The Challenge of Balancing Work and Mindfulness

in #mindfulness6 years ago

It’s a balancing act.

The only way to make progress is to do shit. You have to put in the work, do the time. I live my entire life on this principle, optimizing most of my hours to try and be the best I can be.

The tricky thing is, the ego feeds on this mania. The honest ambitious and willingness to try, as good and productive as it can be, also feeds our feeling of being great. We feel like hard working, accomplished people when we work hard and accomplish things.

Enjoying the fruits of your labor is good, and knowing you are making a contribution is good. Ego is bad, and it’s hard to keep it separate from the other things.

The Audacity to Try

It takes tremendous courage to try, and few of us truly have it. We bolster our ambitions with whatever encouragement we can find. Self-help gurus, morning routines, drugs, burning the midnight oil, and more.

The ego helps to fuel the fire at first. Believing you are great, or at least can be great, can create the ridiculous ambition you need to aim “too high” and find a good goal.

In most other ways, the ego hinders me. It makes me want to claim more credit, to be more fancy, to hold back on the truth in favor of looking good. The ego can feed off of past success, achieved through mindful means, and tear us back into the world of vanity. We’re never safe, never.

When we shed ownership of ideas and prefer real progress over social clout, we become our better selves. We become more productive, more creative, and more impactful.

We shed the ego and find major progress. We become proud, the ego returns, and we harness it to drive us to bigger, more ambitious goals. Then we must slowly shed the ego, check ourselves, adjust our goals, and move calmly forward.

An Endless Cycle of Dualistic Progress

It’s the hamster wheel of progress. Both real and imagined, both worth it and not. Meaningful and meaningless, entropy and magnetism in an awkward dance.

The ego lurks around the corner. I’ll probably never get rid of it, and I don’t know if I want to… but I hope I can keep moving through the cycle, a little more smoothly with time. To grab a breath of fresh air when the ego isn’t looking.

Sort:  

Seems to me that much of the process of managing our egos start with the simple fact of recognizing how and when they run our lives.

Then there's the "WHY am I caring?" question. Am I caring because I want to look good/big in the eyes of others? Or do I simply want to do my best for my own enjoyment's sake?

I want to do my best because that gives me more bang for the buck. Fewer hours on the treadmill, so I can sit and enjoy life.

Indeed. I'm with you, ego is more of a "ego management" tool than anything lol. I'll leave enlightenment to the true gurus. Its really about understanding that WHY question

Mindfulness is a great morning routine for a productive day/week/month... Nice post bro.

Thanks @prinsj and yes it is

You welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34