One Million Dollars / First 24 Hours

in #milliondollarchallenge6 years ago (edited)

treasure-pile.jpg

Who doesn't love a big stack of cash?

What you would do with One Million Dollars (after tax) if you were handed it today and more specifically what would you do in the first 24 hours?

Thanks to @ablaze for nominating me, and let's give that man a round of applause for his own million dollar post !!!!

It's funny how this piece of paper owns us, to our very core.It makes us become obsessed, and possessed.
I do believe that money withhold a power, almost mystical , almost inexplicable, it turns the devout into devil, the mad into sinner, the brave into coward, and the ignorant into arrogant.

greed.jpg

That's maybe what I tell to myself at night, to help me sleep, to help me get through next week.

We all have an internal mechanism , a fragile equilibrium that can be upset at any moment.Why this man is born with plenty while this child starves to death?
What is plenty?Plenty of what?

Would yourself consider rich of something if you own a million shoes, or would you be considered by everyone as weirdo collecting a million of "something".

That being said, there are people that own millions out there, and doing good with it , fueling amazing projects, amazing ideas, amazing people.So a million can be the difference between living and surviving, depending on who is holding that power.

I think I haven't been that driven by money for a long time.
Steemit changed me for that matter.I watch markets rising and falling every day, I even want to set an alarm when the SBD goes down, I know exactly how much money I make per week. You don't make me do something unless you pay me these days :)

Steemit made me reach the potential that I never thought was even possible: Becoming a Brand

The first thing I would do with a million dollars , would be to deposit this money into a South African bank account and watch it become 14 millions Rands, that would make me feel much better about the whole experience :P

ghnw20170216-163154-659.jpg
source

It would already take more than 24 hours to deposit a millions euros on a bank account, but let's just say that the money is already on my account, the first thing that I would do with that money is buy winter clothes for the kids.

I am a very pragmatic guy, and that's all we can think of at the moment, the highveld winter can become a bitch and get you sick constently , so my priority right now is to buy clothes for my kids. I don't really care about anything else.What a simple man I am :)

36fcce3c207cf1233c940365099f049e.jpg
source

Once the kids are warm the second thing i do with my money is to buy a first class Paris-Johannesburg plane ticket for my mother, so she can come visit my children and meet them for the first time.

She hasn't met them yet, our son will turn 5 this year, and our daughter will turn 3 , so it's really the priority for me to get her to come here in South Africa.

She is a cancer survivor, she actually had 2 cancers, it obviously took a toll on her health, and I know that having her around, first she would be so delighted to be with the kids and would help her raise her morale, secondly I could organize the best THC and CBD oil that you can find on the market, and make sure she never develop another nasty tumor.

I feel very powerless from here, as my family in France are not educated on that matter and don't really know the proven results of cannabis oil for cancer patients. It's a battle I won't even bother to get involved into , because no one will listen to me oversea, and it's totally prohibited in France, so it's out of the question anyway.

Cannabis-Oil-Health-Benefits-640x360.jpg
source

Which comes to what would i do with that money for the long term?
I would develop a "Venus Project" in South Africa, focused on hemp production and cannabis oil, trying to get local farmers involved before big pharma take over, once the legislation get changed.
The "Venus Project" was an idea, an utopia created by Jacques Fresco, a vision that probably sounds like science fiction, but if applied on a smaller scale, is very much thinkable.A resource-based economy:

While maybe beautiful on paper, I don't think that Jacques' newest form of Marxism would function in a money driven world, because any enterprise that doesn't generate a substantial amount of money and reward the most pro- active members of its community is bound to fail.
Instead of a futuristic society like the one suggested in the video, I would instead focus on perma-culture and try to find better ways to blend in architecture and nature together, building a healthy foundation for the generation to come.
14 millions Rands will give me a good head start for building a prototype-town, and corrupting the right governments officials that are not interested in a project that will collapse the very fabric of their society.

I realized that AI might play a more important role in shaping our society, governing our lives, as we have proven ourselves incapable of taking care of one another and making the sensible decisions for the greater good of our specie. I am not a big defender of Trans-humanism, as what is flesh should stay flesh, but maybe letting the machines take care of politics, would become the norm and will not sound far-fetched in 30 years time, but data and soul can be corrupted the same way.

Thanks for reading, it was a great exercise of visualization, and helped me as well realize that money doesn't matter, it's really about the people that your share it with,

I nominate @lionmom , @dandays, @puravidaville , @ofilsdutemps, , and @dougkarr for the million dollars challenge!!!

