Mindful Life - Mindful Monday - What Bought Me to a Meditative Experience...

in #mindfullife5 years ago (edited)

It's that time again - Mindful Life Mindful Monday!

This week you can also win some SBI for @naturalmedicine through #MindfulLife is hosting a little challenge for meditators on Steemit.

All you have to do is:
Write about what brought you to a meditative experience and how it's benefited your life thus far and use the tags #mindfullife and #naturalmedicine

Find out more details at: https://steemit.com/mindfulness/@naturalmedicine/mindful-monday-with-guest-editor-plus-a-chance-to-win-5-sbi

Looking at this question

what bought me to a meditative experience

I have to look back forty some years when my older sister freshly returning from Toronto with news of this meditation
(as she termed it "receiving knowledge") and an announcement of a big festival happening in Huston, which we all should come to.

Wikipedia explains the festival as such:

"Millennium '73"

The 1973 Hans Jayanti festival was held at the Astrodome in Houston, Texas, and publicized as "Millennium '73". The free three-day event was billed as "the most significant event in human history" that would herald "a thousand years of peace for people who want peace", the idea being that peace would come to the world as individuals experienced inner peace.

The whole trip was magical and a very high time. At the festival I got into a session to receive "knowledge"/the meditation techniques.
When I first got the technique on inner music, I cried because it was so beautiful and even to this day I use this technique to go to that beautiful, peaceful spot inside.

After this, the course of my life was changed. I wanted to be with the Premies (those who had received Knowledge/meditation techniques.) I left my boyfriend and moved into an ashram where we had daily group meditation and satsang. People from the community would come and it was blissful to be in this environment.
But, alas, it couldn't last, other major incidences were occurring in my life and I ended up moving out of the ashram into a premie house where my new boyfriend was living. We were going to realize this knowledge together.

This was not to be either, as I was getting a bit crazy trying so hard to realize this knowledge, but going about it in the wrong way.
Things were getting out of control and I ended up moving back home for some time, backing off the meditation.

I never got back into it again until some twenty years later, after I'd been married, had a child, got divorced and met my now husband.

He had developed a very strong meditative practice and I was looking into different Buddhists texts trying to find out more about the Buddhist philosophy. He also had a wonderful Dhamma library which he shared with me and I began to learn about the middle path.

I took a Vipassana meditation course and that became my meditation practice, where I could take refuse. It bought me peace and happiness, allowed me to remain calm through many adversities and to become so much more aware and able to respond to situations instead of reacting to them.

I had written earlier about more benefits this meditation practice had bought me at: https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/what-my-meditation-practise-has-bought-to-me

I can't image my life with out this meditation and I see it becoming a bigger and bigger part of my life.

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe & @earthtribe



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain


MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Maybe one day your life will simply become the mindfulness practice and the need for gurus, altars, sitting practices etc will simply vanish. #newparadigm :) I am utterly hopeful.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Yes, that would be the goal to become that practice! But I'm not there yet and my meditation practice helps keeps me centered and more peaceful!

You’ve been visited by @vibesforlife on behalf of Natural Medicine!

To know how you got attracted to meditation and then left it for 20 years is quite interesting. But in the end you found it again, beautiful <3. Keep meditating.

We are also holding a raffle - if you'd like to win some beautiful art by @FrejaFricheck out this post. We are also behind a fundraising charity drive hosted by @freedomtribe to raise money for Venuezualan children. Please click here to enter!

50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

Discord

You've been visited by @thistle-rock from Homesteaders Co-op.

Not all paths that lead to a destination are straight roads, sometimes they wind and turn and fork... but in the end, if that was your destination, then that is where you were supposed to be, the timing was just off!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com/

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Yes, I think your right!

What a great hippie you are @porters, totally love it. I'd love to know about that technique that made you cry! Sounds like a really memorable time. We all seem to recall the time it really 'clicked' for us... seems you were led to dhamma in the end, in a strong way!!

Posted using Partiko Android

It was what was termed as the inner music technique and it is simply blocking out the external hearing and tuning in to the internal music! I think in this incident when the instructor showed me the technique and there was physical contact, I think her energies had a lot to do with it being so powerful!
I feel very fortunate to have this strong connection to the Dhamma (many thanks to my husband) and the path it is leading me on.

So good to know about the mindful journey towards meditation, one thing pretty excited me is that even 40 years ago we use to have those guru ji. ( That Indian name) Frankly lately in India we have many bogus guru ji who use to exploit people and I lost my faith on them now.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear you about the bogus guru ji and I too, am wary because of it. But I feel very fortunate that we live in the time of the Buddha Śāsana where the teachings are available to us and these teachings have served me well!

Wow that festival sounds amazing!!! What a great concept. And how bold to go live in the ashram. I love how your husband was the one who brought the practice back to you, so important to have that type of support! Thanks for sharing🙏🏻💜

Yes it is wonderful to share that and have the support to move along the path of awakening!

I agree! Wonderful we can all support each other from all over the world. A really great way to use technology

Yes, it is making me appreciate the technology more. Who would have figured we would come together for group meditations coming from Steemit! So happy @naturalmedicine opened their Discord doors to make this happen!

I’m so grateful and happy too! Thank you @naturalmedicine😀

wow @porters, I loved this glimpse into your journey.

Great story!
Spiritual awakening of the masses is here! At least - that's what I think.

Hi @porters!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.485 which ranks you at #6188 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 6196).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 483 contributions, your post is ranked at #177.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97