How to get a mentor, my mentor of 6 going on 7 years #9

in #mentors7 years ago (edited)

Some people have great mentors whether they be their parents or other family members, a lot of people don't know what having a mentor even entails. I have had many mentors all being people of influence outside of my blood family.

In high school the JROTC instructor, Retired Air Force Major said to me... Ms Brister, always work hard, and be willing to open your ears and learn. Things are going to be hard but if you just do that, people will always help you along the way in your journey. He was my favorite teacher and I knew there was a great meaning behind that statement. Even when things got tough in college I never gave up. I fought and remained determined! I acquired dedicated tutors and even a ride or die friend who made sure I had some kind of social life.

After I graduated, I met a woman who would change my life forever. She has provided everything from relationship to financial advice, "hang in there, it'll get better, but in the meantime focus on your studies". And that was much more different from the "use what you got to get what you want" kind of role modeling I grew up receiving!

Our first encounter was during an interview at our city's chamber for a civic leadership program. I was 17 at the time and she was 62, so you can imagine all the ways my spirit enlightened her. I was inducted and spent months with the business men and women of the city. She has been nothing less than a guardian angel every since then. I so grateful. Not only does she call me her mentee, I am also a great friend and unofficial adopted niece! My mentor is everything I needed!

If you feel like you need that extra boost of support don't be afraid to ask questions! Be genuine and people will help build you up along the way! And if you feel that you are a person of influence, please go volunteer with youth in your area. Go volunteer your time at the high school that has the lowest ratings, ask the school officials how you can help (besides dishing out money). Read to children at the library! You never know who needs you until you step up and start offering your wisdom, love, and support.

-Social Worker in training.

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.

Congratulations @jaquille! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85