(Re)Introducing the wantwiserupvote initiativesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

If you are new to Steemit you may have seen this comment from me on your introduceyourself post:

Welcome to Steemit! Feel free to tag one of your posts a day with the wantwiserupvote tag so I can see it :) Details here.

Today I read over the linked article and see that it is a bit on the long side. This article will share the same essential information but be much shorter.

So let's get started.

Who is this initiative for?
It is for all you small minnows here on Steemit. By small minnow, I mean any account with less than 2,000 SP in the wallet. I want to upvote fifteen posts by small minnows each day. This initiative makes it easier for me to find your work.

What do I get?
You get the chance of an upvote from me, wiser, a whale in training. If I like your content, I'll upvote it. I might resteem it if I really like it.

What do I have to do?
Once a day, tag one post with wantwiserupvote. I check this tag daily and will consider the post for upvoting.

What's the fine print?
There's always fine print, right? I do have a few rules, and I reserve the right to flag, unfollow, or mute any users who violate my rules for using the wantwiserupvote tag. The rules are:

  1. Only one post a day. Make it your best one.
  2. You can only participate if you have less than 2,000 SP in your wallet. Small minnows only.
  3. Please respect basic English spelling, grammar, and paragraphing.
  4. Nothing offensive, as in not safe for work.

I love your initiative but I'm not a small minnow. Is there anything here for me?
I'm so glad you asked. I invite all whales and potential whales (and that can even include current minnows) to allocate a specific number of their daily full strength votes for upvoting the work of small minnows using the wantwiserupvote tag. If you choose to participate in this way, please introduce yourself using the votewithwiser tag. Also, please only upvote posts which abide by my four simple rules. I would love to have you on board :)

But... I really like using my slider. Can I use partial votes?
Of course! I encourage the use of full strength votes because full strength votes are a huge part of my Steemit philosophy or sense of personal ethics. However, I welcome all upvotes. Everything to help out the wonderful minnows who use my tag :)

I'm not a small minnow but I'd like to occasionally tag one of my posts to bring visibility to this initiative.
Thank you! Yes, I do allow this on a case by case basis. Please check with me first.

Why are you doing this?
I have several reasons. The first is that I intend to be a bona fide whale one day, and currently buy Steem Power on a regular basis in order to build my influence. As a current whale in training I want to develop good whale habits now and then consistently keep them all along my journey to whalehood. The second is that I believe a good, possibly even necessary, whale habit is to be intentional about seeking out and upvoting content by new users and users with lower holdings. If a whale doesn't have a plan to do this, it's not going to happen by itself--that's just the nature of how human interactions work (largely based on hanging out with and supporting those in your circle of family and friends). In order to go outside your circle, you need to make a point to do so. I do not believe whales should ever be forced to vote for minnows, but I do believe they should voluntarily choose to do so. As a whale in training I want to set a great example. Third, this is a lot of fun, and it gives me something to do and think about while on Steemit besides obsess over the rewards (or lack thereof) I get for my own content.

That's the wantwiser upvote initiative in a nutshell. All you small minnows, I look forward to reading and voting on your work. Thanks in advance for participating.

https://ibb.co/bCqUkk

Sort:  

I also wanted to say, lately I have noticed this pink whale in comments, and been meaning to state that I like it.

LOL.

Thanks :) The whale will change colors periodically throughout the year.

Excellent work on that LOL

I fully support and appreciate this! I plan to use your tag when I post.

Wonderful :)

What a great initiative! May you be a prosperous whale one day! :)

Love this initiative. Promotes community from bottom to top. (Minnows to Whales) I'm definitely on board, thank you!

Thank you!

yayy great , thank you for sharing your blessings . I wish to be part of it and looking forward to engage in your tag when posting ;-))

Great initiative, I cant wait to come aboard.
Prepare to see more of @thereceptionist :)

I think this is a nice initiative.

I would say something though about one of the rules you have...

As you know this is a global community...

Not everyone has english as a first language or is strong with english/grammar/online or similar skillsets.

There is a lot of good honest people here and they should not be penalized for those points. I am sure you know that but I value the global reach or others who may not be strong in english skills etc for whatever reason.

That's all. I am off to bed, it is a nice idea you have here!

I totally agree with you about this being a global community and recognize that not everyone has English as a first language. However, my own limitation is that I only speak and write confidently in English and so am not going to enjoy trying to read posts that are either in other languages or in broken English. I hope that other whales in training who have strong command of other languages will run similar initiatives so as to reach out more to those small minnows posting in their native languages or struggling with English.

Yes, I hope so too and many of the whales here are in the Korean and Chinese communities and I like to see all the communities taking part.

I hope some of the whales in those communities run similar initiatives. If you know them, feel free to share this article with them. If not, no worries. I think it will eventually catch on.

Hello Mr. Whale. (you are a Mr., right?). I'm a dolphin (that makes us in the same family actually). Actually I would probably be classified as a minnow here since I am fairly new to Steemit. I still haven't gotten the knack of it but I am working on my sign for my introduction post right now. I think I am going to finally throw it together, I've been hanging around here a little bit for a few months, reading stuff from friends. Nice to meet you!

Nice to meet you too. That's actually Mrs. Whale to you (LOL). Actually, I'm currently classified as a minnow as well--it's based on the amount of Steem Power in your wallet. When you do write your introductory post, be sure to tag it with wantwiserupvote so I don't miss it. Don't overthink it, just put something out there. You can always re-introduce yourself later if after getting the hang of things here you believe you can do a better job. It's a little known secret here on Steemit: the re-introduction :) Welcome aboard!

P.S. Nice coloring job.

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50