Back To the 60s: Part 2

in #microfiction5 years ago (edited)

image


My entry to @jayna’s Micro-fiction contest is a continuation of Back To the 60s. The first part of the story can be read Here.

The challenge is to produce a short story within the tight word limit of 250 words based on a one-word prompt.

The prompt word this week is window.


Back to the 60’s: Part Two


Karen grabbed the sides of her narrow seat as the time machine lunged forward in stops and starts then smoothed out.

Oh No! Bert must have set it on automatic pilot before he disappeared.

She wished the monkey would stop shrieking in loud one- syllable grunts while clapping it’s hands.

It didn’t take long before they were above Lake Ontario and Karen, peering through the tiny round window, could see the CN tower. Her view was soon obscured by the heavy mist blanketing the machine.

Suddenly the smell of stale beer assaulted her senses and she could see remotely the couple standing at the bar... a familiar pretty woman with a Farrah Fawcett hairdo talking to a much shorter man in a white cowboy hat.

This is my mother. How can I tell her I’m her daughter and from the future?”

The man in the cowboy hat grabbed her mother’s arm. Karen could see, as if through a dark narrow window, the angry twist of his mouth.

Where were you last night after the show? If I find you have been whoring around again, you will regret it!

Hearing a grunting sound, Karen could feel Bert looming behind her.

”We must leave at once Karen or we will be locked in the 60’s forever.”

Not now, Bert, I must warn my mother.


image

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics



#thealliance


image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp. Appreciate your great platform!

I'm loving this,I had to go back & read part one. :D

Thanks Deb. Nice to see you! 😊 Glad you loved it. I will try to continue on with the story each week.

Interesting piece I would say. Wish you continued.

Thanks Maxwell. I will add to the story each week.

Thanks @kamrunnahar. I’m happy you read it. 😊

@redheadpei, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Most welcome @steemitboard. I love seeing all the badges. 😊

Great story Jo!! I love how you're adding to the story with the one-word prompts! Looking forward to see what happens next! 😉

Thanks my dear Dee and for being so supportive. I’m happy you like the story and I hope to continue it each week. ♥️

You are welcome Jo!! I love many of the references and look forward to reading more of the story! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Howdy redheadpei! this is a terrific story and ends way to fast!

Excellent continuation, @redheadpei. More more more, please!! :-)

One thing I'm confused about is how Bert suddenly appeared again. Was he replaced by the monkey? If he disappeared, how did he come back again? I know, it's so hard to tell all in under 250 words!!

Great job.

I will have to continue with more of the story this week, Jayna @jayna. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64