Mix and make , the power of sharingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #miniatures5 years ago

A while back I decided to start posting some of my 3d designs on thingiverse, and some other sites. It was mainly meant as an experiment but also as a means to try and generate some attention to some of my 3d work. Maybe someday I might be able to earn a little money from selling stl files and if that is ever to happen, I need to be out there where people can find my work.

Thus I have now uploaded designs on thingiverse, cults3d and shapeways. some of them are free and some are paid.

Thingiverse doesnt have options for monetizing your content, they do have the option to tip designers but I do not get the impression that it is used much. I am a small fish in that pond so that may be the reason , but I havent received any tips yet.

I have received quite a few likes and downloads and even a few makes, which is what i will show you today.

https://www.thingiverse.com/make:558004
Thingiverse have the option of posting a "make" if you have printed someone elses (or your own) design. You then make a separate post with an automatic link to the original design (thus keeping to the creative commons license) and a few people have made prints of my CC-BY minotaur model.
https://www.thingiverse.com/make:574289
It is kind of cool to see my designs being used by other people and since it is released CC-BY I did not intend to earn money from it anyway
https://www.thingiverse.com/make:580555

You can even combine designs and the user Unmentioned did that. He gave my Minotaur a weapon (user another users design) and also did a print of it:

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3321241
And again someone else printed versions of that as well:
https://www.thingiverse.com/make:585844

So right now , there is at least 7 versions of my minotaur, and probably more since there is no obligation to post your makes.
https://www.thingiverse.com/make:586664

Its really cool to see other people use my creations. Now I just need to find ways to actually earn money on it, so i can do this full time.

Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out my accounts on these sites:

Cults3d
Thingiverse
Shapeways

Sort:  

Looks very cool!
3d designed and then 3d printed?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes exactly. my modus operandi these days it seems :-)

I wish I had the possibilities :D
but tech is always becoming cheaper :)

Oh, such a cool design @evilhippie😊 The minotaur miniature brings me memories 25 years back, when we were playing the Warhammer strategy game. The miniatures were very expensive and a friend tried to make some using resin. They were very detailed but also fragile. After a few games all that was left of them were broken swords and spears😂

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks. Warhammer is a major reason I started modelling. my style is still influenced by the classic warhammer figures i guess. we modelled our own versions of the figures in fimo clay and milliput and i even made a centrifugal casting machine for pewter at some point. i still have most of those i think

Warhammer was a big part of my life back then. I didn't do much of modelling but i loved painting the miniatures and do conversions. I still have this little guy by my side

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice paintjob. I have a lot of my old figures still, but I must admit that there is still more unpainted than painted

Oh, thank you very much 😊 I have a lot of unpainted too.

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks like a rather good design!
The fact that a person can now print a 3 D design really changes what is available. As a model railroader, I have seen a lot of things become available in the last 5 or so years that you just could not get in the past, and that's because of Shapeways and 3 D printing.

Thanks. I have had a Märklin track myself for many years, but in recent yeas I havent had the space for it so my nephew got it (my own kids havent shown a great deal of interest)
We have a track at work as well (used for demoing IoT stuff) and I have been asked to print some buildings and structures for it. it is a very versatile way of getting scenery that is to specialized for the companies

So cool ! Love the design and the variations.... 3D printing arts are very magical :D

thanks! yes it is close to magic. I would have loved to have access to such tech when I was a kid... i still love it actually :-)

Hello @evilhippie, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59