Digging Up Gems, One Box At A Time.

in #minerals6 years ago

rsz_picsart_05-22-061407.jpg

Finding hidden treasure is always fun. For me it is the thrill of the unknown, for others it is the chance at hitting big money. Ruby Dig It isn't going to make us rich but being a mineral lover, these are a super cool activity. Once I became obsessed with crystals, my 3 year old did too. She loves them, we even went and let her pick out her very own set of crystals. Like any other collector, you can't just stop at a few. To make things fun for my daughter, my husband started to buy these kits for her. There are a few different kits and each has the chance for you to get a real gem but truthfully speaking, we are happy with anything. We get so excited when he surprises us with these boxes and he likes to surprise us with them because he says it is a great way for us to bond, and it is. Luckily for me, I got just the one I wanted this time and no, it wasn't the Ruby.

It's a New Jade!

My daughter starts with the given tools but typically goes to get her much larger plastic hammer from the tool set she has. She seems to enjoy the sand as it breaks apart and makes a mess more than the actual thrill of what is inside but that is why we have so much fun. After a while of her repeatedly beating the thing with not much luck, I take over as she scoops up the sand and throws it back over my progress. She then takes the brush and sweeps away the sand to reveal what is inside!

Inside this particular kit we had the chance to dig up:

  • Amethyst
  • Rock Crystal
  • Salt Crystal
  • Snowflake Obsidian
  • Sodalite
  • Yellow Jade
  • New Jade
  • A Real Ruby (1 in 24 boxes)

We got another beautiful New Jade which is exactly the one I said I wanted. New Jade has a really pretty light green color to it. I was so happy to see that was the one inside.

rsz_20180520_115842-1.jpg

Since these kits are originally for my daughter, she does have the say as to where the mineral goes once it is out of the sand. Most of her crystals are inside of the plastic cash register she owns. That is my favorite store to go shopping at when I receive crystals as change! However, I do have a few from these kits that she has gifted my crystal table with. The New Jade was a very nice addition to my growing collection. I would like to get a real gem one day but until then we will keep on digging.

rsz_20180520_120235.jpg

My daughter has now taken back her New Jade that we recently discovered. I think that is her way to make me play "store". It sure did help make for a beautiful picture...

dragon.jpg

Recent post written by me

Brenlyns Journal - The Battle Begins...D&D

A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words- Assisting @irvinesimages

magicalmoonlight_red.png

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Paranormal Steem Discord - https://discord.gg/A77VHJ2

@greetersguild Lending A Helping Hand
Discord-https://discord.gg/5C2VGEE

The STEEM Engine

image

Sort:  

such gem diggers you are.

thank you for sharing

Yes we are :) Thanks for checking it out!

These are so cool! I have had a mineral grow kit and loved it.

Hey @amrauthor, I bet Addy would love these! 💘

I love these little things! I want a grow kit so bad. My mom has a big one but she got confused with all of the directions because it really is a big kit, lol!

Searching for and finding gems sound such fun to me, when I retire I may look into it

I get so jealous when I see people find them on their daily walks, lol. I am pretty sure we don't have them near me but I would love to travel to a place where I can find them on my own.

That is just neat and fun, too! It's great to spend quality time. The reaction you get from her must have been priceless!

We always have so much fun! Her reaction is definitely priceless :)

It is never a dull moment with kids be it fun or not lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90