Liberating Insight

in #mindfulness6 years ago (edited)

The Nine Successive Cessations In buddhist Meditations

Part 1

The Nine successive cessations (anupubba-nirodha) as mentioned in the Anguttara Nikaya are the progressive ‘levels’ in meditation that include the 4 form jhanas, the 4 formless jhanas, and finally the state of cessation of perception and feeling.

These are also called the nine progressive cessations, and referred to as the nine progressive dwellings, where it is clear that ‘dwelling’ truly means a ‘state of mind’ and not a physical location or preferred dwelling like a quiet place or cave. (AN IV.410)

The goal of these meditations is the destruction of the taints. The destruction of the taints occur in dependence of the nine successive cessations:

“Monks, I say that the destruction of the taints occurs in dependence on the first jhana . . . etc.. all the way up to the 9th jhana . . . I say that the destruction of the taints also occurs in dependence on the cessation of perception and feeling.” — AN IV.422

Furthermore, the destruction of the taints is due to directing one’s mind to the deathless element, which can be considered the ‘aim’:

“When it was said: ‘Monks, I say that the destruction of the taints occurs in dependence on the first jhana,’ for what reason was this said?

Here, secluded from sensual pleasures . . . a monk enters and dwells in the first jhana. . . .

He considers whatever phenomena exist there pertaining to form, feeling, perception, volitional activities, and consciousness as:

impermanent, suffering, an illness, a boil, a dart, misery, affliction, alien, disintegrating, empty, and not-self.

He turns his mind away from those phenomena and directs it to the deathless element thus:

"This is peaceful, this is sublime, that is, the stilling of all activities, the relinquishing of all acquisitions, the destruction of craving, dispassion, cessation, nibbana.” — AN IV.422

Before getting into the nine successive cessations, I’d like to highlight the things that prohibit a meditator from entering and dwelling in the first jhana, and subsequently progressing further. There are three different ‘lists’ that are given as prohibitions:

“Monks, without having abandoned these five things one is incapable of entering and dwelling in the first jhana. What five?


Stinginess with regard to dwellings
Stinginess with regard to families
Stinginess with regard to gains
Stinginess with regard to praise [and ingratitude or unthankfulness, mentioned in AN III.273]
Stinginess with regard to the Dhamma

Without having abandoned these five things, one is incapable of entering and dwelling in the first jhana.” — AN III.272

Out of these five, the stinginess with regard to the Dhamma is considered the gravest of prohibitions.

“Monks, without having abandoned six things, one is incapable of entering and dwelling in the first jhana. What six?


Sensual desire
Ill will
Dullness and drowsiness
Restlessness and remorse
Doubt
One has not clearly seen with correct wisdom, as it really is, the danger in sensual pleasures

Without having abandoned these six things, one is incapable of entering and dwelling in the first jhana.” — AN III.428

These can be considered the 5 hindrances. The third list relates to the previous list, where thought and perception are highlighted together with Sensuality and Ill Will in the previous list:

“Monks, without having abandoned six things, one is incapable of entering and dwelling in the first jhana. What six?


Sensual thought
The thought of ill will
The thought of harming
Sensual perception
Perception of ill will
Perception of harming

Without having abandoned these six things, one is incapable of entering and dwelling in the first jhana.” — AN III.428

In the next part 2, we’ll be discussing the first 4 stages of the 9 successive cessations in Buddhist meditation.

‘This is peaceful, this is sublime, that is, the stilling of all activities, the relinquishment of all acquisitions, the destruction of craving, cessation, nibbana.’” — AN V.111


The Three Marks Of Existence

TThe Twelve Links Of Dependent Origination

THINGS to DEVELOP and THINGS to AVOID

The First Noble Truth

The Second Noble Truth

The Third Noble Truth

The Fourth Noble Truth

10 Fold Path Series

EATING MEAT — WHY THE BUDDHA WAS NOT A VEGETARIAN


I will flag comment spam at 1% strength. If you keep on spamming my post, I will flag you at 100%. I don't care if you have limited English abilities, write a couple of sentences about this article, no copy-paste, please. I will flag: one sentence comments, links to your blog and begging for up-votes and follows. Also, I will åflag comments that have nothing to do with my blog's article. I will also check your comment section to see if you have been comment spamming on other blogs.

Pictures From Pixabay


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

I add a little bit of Islamic-style meditation called "khulwah" also called it "uzlah". this method is adopted from the Sufis, they alienate themselves to reach the level of feelings so that loving their Lord more than anything,
in undergoing this the Sufism passes through the 5 stages they call lust.

  1. there is lust ammarah
  2. lust lawwamah
  3. lust mulhimah
    4, lust raadiah
  4. lust mutmainnah

My husband and I know Islam through the writers of Sophia Perennis
http://www.sophiaperennis.com/category/books/islam/
I love to know more about Sufism, however I've been told that it is essential that one finds a qualified teacher and they are extremely difficult to find. I know several of my Buddhist friends that found they preferred the teachings (view) and practices of the Sufis.

I have many books on Sufism but not their meditation.

Lust is a sticky state of mind isn't it?...hahaha

If we are always grasping or running from sensation how can we see God or as Buddhist say, reality as it is?

There are stages called the nana-vipassanas, one of them feels like you are going to die because you see clearly the suffering caused by grasping at negative mind states and the emptiness of phenomena

Patisankha-nana

http://www.myanmarnet.net/nibbana/vpsnana.htm

true, lust is a mind sticky to us that causes the tendency to all things that are bad either commonsense or religious.
I myself specialize in the problems of fiqh and ushuluddin (ordinance with God in daily life), if you have questions about Islam maybe I can help a bit,
I'm just sorry now why I used to be a lazy student, ha ha ha

Honestly, I'm a big fan of just winging it :D

my meditation is random, I meditate wherever I feel it's appropriate. I don't like structure, even if it's accurate. I still feel things out and make sure to notice and be aware of my own shit though.

