Color Challenge Thursday Green - "ZOISITE" ~ © Tiffany E. Reed

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Inspired by this post on Zoisite by @esaia.mystic, I decided to share a bit about this mineral, too! At a wonderful shop in Orlando, Florida, I found a specimen of zoisite circa 2004.

RubyInZoisite.jpg

photograph by me

This beautiful piece of green zoisite is flecked by bits of red ruby and black flecks of tschermakite (a variety of hornblende). Such a blend of minerals is usually referred to as Anyolite. For those interested, the website GemSelect.com offers scientific data on the anyolite/ruby-in-zoisite stone, plus information on metaphysical properties, care, etc.

Geology.com reports that zoisite is actually a family of minerals which includes varieties such as tanzanite, thulite, anyolite, and clinozoisite.

By far, the most common member of the zoisite family is tanzanite, which was so named because of its discovery in present-day Tanzania. Part of my collection of "wearable minerals" includes this toe ring with a chip of pretty, pale purple tanzanite.

Tanzanite.jpg

photgraph by me

This piece of jewelry was given to me by someone for whom I'd done some work, as a barter-payment arrangement.

Thanks for exploring the world of "pretty rocks" with me! 😊

divider.png

TKG-steemitBanner.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Nice piece. I think I will share a very rare moldavite specimen from my personal collection of deliciousness. 💘

I love pretty rocks. I recently started wire wrapping stones, both for wearing as pendants and display. I have never seen this stone before (in real life). I'll definitely be on the lookout for it now!

Members of @teamgirlpowa moght like to buy those!! Tell us about them!

I added the link in TeamGirlPowa on Discord. :)

It's Enchanting To Say The Least !

I'm not a big fan of rings on my toes, but I could totally see myself wearing that one! And that zoisite is amazing! Funny - hubby just told me last night that he'd come across my box of crystals & stones. I was hoping to get them out in the moonlight last night, but didn't get it done. But now I want to get them out so I can photograph them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01