My ADD: Boredom and Hyper-Focus

in #mentalhealth7 years ago

I was diagnosed with ADD about 9 months ago. I’ve since come quite a long way, thanks to finding a great psychiatrist who has me on a good combination of medication, as well as exercising every day.

There is one thing that I have noticed that apparently is quite typical of ADD, which is that it is extraordinarily difficult for me to focus on anything that bores me, while at the same time, when I become very interested in something, I hyper-focus on it and become totally engrossed in it.

So growing up, this manifested itself in my school experience. Topics like Chemistry were a nightmare, and it was as if I was listening to an alien language during class. On the other hand, topics I liked, such as Literature, were easy A’s with little effort.

And I still go absolutely insane when I’m bored. For instance, I write about this all the time – my job is boring. I read an article about ADHD where someone commented that for us, boredom is “the kiss of death”. It’s true. It’s extremely difficult for me, even with meds, to engage at all in anything I don’t care about.

But on the flip side, I get totally engrossed in things, usually one thing at a time. I didn’t grow up with any background in it, but in my 20’s (oh man I’m old now, ahhhhh), I learned in various Yeshivas, which are academies for studying Talmud, kind of like Rabbinical studies (though I am most certainly not a Rabbi). I was full time for about 5 years and half time for another 2.5, and I was totally into it. I remember it was my second year there when I was perhaps the most enthralled – the standard study was done in study partners, and the normal study periods were about 9:30am-1pm, then 3-6pm, then 8:30-9:45. At one point I was studying all those, and also early in the morning before breakfast, most of the lunch break, and from 10pm until about midnight. I still study, and enjoy it, but I now have to balance it with work, family, and so on.

I was totally obsessed with Fantasy Baseball the past couple years. I placed 2nd in half of my leagues the first year, and won 1 of out my 2 leagues this past year.

But just as quickly as a fire is lit within me, it can just burn out. For instance, now I’m not even sure if I’ll play fantasy baseball next year, as my fascination has shifted to the blockchain/crypto space. I’ve been in it only a few months but, as they say in Yeshiva, I’m “holding” (not like hodling, just meaning I know a lot about it). I don't even feel like I'm trying, I just devour anything I can about it without hardly realizing it. I enjoy the hyper focus, but I worry about it slipping away.

Most sources (doctors, therapists, books, etc) I’ve heard say that this “hyper-focus” ability is part and parcel of ADD. One expert in the field, Russell Berkeley, insists that there is no “upside” at all to the disorder and no evidence that anything like hyper-focus is the result of having it.

So is this just my personality? Is it my ADD? And is the hyper-focus a good thing, even? I’m not sure. But it's me, that's for sure.

Sort:  

As a sufferer myself, and im 51 now, and what no one talks about is the problems it causes with relationships. As well as having the hyperfocus ( also a symptom of being on 'the spectrum' lol) it can also mean you get bored with people as well as thing and subjects, I know I do, and also on the flipside of that, hyperfocus on people. Just need to be aware of that mate.
You will never ever learn to love the things that you have no interest in, in my opinion thats no bad thing, hyperfocus is also no bad thing BUT you need to know when to give up with something from time to time. Thats difficult.
ADHD, like other things that make us 'not' normal (although for me, there are more 'not normal' than there are 'normal' thus making the 'not normal' people the normal ones!!) are not necessarily bad or disadvatage us, they just mean we have to understand what makes us different and work it to our advantage :-)
Best wishes mate.

Happy for you about getting diagnosed, I didn't until age 54! I respect Russell Barkley, but IMO hyper-focus is a real trait of ADHD, and one of our strenghs (except when the toast is burning because I'm focused on the way the cream is swirling around in my coffee :)

I think, not 100% sure, the hyper focusing kind of ADD is type 3, right? That's the kind I have as well. Not sure your age but I'm up there so have had careers of various skills and the ones that suited me best were ones that had short deadlines. I worked for years in marketing/sales operations. This was great because sales goals and needs are usually very urgent and the time from request to publishing the finished advertising product was relatively soon as well as seeing the results. It's easy to burn out in these kinds of fast paced jobs especially when boundaries aren't set - people do take advantage of our boundless energy and ignore the inevitable crash (recoup/recovery time) necessary for people like us. It's great if you can find work like this where managers respect your pace and need for regenerating time. Having a project manager helps a lot as this person will be a firewall for you to manage the incoming requests and expectations.
Welp I wrote a lot too haha
Good luck to you! Hyper focusing can be a great asset in the right team with support.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77