Why and How I Became a Minimalist

in #minimalism6 years ago (edited)

I wasn't trying to be a minimalist. I just began looking up videos and articles on how I could make my life simpler by living with less.

But I'm getting ahead of myself.

It all started with my distaste for packing.
I would postpone packing until the last minute. It was stressful because I'm the type of person that doesn't leave for tomorrow what I can do today. So the fact that I was postponing something that was very necessary for my upcoming trip, left me with an unease that I did not enjoy.

So, I would force myself to pack.

See, I didn't enjoy packing because I knew what awaited me.

I'm not nor have I ever been a person of excess. But after packing everything I needed, I always ended up with a large suitcase to check in, a carry on, and a backpack. All of which were stuffed. And it was just travel clothes. It was shoes, blow dryer, hair straightener, make up. These were the things that took up the most space.

I would lug all this baggage around, through three different airports, on long two-day trips on airplanes and busses.
I would envy those people that just travelled with a carry-on. What did they have in there? How could they travel with JUST that? It baffled me.

And you know what the worst part was? I ended up not even using most of the things I had packed.

I knew that if I was to have this type of lifestyle, I had to make some changes that would simplify this process that I dreaded so much.

My goal was to eliminate all excess, so that, hopefully, one day I would be able to pack everything I would ever need into one suitcase.

That′s how it started.

I watched videos and researched about minimalism and came across the KonMari method.
After the first phase of decluttering, I felt like my soul had been cleansed. I felt lighter, like there were less things weighing me down. Like I could focus on more important things. It's easier to clean up, everything's always tidy because you have less junk, and your house feels bigger. It's just simpler. I don't have to think about coordinating colors anymore. I buy white. It gives your home a clean look, it brightens it up.

But minimalism isn't just an aesthetic. It's a lifestyle.

Now, everything I need really does fit in a carry-on.

But, for longer trips, I still take the big suitcase. Only it's not stuffed anymore. And my backpack just has snacks and things to make my trip more comfortable, which was something I couldn't really do before.

You don't need a lot to be comfortable. You need less.

Sort:  

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

Saludos desde Venezuela, disfruta tu tiempo en esta nueva red social.

But the end of all things has drawn near. Therefore be sober-minded and be sober unto prayers.(1 Peter 4:7)

Question from the Bible, Does the Bible show any solutions on the current problems of mankind? [Part 1 of 2]

Watch the Video below to know the Answer...
(Sorry for sending this comment. We are not looking for our self profit, our intentions is to preach the words of God in any means possible.)


Comment what you understand of our Youtube Video to receive our full votes. We have 30,000 #SteemPower. It's our little way to Thank you, our beloved friend.
Check our Discord Chat
Join our Official Community: https://steemit.com/created/hive-182074

Hi and welcome @thatgaby - hope you enjoy steemit!


Welcome to Steem @thatgaby.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @thatgaby!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3169 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Congratulations @thatgaby! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thatgaby! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52