Back To The 60s

in #microfiction5 years ago (edited)

image


Back To The 60s



Bert had the time machine ready for takeoff when Karen walked towards him dressed in her 60s style outfit. Bert couldn’t keep from oggling ~ her short mini dress, wide belt, knee-high white go-go boots with high heels adding another layer of sexy to her long legs.

This was going to be a great trip back in time.

Karen had wondered about Bert when he first mentioned the idea of a time machine and how he had come across a way to transport back to 1965 and they could look for her mother.

Karen’s mother had been a go-go dancer at the Horseshoe bar on Yonge St. in Toronto. Her disappearance had been an unsolved mystery. Karen was only five years old at the time her mother went missing.

Visions of seeing her mother again had kept Karen dating Bert. She tolerated his wet sloppy kisses and had held him off from more amorous advances.

Bert anxiously waited in the strange looking machine. He had already made a trial run. His plan was to slip into a known vortex at the Great Lakes and dial the harnessed energy back to 1965. Karen stepped inside, tugging at her short dress and seating herself beside him.

A blood curdling high pitched scream filled the time machine.

Where are you, Bert..Bert?” Her gasping was the only reply, ”A monkey is sitting in your seat!



My entry to @jayna’s #microfiction contest with prompt Time.

For more info on the contest, check Here

Above photo of daisies taken previously by me and edited for wording.






art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics



#thealliance


image

Sort:  

Well done, @redheadpei! I love the extra layer of the relationship between the two people, and how she is really only together with him because of the time machine. I hope you'll write a sequel. And I hope the monkey does not give her wet sloppy kisses! :-)

Thanks @jayna. Haha I will have to write more on the monkey and Karen. 😂

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp for your wonderful platform!

Nice piece @redheadpei. It caught me from the first paragraph.
But now.....so many questions...What was the sound.....are they back in time....does she solve the mystery.

Thanks @tijntje. Happy the start caught your attention. The sound was Karen’s scream when she saw the monkey. I will have to write a continual to the story as I haven’t figured it all out yet. 😊

Ah ok one question checked. Will have an eye out at your account for a continual.

All dressed up and she ends up with a monkey! I hope she finds out what happened to her mom.

Haha Melinda. I think Bert dialed the time machine back too far. 😂

Ahhh! Now I get it! It's early and I'm still a little slow!

I really liked that ending. A great job, good luck.

Thanks @universoperdido! Glad you liked it. 😊 🐒

haha! oh that is great redheadpei! Didn't see that coming at all! lol.

Thanks Cowboy! I’m happy you got a charge out of the ending. Don’t know where I pulled that out of .. I had to laugh at it myself. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54