Northern Spark photos 2018

in #minneapolis6 years ago

On Friday night I went to Northern Spark, which is a Minneapolis night art festival. In previous years it's been one night dusk-to-dawn; this year they did two nights dusk-to-two, which I can understand lots of good reasons for but I'm still a little sad to not have artists roaming the city at 4am. I spend a fair amount of time in Minneapolis from 4-6 am taking architectural photos, and it's nice to have one night a year when other people are having that experience.

ns2018 (1 of 27).jpg

This year I tied this in specifically with an assignment from the street photography class I'm taking, and took more and different photos than I might have otherwise.



Northern Spark typically splits itself between indoor and outdoor venues, and the main indoor venue this year was the Minneapolis Central Library. They packed it pretty full of events and activities. The library sits on one end of Nicollet Mall, our main pedestrianized street, and the outdoor activities went on for several blocks down the road, with a couple of other indoor facilities open for the night.

I'm mostly going to keep this post to photos rather than explanations; I think they're more fun if you don't necessarily know what's going on. I have to pick one of these as the best of the night for my class, and I have some thoughts, but I'd be interested in yours as well.

ns2018 (3 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (27 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (8 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (14 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (17 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (20 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (21 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (22 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (4 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (26 of 27).jpg

ns2018 (25 of 27).jpg

Sort:  

beautiful photos, all embedded with unique meanings,
i think its better too when you said you wont add any explanation to the pictures, at least i'm giving them my own meanings in my head

Wow. You really took these? You are a man of many talents T.
I love them. Though I couldn't imagine walking around at such wee hours.

What's really happening on the second last photo though? She looks like she was about to jump.

That one and the one above it are from a participatory dance of physical assistance: they pass you between people who do disability mobility assistance and they demonstrate how it works. The woman with the blue hair is moving the other woman back and to the right.

Most of these I just stayed back and photographed but that one I participated in, because I thought it was very interesting. I have my own experience with a lot of these techniques from a time in my 20s when I was unable to walk, but it was interesting seeing them in an artistic context.

Wow. Look at that! A dance would have been the last thing I'd have had in mind. Sounds like a very interesting thing to be a part of. You really did a great job capturing this, if I didn't know any better I'd have thought it was a professional photographer. Or maybe you are :D

Everytime I learn something new about you. I love it.

Professional photographer is usually what I say I am when I need a short answer. It's the thing I spend the most time on, and a reasonable chunk of my income.

Where do you display your work besides steemit? A website?

I worked for one of the Top photographers in my country a while back. Looking back I really regret not taking his video editing guides seriously, I never really thought I'd need those skills in my line of work. Look at me now teying dtube lol
I am back to square one on learning the skills needed. Such is life.

You however my friend, you are exceptionally talented or skilled, whatever it is, it's absolutely well worth it. I'll be coming for gadget recommendations once I'm set :D

My website is http://www.lightspacewonder.com

I'm good at stills but know almost nothing about video.

Wow. I'll be back with feedback sometime later. Thank you for Sharing. Hugs

Wow. I'll be back with
Feedback sometime later. Thank
You for Sharing. Hugs

                 - elsiekjay


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

What is haiku? Lol

Edit;
Apparently I speak Japanese now, & a Poet at That!lol great!IMG_20180618_160346.jpg

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T10:51:27
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 29.95/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hmmm... I was not expecting to see so many people in these. Interesting.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

The lady using VR goggles while everyone around her is focused on something else is my favorite. It's like she is in another world...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45