One of those days

in #mindset5 years ago

sketch-1552910088092.png

"I want you to think about all that you are, instead of all that you are not"

Almost every aspect of my life is challenging. Changing positions, getting out of bed, putting on lotion, getting dressed, sitting, standing, walking, lifting, bending, cooking, eating, cleaning, hobbies of any form. Nothing is done like a normal person. None of those things and probably anything else you can think of.

I have a cold again, my immune system is a joke. But I also couldn't sleep again, the weather is changing back to cold (or maybe it's just me), my body is on fire. I felt like I was the definition of miserable. I'm convinced the CRPS crawled up my right arm into my neck since I received all those injections in August. I can't touch it and neither can anything else, just like my arm, but also different.

It's so frustrating to think about.

I have been working on my CRPS networking and have found some amazing people and organizations along the way. One group often posts chronic pain memes and a lot are really relatable and connect with me. One shows a girl in a dress with her hair all pretty and wearing jewelry saying "how I used to dress". It was next to a picture of a girl in loose clothing and sweatpants asking to go lay down now, with the tagline "me now".

I have been laying on the couch since 6am. Pain over taking my already miserable sick self. I have my own version of Ruby red slippers. They're red and fluffy. To go along with them, I'm rocking an oversized fluffy onesie and I stuffed the back, legs and arm with heating pads since I forgot my heating blanket at work on Friday. Every time I cough I cry beause it jerks me physically and I'm miserably sore.

I was feeling pretty pathetic before I practiced my neuroplasticity. Or what I used to call, my positive Jedi mind tricks.

I felt depressed, defeated and worn out for the past 3 hours before I reminded myself.

I'm ok.

I mean, physically I'm a little beaten up compared to my normal. But mentally, I'm still the same person I am when I'm happy. Why can't I feel that now? I needed to pause the negativity I was throwing at myself and "trick my brain".

I grabbed my book of positive quotes that I have accumulated over the past few years and started to read them. I reminded myself of my mission of positivity and decided to make the best out of my couch situation. I made an Instagram post using a beautiful picture taken by the 10k champion of the Walk to Conquer CRPS, Tina <3 She is the one who is creating the support group with me and she is an amazing inspiration.

And now I am continuing my productive positivity from the couch by creating this post. Inspiring one person at a time to just flip the switch in your brain. Make it ok.

Everyone has the ability to. Neuroplasticity is a term I just learned in the past few months. I honestly thought something wasn't correct with my wiring because I was convinced I was retraining my brain with positive thinking. "Faking it until I make it", but really, it is scientifically working. Slowly but surely.

I caught myself eventually feeling dark and upset with myself this morning. I am working on being kinder to myself and feel the best way to do that is by creating positive vibrations, like this :)

So, I know I'm not able to do a lot of things, but I can't let that be my focus. I am proud of all I can accomplish on a good day, and I have to be ok with myself for what I do accomplish on a bad day. Helps flip the bad day into a good. One day at a time :)

Be kind to your mind and those around you. Make today an ok day with positive thinking.

Positive thoughts,

-Kristen Sparkle
sketch-1549711956971.png

Sort:  

Wow @thehippierays! You really are an inspiration to many who suffer with chronic ... anything :) I really believe that we become what our thoughts focus on; negative begets negative, positive begets positive. Thank you for reminding us of that! Keep on keepin' on <3

I found your post because @ajorundon featured you in a Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry! Feel free to join us any week with an entry of your own if you'd like :)

Hello hun, i am here again because you are good. I always take my time to read your post because they are motivating and inspirational.
I love you loads.
Thanks for making it possible to feature you again in my entry for the @pifc curation contest - week 50
...enjoy the support for a good post hun and below is the link to my entry post. Check it and find you there😊😊

https://steemit.com/pifc/@ajorundon/my-entry-for-the-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-50

I set up @ginabot to inform me about every post mentioning the term neuroplasticity. This is how I got here to enjoy your view. :)
All the best for you and your healing. Have you ever heard about the case of the blind German woman with DID (Dissociative Identity Disorder), who however developed a new personality that's capable of seing?! Everything is possible. We only getting started understanding the power of our brains.

I believe in you and your power to heal! Have a wonderful week!

Wow! Thank you so much for that information and for the support! I have never heard of that case, but it definitely connects with me. I have BPD (Borderline Personality Disorder) and the other day I actually became thankful for that condition as it has helped me greatly after working with it for so long. This is so interesting, thank you again <3 I hope you have a great week with lots to smile about! <3

Congratulations @thehippierays! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 50. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

I've been saying to others recently the fact that one's "mid-life crisis" is mostly about the realization that we cannot do it all... We don't have time to be good at everything we have the potential to be good at. We have to make choices, and sometimes those choices hurt. But if we adopted this attitude of counting only the good things, we will all be healthier.

I found you because @ajorundon featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest - keep up the great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52