Chrysocolla

in #minerals6 years ago
Copper can be found in several minerals, such as the Bornite which I recently discussed. Another copper mineral (which I think is prettier than Bornite) is Chrysocolla (pronounced: crĭs - ō - CŌ' - lă). The presence of copper and aluminum is what gives the stone its beautiful blue-green color, whereas the presence of iron in unoxidized bornite gives it a more earthy color.

Chrysocolla-1.jpg
~my chrysocolla specimen, photo by me~

As can be seen in the chemical formula — (Cu,Al)2H2Si2O5(OH)4·nH2O — varying amounts of copper and aluminum can make the mineral form slightly differently, giving rise to different hardnesses and physical manifestations. Some of it is too soft to be used as gemstones, but some chrysocolla is harder — it all depends on how much silica is combined into the stone as it forms.

~photo from Wikipedia1~
Because chrysocolla contains both copper and aluminum as primary ingredients, as does turquoise, the two stones are often confused. To an expert, the differences are usually obvious, but the amateur eye can be easily fooled. Reputable merchants will properly identify the stones, but less-honest merchants have passed chrysocolla as more-expensive turquoise. The photo at right shows a cabuchon of chrysocolla set into the slide of a bolo tie, and I find this particular stone to be remarkably reminiscent of turquoise. The most obvious giveaway is the flecks of grayish-white silicate material.

The reason turquoise is more expensive than chrysocolla is primarily because of its hardness. Chrysocolla that contains more silica as it is forming, as mentioned above, is harder and approaches the hardness of turquoise. Chrysocolla with less silica is somewhat brittle and breaks easily. And, while chrysocolla is a mineral with silica (a mixture of silicon and oxygen) as a secondary ingredient, turquoise has phosphate (a mixture of phosphorus and oxygen) as a secondary ingredient.

Chrysocolla-2.jpg
~holding the stone for size comparison, photo by me~

I like the color of my chrysocolla specimen, as well as the patterns and lines that appear on the surface of the stone. Gazing at it is similar to "cloud watching," in that different patterns and shapes appear all around the stone.

Chrysocolla-4.jpg
~photo by me~

I acquired this sample in the early 2000s (circa 2001-2004) at a shop in Orlando, Florida, for about USD $5, and it is one of my favorite specimens.

Chrysocolla-3.jpg
~photo by me~

ThanksForReading.png 😊


SOURCES
   1 Crysocholla image by Octoberwoodland, Wikimedia Commons
   2 Hubpages.com: "Chrysocolla: Looks Like Turquoise But it's Not"
   3 Minerals.net: "The Mineral Chrysocolla"
   4 Wikipedia: Chrysocolla
   5 Wikipedia: Turquoise


SeeOtherPosts--Crystals.png

Sort:  

Love these posts! I learn so much. Very informative! Upvoted :)

Beautiful stone... I love ur collections

Gorgeous piece of crysocolla @thekittygirl 😊

Ooooh I 💖 that color.
I love crystals, their beauty and their weight. Makes me feel very rich having them 😃

this is truly beauty. The first picture looks like a dragon's egg... Lol... Haven't seen one before, just the first thought in my head.

The rocks are really pretty. And how it was beautified with the tie, that's really beautiful.

Rocks are really beautiful. Thanks for your great content.

Stones are so pretty @thekittygirl amazing colours and flecks of colour mixed together, learned more about rocks thanks so much.

That is very beautiful. Then again I must be biased as my favorite color is turquoise.
It's amazing the things that occur naturally and are so beautiful. The jewelry makes one feel beautiful and so confident at times.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I love the green hues, so much! Such beautiful stones. And, as always, your pink nail-polish makes me giggle. <3 ;)

Oh I love this stone! It's such a sweet one, both in colour and vibration. 💖💖💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54