Sort:  

Bravo @edprivat. Practicality, kindness, love and determination all wrapped up in that post. So sorry to hear about the hardship your mother has endured with her battle with cancer, and I really hope she can make it over to SA to meet your kids.

Me to! The hardest part will be to convince the rest of the family as South Africa can be pretty unsafe for a unseasoned westerner !
Hopefully soon we can all travel to France!
Sorry I was not as witty as you your were in your entry, I wanted to make jokes, and then it really hit me, I don't need fancy things, just the essential :)

Bravo @edprivat ta réflexion est très intéressante.
J'ai appris des choses que j'ignorais totalement sur l'huile de cannabis, dans quel pays est-ce autorisée?

La plantation de 3 plantes par personne est plus ou moins autorisée maintenant en Afrique du Sud. Grâce à un formulaire exceptionnel s'appelant "Application 21" il est maintenant possible d'utiliser le cannabis en tant que drogue expérimentale en cas de cancer, sclérose en plaques, ou épilepsie.

Les pays étant le fer de lance de l'économie du cannabis dans le monde sont les États-Unis, L'uruguay , Les Pays-Bas (dépénalise), et le Canada.
Le Lesotho et Zimbabwe sont maintenant les premiers pays Africains à autoriser la culture / production et vente de cannabis médical.
Pays tolerant : Allemagne (sous ordonnance), Belgique (3 grammes), Espagne, Portugal, Italie, Suisse, Republique Tcheque!

la France
En 1798, pendant la campagne d’Egypte, Napoléon promulgua un décret qui interdisait aux soldats français de "boire de la liqueur forte fabriquée par les musulmans avec une herbe nommée Hashish, et de fumer les feuilles de Cannabis". La loi n'a toujours pas change depuis cette epoque...

J'entendais à la radio ce matin que, dans les années 1920, la France était un pays avant-gardiste. Nous avons bien changé! Nous serions-nous endormis sur les lois Napoléoniennes? Je le pense! Nous sommes maintenant un pays de vieux conservateurs. Merci pour toutes ces informations @edprivat.

Avec plaisir!
Oui nous etions le moteur artistique ( le dadaisme, le cubisme, ne en France), economique, politique de l'Europe et du monde, mais maintenant nous avons perdu un peu de notre panache et candeur!
Les entreprises de tabac et d'alcool ont fait pression sur le gouvernement de l'epoque. Pour l'instant la demande est minime avec seulement 11% des francais se declarent fumeur de cannabis.

Thank you for sharing all of that with us @edprivat. I wish more people like you had the means of a million dollars at their disposal. The documentary that you posted had me captivated. We’ll have to watch the entire thing later this week. Carl Sagan has always been such a huge influencer on my worldly perspective. Anyway, it wasn’t until the very last sentence did I realize that now it’s our turn to explain what we’d do with a million dollars. Thank you for the challenge; I’ll get something out ASAP. God bless you and your family Sir. ✌️

gimme the money

Sorry haha, I thought it would be fun to give you a voice :) , I don't think it has to be very serious , it can be very light in tone, if you wanna buy a truck of chocolate with your first million, or hire a mariachi band on a private jet that's totally doable!

Hey, challenge accepted. No need for apologies. In fact, now I’m mulling it over because I have never really given it much thought. It’ll be fun and am happy you included me. Thank you

Thanks guys!

Nomination accepted.

Awesome! it's a fun one!

By the way. We’re all accustomed to your music, Ed, your writing skills are also refreshing.

Oh thanks for being accustomed, it means we got a breakthrough!!

I've always envisioned an experiment in my head but impossible to create because it would be cruelty.
Basically putting a human on a desert island, and the only musical genre available is the one that he hates the most.
You come back 10 years later visit our castaway, the subject will have now grown fond of the previously hated genre.
Human adaptation

10 years seems a little extreme, I could see where it could be labeled as cruel.
I bet there would come a time you wouldn’t be interested in the radio anymore. Cast away on an island with just a radio, it would either become your escape or your nemesis.
Were you successful finding test candidates? 👍🏿

"Were you successful finding test candidates?" it requires a boat, ropes, bleach, and other things!
or someone willing to just leave civilization.
Talking about nemesis, the same experience could be done with your worst enemy. I think come a time after being stuck for few years with him/her, you become best buddies.(Or kill each other)

I will give them.to.poor and needy!
Will keep some for my family!

Nice one bro! I wish you the best on your journey :)

noble thoughts!

Thanks my man :)

Thanks for the nomination love! gonna have to give it some deep thought! but I welcome it!!

Pleasure! You know you can keep it light right?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95