[$10 prize] Mini Crypto Challenge #2 - Emoji Edition

in #minicryptochallenge7 years ago (edited)

Paging all code breakers, puzzle fans, sleuths, hackers, smart-asses, wise guys and other smart alecks!

Last week I introduced this new series of Mini Crypto Challenges, Inspired by @timsaid's Steemit Crypto Challenge. Today it's time for part deux.

Mini Crypto Challenge #2


Welcome to part two of this series of challenges, designed to awaken you from your daily slumber and get some fresh blood flowing through that grey lump of matter you call a brain.

This week's challenge is slightly easier than last time. There weren't many players yet and I don't want to discourage any newcomers, so I'm keeping it somewhat simpler for now.

For that reason I'll have to temporarily lower the first prize a little bit as well. The first few challenges I'd like to post with only a couple of days between them, but I also don't want to go bankrupt. Long story short: today's prize is $10. In addition there are two specific clues that when found will earn you $2 each. So keep posting those guesses in the comments!

So brew a fresh pot of coffee, grab some sugary snacks, and get cracking!

The rules:

  • The first person to post the correct solution as a comment to this post is the winner
  • Use any means necessary to decipher the hints and find the solution
  • Posting hints, hunches and wild guesses is encouraged and will be rewarded
  • Liquid reward on this post goes directly to the prize pool of the next challenge
  • Have fun!

The challenge

Find the emoji that should take the place of ?.

🔥 + 💧 + 🌎 + 💨 + redhead3.png = 9116

👁 + 👂 + 👅 + 👃 + 👈 + 😵 = 7404

🤴 = 5492

? * 12 = 4746

The Hints

🥃🐳🐺.🇮🇳🎤🍩🐝.🌽🐙🥛

Sort:  

Woots woots. Just came back. I'll look at it soon! Resteemed.

Awesome, thanks!

How do I see the emojis on desktop?

Edit: Okay i used iemoji.com

Oh, I didn't realize they wouldn't show up for some. Does this help?

Screen Shot 2017-09-04 at 15.36.51.png

Ah thanks

The sixth sense = 7404

Yes :D. Getting closer!

So...
= -12852
😵 = -20056
? = 395,5

That's the easy part I guess...

Nice try, but that's not correct

I know... but I don't get any further. There must be a relation between these numbers that reveals the last emoji.

I just realized that I am a very stupid person.... but let's not go into details... :D

hay its fantastic puzzle.

Thanks! Don't forget it's okay to post questions or wild guesses, you'll never know if you might actually find a clue :)

I think I might have the hint:

🥃 - whiskey
🐳 - whale
🐺 - wolf
.
🇮🇳 - india
🎤 - mic
🍩 - doughnut
🐝 - bee
.
🌽 - corn
🐙 - octopus
🥛 - milk

Taking the first letter from each emoji's name spells:
www.imdb.com

🔥 + 💧 + 🌎 + 💨 + redhead3.png refers to the movie The Fifth Element. The url ends with 9116

I think I figured it out:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0114746
Notice the URL ends with 4746
That links to the 1995 movie "Twelve Monkeys"

The ? represents one of the 'monkey' emoji's - 🐵 or 🐒
Because 12 * 🐵 = Twelve monkeys

Congrats!

Amazing! Congratulations, you've solved it 🙈

I'm just heading out and will be gone a few hours, winner announcement post and prize money will arrive soon!

Thank you

Bonus round:

👁 + 👂 + 👅 + 👃 + 👈 + 😵 refers to The sixth sense

🤴 refers to The Prince

These are all Bruce Willis movies.

Oh damn, I completely missed this comment. The Bruce Willis clue was eligible for an extra reward but I thought nobody mentioned it so I gave it to @howtostartablog instead.

Also correct! 😃

Wow

the answer is octopus.

Sorry, that wasn't the correct answer. @hendrikcrause just posted the correct solution, but thanks for playing!

Congratulations @pilcrow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62891.03
ETH 3103.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89