We are in jhana all the time, I can samadhi on chocolate...hahaha... but it isn't the right kind of concentration, hence the lessons. Because busting out of old habits is hard to do since this is all we know, we only see what our conditioning will allow...busting through our wall of conditioning takes special discipline and conditioning. Buddha figured this out learning how to Jhana with the Jains, it wasn't enough just to meditate and experience the levels of the mind.

We are always doing what we want, if that was enough we all would be enlightened...hahaha

Don't be a sensation chaser looking for the next feel good or high, cause that's what got us stuck in the first place.

busting out of old habits is hard to do since this is all we know

Oh absolutely, but do you think we need structure to do so, or to simply realize that that is all we know and that we constantly reference the past instead of being open to the new and being open to the truth of what we are instead of the thoughts of what we are?

When I say I do what I want, I mean I meditate while walking or in my kitchen or on a run or hike or playing with my daughter, not like I'm playing video games all day like I used to. Currently I've been reading the Paul Selig books and have found them extremely useful and spot on when applying them to my experience. There are some weird things like making claims in them that aren't in other books I've read, but they seem to be effective for raising my vibration and opening up the world. Check them out if you have a chance, maybe just the previews to see if they appeal to you.

We are always doing what we want, if that was enough we all would be enlightened...hahaha

Truth haha

@reddust, I'm glad to see your meditation lesson. Something I learn from your contents. Very interesting and appreciate your buddhist meditation knowledge. I have long experience of meditation methods. But also you have extra experience and knowledge.

My main study is the Maha sattipathana

https://www.accesstoinsight.org/tipitaka/dn/dn.22.0.than.html

My favorite translator, he has the juice ;-)

I was taught it is good to go into retreat with the beginners mind, so my teacher taught me the basics and my meditation teacher taught from the sattipathana. After five years or so I graduated the Mahayana teachings, my favorite are the Prajnaparamita and the Vimalakirti sutra...I love Vimalakirti and the prajnaparamita made me cry in a few parts, it's been so long I can't remember. I have the shorter version <3

http://www2.kenyon.edu/Depts/Religion/Fac/Adler/Reln260/Vimalakirti.htm

my favorite are the Prajnaparamita and the Vimalakirti sutra

It's glad to hear and sound being cool. Yep some parts there can make cry.

I think I will read the vimalakirti sutra today, its nice to revist older teachings and remember how awed I was reading the Dhamma when first started. I remember how I felt like I was coming home and remembering things I had forgotten.

Hello @reddust, you have a lot of knowledge about this topic, this post is very illustrative, I learned more about Buddhism, very interesting.
Good night

The dharma articles I am posting are part of my first lessons in meditation. Thank you @martha75

hi reddust i am very very happy with posting anda.postingan you are very motivated me, always want to be healthy if i read the post you make. i am so happy thanks to you.sucses for you

Hello @pengenkaya, nitce ot meet you and I am glad you like my article <3

Meditation must be important mind control. Mind control important to keep going life success. In fact, you sharing brilliant experience of meditation. It would be helpful for who want to begin meditation. That's a fantastic meditation lesson @reddust.

I think discipline is better than control, if I try and control my rolling thoughts and emotions too much I get a headache...hahaha so liike training a puppy I keep remembering (sati) to stay on meditation object even though I wander off a 100 times every minute...hehehe

eventually bringing the mind back to point of focus one gets tired and relaxes and that's when meditation gets interesting ;-)

As you read these lists, it is easy to see how one would feel that they are saying that one should become a monk.

It isn't what they are saying, but becoming a monk really, and easily checks off a great amount of this list.

To keep you house in harmony (not stinginess) is a lot more work than just giving up your house.

To keep your stuff in harmony is a lot more work than just giving up all your stuff and living in austere life.

I love to read these... and then want to rush forward and comment on the ones not yet written.

Your house is your body, no need to run away to an empty house (body) in the woods (mind stuff) and become a Monk...but the Pali Canon was written by monks even though Gotama Buddha taught many, many laypeople who found freedom...but they didn't keep notes I guess...hahaha

Thank you @reddust I think in the following way; Emphasizes that the illness is an opportunity to direct the human heart to the Great and the only creator in the world.

The thought of ill will

I think these lessons will clear anyone's mind so they can see reality as it is not as they wish it to be...the Jhanas, what the article is speaking of, are not the end, they are like a pretty bubble and you know what happens when you try to grab a bubble? hahahah

From what I read once you let go of these lovely mind states, it is nibbana time of the Arahat (personal freedom) or you can go on the bodhisatta (going through all those Bhumis) path and become a Buddha.

@reddust Thank you for sharing some great meditations knowledge. Meditation is very important to every human to focus and keep calm also for balancing in life. Here you've described about some meditation tips that's really impressive . I have learn lot of things from you today . Thanks @reddust i will wait for your amazing post.
God bless you .
#Peace 😊

The Jhanas are pretty much impossible to reach in daily life, one truly has to go away to retreat away from mundane activities to able to walk through the empty house from front door and out the back door....

I've never experienced the jhanas but I did find insight in meditation retreat and took it home to integrate into my daily life as a layperson. Balance in Pali is called Upekkha, in English we call it equanimity found in the 4th Jhana but you can cultivate this mind state through shamatha and vipassana meditation.

Yeah i strong agree with your opinion. Thanks once again 😊

As I read this post I realize that you know a lot about Buddhism and meditation and all that this implies. I really love reading your post everything is so educational or see your drawings and see how talented you are, happy night!

Thank you @dinissemata, my Dhamma articles are like chill pills :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34