Hunting God: A HowTo, Day 25 - I will begin the journey home

in #metaphysics7 years ago (edited)

The parable of the prodigal son illustrates very concisely our journey away from the true God into the realm of false ones. It reads as follows:

11 Jesus continued: “There was a man who had two sons. 12 The younger one said to his father, ‘Father, give me my share of the estate.’ So he divided his property between them.

13 “Not long after that, the younger son got together all he had, set off for a distant country and there squandered his wealth in wild living. 14 After he had spent everything, there was a severe famine in that whole country, and he began to be in need. 15 So he went and hired himself out to a citizen of that country, who sent him to his fields to feed pigs. 16 He longed to fill his stomach with the pods that the pigs were eating, but no one gave him anything.

17 “When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired servants have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! 18 I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. 19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired servants.’ 20 So he got up and went to his father.

“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.

21 “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’

22 “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. 23 Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. 24 For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.

25 “Meanwhile, the older son was in the field. When he came near the house, he heard music and dancing. 26 So he called one of the servants and asked him what was going on. 27 ‘Your brother has come,’ he replied, ‘and your father has killed the fattened calf because he has him back safe and sound.’

28 “The older brother became angry and refused to go in. So his father went out and pleaded with him. 29 But he answered his father, ‘Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends. 30 But when this son of yours who has squandered your property with prostitutes comes home, you kill the fattened calf for him!’

31 “‘My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours. 32 But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’”

Luke 15:11-32 New International Version

The father here represents the one true God, or spiritual parent who loves us and wants what is best for us. Even so, He honors our desires even if they should lead to a precarious journey on our part. We only learn through following through on our choices.

The younger son asked for his inheritance, which he took, and journeyed to a “distant country.”

This distant country represents this earth life where the lives thereon seem to be separated from God. They appear to live beyond the reach of their Source. For many it seems that God either does not exist or is beyond reach.

Next we are told he “squandered his wealth in wild living.” Wealth here represents the gifts and powers of God that we all have inside of us, but we have lost our recollection as to their correct use. In our ignorance we squander our natural powers very carelessly.

Next it says: “After he had spent everything, there was a severe famine in that whole country, and he began to be in need.”

We have spent everything by giving away our power to false gods. This created a spiritual famine where it seems that the false gods have all the power and we have none unless some is given to us.

It continues:

“So he went and hired himself out to a citizen of that country, who sent him to his fields to feed pigs. He longed to fill his stomach with the pods that the pigs were eating, but no one gave him anything.”

In his needy situation he hired himself out to a “citizen.” This represents the false god of his choice. The pigs represent the lower desire nature. All he received from the false gods was a feeding or stimulation of his lower nature, which is separated from God. In that situation the best he could think to do for himself was to eat with the pigs, or yield to the lower nature.

After a time (actually a very long time) the son came to his senses and tapped into that inner knowing that he has a true home and spiritual parent who loves him. The famine created by the false gods drives him on a quest to return home, yield to the true God and take whatever He is will willing to give.

Next we have a key passage in this parable:

“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.”

Before the son made it home and was still “a long way off,” the Father saw him. This tells us that the Father had never ceased looking and waiting for the return. The son did not have to journey all the way home before he met the Father’s welcoming arms.

The most important part of our journey home is to realize that the false gods give us no real spiritual food, and following them only produces a famine in our lives. When we reject their authority and seek the true God within us, then the waiting Inner Life responds and welcomes us.

When “the veil of the temple is rent in twain” and the son returns, he is accepted back into full sonship.

Our many mortal lives have been a tough experience, but in many ways we are wiser than the ones who stayed with the Father and never left His presence. We have learned to have compassion toward others who make mistakes. This is a quality had by the Father, but lacking in the first son.

The assignment today is to reflect on this parable and see yourself in it. See that you have traveled to a distant country and have gone through a spiritual famine, but now desire to return home. As you seek your true Father, see Him as one waiting for you to begin the journey. Focus deep within your heart and feel His presence waiting for you..

Copyright by JJ Dewey

Day 24 - I will trust the Inner Voice over the outer

Day 23 - Words hide truth as well as reveal

Day 22 - I will identify my outer gods

Day 21 - My first false gods

Day 20 - I will replace theory with experience

Day 19 - I am discovering the key to recognizing the true God

Day 18 - I will obey the first commandment

Day 17 - I accept the true God over the false today

Day 16 - I will find the source of guilt

Day 15 - I see a difference between guilt and regret

Day 14 - I will discover the cause of guilt

Day 13 - I will be honest about my feelings

Day 12 - I will let my feelings express themselves

Day 11 - I will communicate my grievances and let them go.

Day 10 - I will change my mind today

Day 9 - The Two Grievances

Day 8 - I will find my grievances

Day 7 - I will examine my feelings today

Day 6 - My feelings hide the light of the soul

Day 5 - I use my feelings; my feelings do not use me

Day 4 - I am not my feelings

Day 3 - I see this world for what it is

Day 2 - I See My Body For What It Is

Day 1 - Who or what am I?

NOTICE: Although posted here with permission of the author, I am not the originator of this content and should the originator eventually see fit to begin posting here, I will leave it to him.

Sort:  

Religion is more than life. Remember that his own religion is the truest to every man even if it stands low in the scales of philosophical comparison.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56