My HitBTC account got hacked!!!

in #mgsc6 years ago (edited)

hitbtc.jpg

Hello Everyone,

Hope you are doing great and enjoying your profit as the market looks quite good and stable today. Green green everywhere. Today I am going to write this blog about one of the cryptocurrency exchange named as HitBTC. If you are following John McAfee on twitter, you can see he is regularly tweeting about the HitBTC exchange since couple of days. He carried out one survey. Here are the results.

John Tweet about HitBTC.PNG

80% people do not believe in the service they are getting from HitBTC. Is HitBTC really not working as they should? People are complaining that HitBTC is not responding to their emails. Even John tried 12 times, but no response from HitBTC to John as well. Being a famous cryptocurrency exchange, HitBTC should take care of the customers which is not happening here.

HitBTC was ranking in top three exchanges at one point of time as it was having more bitcoin trading volume. But see what is the ranking now.

HitBTC Ranking.PNG

It is at spot 8 as per coin market cap and day by day trading volume is decreasing. Definitely HitBTC should seriously look into this. If this poor performance continues to happen, HitBTC won't be able to survive on this list in few days.

Now let us look at the below email.

HitBTC hack mail.PNG

This email is from my inbox. Definitely neither I have logged into HitBTC at 04:16 AM in the morning nor I am from Vietnam. This clearly shows my account has been hacked and someone tried to steal my funds. Fortunately my account was empty and the hacker did not get anything. I had also activated 2 factor authentication for more security but HitBTC asked me to enter 2FA only at very first login and not after that. Username and password were sufficient for me to get into my HitBTC dashboard. I realized this security flaw and decided to withdraw my funds. My decision was perfect and it saved me from hackers.

What do you think about HitBTC exchange? Are you still trading on HitBTC and you feel it is safe to keep funds there? Please let me know your views in the comment box.

I hope you like this blog. If so please follow me on steemit, upvote the post and comment down below your views.

Best Regards,
@lets-steemit

Please check out my latest posts

  1. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/do-you-want-to-know-whether-dogecoin-will-reach-usd1-or-not-please-read-through
  2. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/keep-an-eye-on-altcoins-yes-they-are-following-bitcoin
  3. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/burst-disruption-to-traditional-fiat-currency
  4. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/greenhashes-world-s-first-cryptocurrency-backed-by-carbon-credits-and-mining-power
  5. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/know-more-about-digibyte
  6. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/bitcoin-cash-peer-to-peer-bitcoin-electronic-cash
  7. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/electroneum-the-mobile-cryptocurrency
  8. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/have-you-earned-lost-huge-from-bitcoin-here-are-some-examples
  9. https://steemit.com/mgsc/@lets-steemit/sia-coin-and-its-features

Steemit banner1.gif

Sort:  

great article information

This looks like a bot response lol.

First, it starts talking about coinmarketcap which is absolutely not a trusty place to get infos about volume, it gets only inflated values. There are several exchanges there that no one has ever heard about.

This looks like a bot response lol.

First, it starts talking about coinmarketcap which is absolutely not a trusty place to get infos about volume, it gets only inflated values. There are several exchanges there that no one has ever heard about.

Please upvote me sir
Your constant very good
Mgsc

"I trust this is the thing that happened: the programmer hacked into the mail server of hitbtc or blocked the secret word reset email activated by him, at that point reset my watchword and accessed my record. The login history of my email box demonstrated no irregular access by any means; the secret word reset email that the programmer activated was gotten new.

But how could he have done so? What email provider are you using? Any system is as strong as its weakest link, but what most people fail to realize is that our online pressence in itself is a system, and social engineering is very much strong around the world, we gotta make our own systems stronger.

Be safe online my dudes, set your 2fa whenever you can.

it looks strange, probably you went into a phishing website that took your info and that's why you got hacked, also very strange to get hacked when having 2FA, it's impossible if you set it up correctly

Your investigations might be askewed, McAfee has attacked them before due to the dissosiation of his coin from their platform, which in turn makes his userbase be biased against them.

A proper way to do it would be publishing the poll on a unrelated third party and compare the results.

But you did good when activating 2fa, your settings probably weren't set to prompt 2fa at every login, but it now asks for 2fa every time you log in, not sure why not do it from the start but at least they've fixed it

It's possible you didn't set up your 2fa right, every time I log in I'm requested for my 2fa code. Another security measure you can take is to add whitelisted wallet addresses, it does require a bit of preparation but that way you ensure that absolutely no one but yourself will get your coins out of your account.

If it only asked for your 2fa once, are you sure you were on hitbtc.com and not some phishing site? It could've been redirecting your profile to you over and over and when you logged out it had all it needed to try and screw you over. Good thing you didn't lose anything but there's a bit more to the story that we may not be seeing?

This just recently happened to me. Changed all my info and I don't plan on using them anymore.

Interestingly, there were no transaction records of any currency being moved.

Typically, every transaction I make is logged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60335.73
ETH 3297.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43