards until the pay-out has occurred.
  5. You will see posts calling out other users, criticizing the site, making allegations, I got caught up in this when I was new and it wasn't helpful.  My suggestion is to make sure you understand the site and the users a bit, before you get sucked into the rabbit hole of "It isn't fair or so and so is cheating". 
  6. Just have fun, post about what you know or are interested in.  Post some questions, find some challenges, make comments. More on this in my next minnow post.
  7. Most important... Make some friends!  Networking is a part of this game.


Take care in the oceans of SteemIt, one post can hurt your reputation.  Don't drink and Steem.  ;)  (kidding, err mostly)

If you are a minnow that feels you are producing interesting and engaging content and you just haven't gotten any traction please comment and leave me a link to a open post.  Also, check out @wiser.  She is also trying to help and promote minnow content.

Best of luck in the Sea of Steem, there is no guarantee of success - like anything else, keep trying and you will get better at it and also learn some of the finer points of success.

Welcome and enjoy remember you are among those savvy enough to recognize this is a sexy, cutting edge experiment, rough around the edges, but really cool for those who can handle it.

Say Hi in the comments!  



My Minnow Experience Here

https://steemit.com/faq/@timcliff/major-updates-to-the-steemit-com-faq-page-pull-request-submitted

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this introduction. It really clears a lot of stuff up for me. I am just going crazy posting all sorts of things that I enjoy or think about on the daily. Thank you for making me feel welcomed here as a little minnow. I still don't understand how to buy steem and maybe I should just wait it out and see how much I make. I love this community. It beats looking at cats all day...no offense, I love cats but not a post every hour on them. I am enjoying this process immensely. Thanks again.

hey fellow minnows who maybe reading this. Also, don't forget to check out accounts like this one. https://steemit.com/steemit-health/@steemit-health/what-are-you-thankful-for-today-april-23-a-healthy-steem-distribution-activity
That provide a chance for minnows to pick up some steem here and there. It is kind of like foraging. Look for lot's of places to earn a little steem. I also chose to buy just a little steem to help my account grow faster.

How do I do better? Last post didn't make anything. Did I do something wrong?

Hello Toryrepublic, Your posts are getting some activity. I stopped by and voted for your most recent one. You could try adding a story with your pictures. You are trying to gather attention and followers.
What am I going to learn from following you? Who is it interesting to? Are questions you could ask yourself.
There is also just putting in the time until people see and notice you.
For now my advice would be to keep trying, make comments on other posts and work on relationships.

Yey, thank you so much!

Just keep writing, and make friend. Give your good content on your posting. In my humble suggestion, do not make many post (Unless, you have many good content to post it. That is okay you make several posting). Too many "shit content" make your follower get bored and they will choose one of your posting. You can make several posting about your activity but not too many. Nice ! (Note I will visit your page and give upvote too) :) ps : You try leave comment to people who you following, so they will aware that you still exist.

Nice advice, I have followed you as well! ;)

Thanks so much for the mention! Here's the article detailing my initiative. All small minnows welcome to participate.

Hi Wiser,
I thought I read you were taking the weekend off? Just teasing. Thank you for stopping by with your link! Good to see you.

Well I was but... I'm writing a post about that, so stay tuned :)

Good advice to offer to everyone starting out!

Even after almost three months, I still feel like I am starting out... and I think I'm still-- technically speaking-- a "minnow." So yeah, minnows matter!

Great post for new people just joining! Upvoted and resteemed!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.51 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72