There are No Such Things as “Micro-Aggressions”

Come at me Bro


Over the past several years, the term “micro-aggressions” has become widely used, particularly in that of leftist media and college campuses. For anyone that isn’t a minority and hasn’t tossed this term around with stories of commiseration, here’s a simple explanation -

The term, initially was popularized by psychologist Derald Wing Sue who defines it as -

Microaggressions are the everyday verbal, nonverbal, and environmental slights, snubs, or insults, whether intentional or unintentional, which communicate hostile, derogatory, or negative messages to target persons based solely upon their marginalized group membership.

Sue uses simple examples to highlight the claim such as someone using the adjective “gay” to describe a poor situation or a white woman clutching her purse when a black or latino man walks by. They can be innocuous from the point of view of the sayer or doer but deeply uncomfortable depending on who is receiving the message.

In layman’s terms, they are the little/seeming invisible offenses that come about because one person isn’t aware and sensitive to potentially negative reception of another. Common ones are “are you from North or South Korea?” or “what language do you speak at home?” Sometimes simple assumptions like experience and exposure can be considered micro-aggressions.

If you ask any particular minority (religious, sexual-preference, ethnic), they’ll all have an “of course I’ve experienced that” reply. Much of it bleeds into stereotypes that everyone faces at some point, even majorities like Christian white citizens in the US. A major part of living in a multi-racial society is the constant friction between people who mean no others harm but cannot 100% empathize.

Which segues into my major argument for today.

These are Not Aggressions


I’ll start with the rationale for dismissing this idea altogether. Like I’ve explained, I completely recognize the existence of these discomforting experiences and we must all be understanding when these experiences are expressed by individuals. But the biggest issue in creating a term like “micro-aggressions” is that it mutates that experience, most of which is not malicious in any way, into an act of aggression by another person. The person who stated the word or phrase then becomes a perpetrator in the eyes of the perpetrated.

Screen Shot 2018-04-25 at 12.16.29 PM.png

And this is just flatly incorrect. An “aggressive” action literally denotes the intent for a person to be “forceful” and willfully enact confrontation. Aggressiveness is a purposeful behavior that is meant to achieve an aim. And a misinterpretation of aggression is not actual aggression.

Simple example. If I am cross with someone after an argument, I can choose to be aggressive and perform an aggressive action like slamming a door. Others will likely understand my mood and recognize the door-slamming as a purposeful act done to intimidate, frighten, exert dominance, disturb others, and so forth. However, if I, without an evident emotion or negative scenario, accidentally slam a door - maybe it was surprisingly heavy, maybe I was too inebriated to be sensitive, or maybe it was a simple accident - everyone in witness should understand full well that it was not an act of aggression. Again, the qualification in aggression is in intent. If the intent isn’t aggressive, there is no actual aggression.

This is where words matter tremendously. “Micro-aggressions” are often blurred into the realm of “racism” and racial slurs. These are very different. Racist/bigoted activity is meant to harm or demean someone intentionally. No one will ever scream the N-word unless they’re mentally ill or more likely be trying to demean someone of a darker skin tone. Accidentally offending someone is not aggression.

Crimeless Victims


The more problematic aspect is far more severe than some linguistic misuse. Because we’ve wrapped this word into mainstream culture, we’re encouraging more people to assume that these moments of discomfort and misunderstanding are legitimate acts of aggression from one person to another. We are being inculcated to believe that a lack of understanding is equivalent to bigotry and hatred. Many people simply do not know that North Koreans are almost completely forbidden from leaving their dictator-run country. A question of whether I am from the North or South may seem silly, may seem even mildly offensive, but it does not make a person who is uninformed an aggressor. That is a very dangerous outlook on people.

And so I want to formally push back on this rhetoric. “Micro-aggressions” are a boogeyman, conjured up for political purposes and personal gain. They do not exist, yet maintaining their supposed existence in mainstream discourse makes us into feeble, over-sensitized victims in cases where there was no aggression.

So that’s me for today. Let me know your thoughts below.

Sort:  

At the end of this year, I suggest you consider releasing a collection of your posts as an ebook.

This post caused me to think of Michelle Wolf's "joke" at the correspondents dinner:

“He thinks abortion is murder, which, first of all, don’t knock it ‘til you try it — and when you do try it, really knock it. You know, you’ve got to get that baby out of there."

Those who laughed and found that funny are some of the people who shape public opinion. No doubt they are finely attuned to avoid micro aggressions and observe political correctness -- yet oblivious to the hypocrisy of calling people Nazis who don't buy into their perception of reality. Like the abortion joke, that's a vile insult toxic. I'd be willing to bet Michelle Wolf has called plenty of people that N word.

Oh man @roused.... I might just take you up on that suggestion. I'll have to do it in the most beautiful place in the world otherwise I'll go insane.

I ground my teeth during most of that performance and couldn't get through the latter part of it. I'm no conservative by any means but the vitriol that liberals throw around willy-nilly can be so absurdly cringe.

Glad to hear it, I seriously think you have a good ebook tucked away in your blog.

I never aligned with any party. My creed is MLK's vision, not judging people by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character. Equality of opportunity, freedom of speech, tolerance of opinions, and the civil debating of ideas. That used to make me a liberal or progressive, but not in the age of identity politics and the associated divide and conquer political strategy, and ceding national sovereignty to corporations via trade agreements -- I'm neither liberal or conservative, I simply became "roused" ;-) my own personal form of woke.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Ohhh mate... The amount of names I've been called, the labels I've been given and the amount of times I've been chastised for saying things the aussie way (blunt as and exactly how I feel), my way, makes me want to scream.

I'm sorry y'all don't get me. I slammed the door to release the energy from my body, not to intimidate you. I said what I said not to intimidate you but to express exactly how I feel.

I'm sorry that intimidates you. Back where I'm from someone would just tell me to f* off and go have a drink.

I always get asked where I'm from, sure I can take that personally or I can take the piss and joke around with them or maybe just talk.

I think at the end of the day, people will have their own take of the situation.

A few years ago we could tell someone to have a tall glass of cement and harden the f* up and that's fine. These days people get offended.

Oh man @bearone, that is my few favorite phrase ever - "Have a tall glass of cement and harden the fuck up."

It's all about interpretation. If you believe yourself to be a victim, you're likely a weak person. Glad to see that you are not @bearone!!

"Have a tall glass of cement and harden the fuck up."

brilliant! lol

It is important to re-frame these things. though irksome, I do agree, they are not aggressive in intent. Simply ignorant and makes great stand up comedy material. ;)

Amen. This is why we need comedy, because life is a never-ending stream of awkward and embarrassing and irksome situations that have no negative intent but leave us with the most ridiculous situations.

Absolutely! :)

This is the first I've heard of the term micro aggression.
That "where are you from?" question I first came across from a comedian. He was mixed race Australian and moved from somewhere like Sydney to Melbourne. When he got asked that question he didn't initially understand what they were asking and his reply was that he was from Sydney. Because he never really knew his dad and the family didn't like to talk about him (yes there was some racism there) he didn't actually know his genetic ancestry on the side that gave him his darker skin. His mother was European though, so his next answer was in regards to that. The poor guy couldn't give them the answer they were after! 😆 I guess its a choice to take offense or not. In this case he had a laugh about it.

Taking offense at things like this means you're making an assumption. What if that woman flinching and holding her handbag tighter on seeing a Latino does so because she was mugged by one? Assuming someone's knowledge could be offensive to that person too. Like you say, not everyone realises that North Koreans would struggle to leave their country, but they know that there is that separation between North and South due to the media. You can't know something you are not taught. So calling their lack of knowledge a micro aggression could be seen as insulting their intelligence which could also be seen as micro aggression.

This is a wonderful point. Individuals whom claimed that they have been 'aggressed' and demand empathy fail to empathize with why someone would frame something or act in a certain way. We are all individuals after all and can have highly individual reasons for doing something.

Thanks for the comment @minismallholding!

It works both ways really.

In the racial micro aggression above , "where are you from, no, where are you really from. Where are you really, really from" is so funny and at the same time can piss me off. In truth,
many are guilty of this. Sometimes, they take it as a compliment. The one I always experience is each time i introduce my daughter to my friends. All i hear is, 'you look so young to have a big girl like this'. I tell you, sometimes it embarrasses me. But from your post, i should not view them as aggressors. I want to believe its their level of understanding..... @adoore-eu

I get asked that all the time as well and I simply explain to people that I'm Korean-American, son of immigrants. It's not that hard and it shouldn't be done defensively.

Also, that's a quote that my wife would love to hear once we have children.... ;)

This is why context and intent are everything. If we genuinely believe that the people saying and asking these things are doing it with the intention of angering or embarrassing us, then we live in a very sad world where cultures will never mix.

If you’re offered a seat on a rocket ship, don’t ask what seat! Just get on, because you really have been so wonderful boss..

using micro aggression is like using sarcasm

I guess this calls to everyone to give time to take time evaluate other's actions and not directly conclude its an act of agression. Otherwise itll just result to "actual agression"

Nice morning read...thank you😍😍

So do we call these events manifestations of unconscious bias?

I honestly think 99% of these incidents are simply due to lack of experience and exposure. When I get asked "where are you from?" I always assume it's because they are genuinely curious and not intending to mix up Chinese with Korea with Japanese.

These should be opportunities to educate, not condemn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30