The Appendix Of My Grandfather

in #memorial-day6 years ago

We all called him Uncle Bud. That was his name but technically he was my mother’s uncle which made him my second uncle. His birth name was Buddy. Names and technicalities aside, he was my Grandfather’s last living sibling of five when I talked to him that day in April, 2011.

We both arrived at my mother’s house at the same time. She lived a 1/2 mile away from one of the boat launches on the Colorado River so the water toys stayed at her house. I was just there to hook up the boat, en route to Lake Havasu City, Arizona for a Spring Break weekend. Uncle Bud and Aunt Mic were in town to celebrate their high school reunion. I think it was their 60th - 60th anything is impressive! When I arrived, Uncle Buddy was re-icing their ice chest, it was packed full of meat! I said “that sure is a lot of meat!” Uncle Bud said “Arts, we used to bring three full ice chests. Last time we did this we only brought two. The group just keeps dying, this is our first year with only one ice chest and I think we bought too much.” He laughed a little and said “guess I’m next to go!” He was gone seven days later. But before he left, I got to hear the submarine story one last time.

There was a stint during World War II where my Grandfather; a Submariner and Electrical Engineer in the US Navy, was parked on the ocean floor for 40 days (5n1/2 weeks) in a submarine without power, without lights, without running water, without anything. He described explosions going off all around them, persistently, from enemy fire. As a child into my adult years I was always captivated when my Grandfather, later my Grandmother, would tell me that story. They had both been gone for several years when I made it to my mothers house that spring break weekend but Uncle Buddy was there, he knows the story! It had been about 10 years since I’d last heard it so I sat him down at the table: “Uncle Buddy, how long was it again that Grandpa was on the ocean floor during World War II?”

D68B31FD-F0A2-4EEC-86D1-373732B7ABF6.jpeg
source
The Appendix Of My Grandfather

40 days! That’s a long time to believe you’ve just breathed your last breath - I can’t fathom it. I can’t imagine going four days without a shower nonetheless 40. Now multiply that by the 100-200 Navy Service Men and Women trapped together inside that motionless, air-tight vessel. My Grandfather and all of his shipmates went 40 days without anything - Anything.

They were in the middle of The Pacific Ocean during World War II and their submarine was spotted by a Japanese Destroyer. Instantly they were under attack and began taking fire. They submerged and de energized all of the submarine’s electrical capacity before finally reaching the ocean floor at the speed of a sinking ship. The enemy Destroyer circling above them has all of the technology the 1940’s has to offer for pin-pointing the exact location of that United States Submarine. The only way to avoid detection is to hide. That meant park on the depths of the ocean floor without any source of energy that can be detected by the ships above. No lights, no movement, no talking, no running water, nothing. They were instructed to breathe at a rationed rate:

DF510622-84D6-4B6C-949D-56E1D7245526.jpeg
source

No showers. No meal cooking. No talking, nothing. A couple hundred service members trapped inside a submarine for 40 days and the act of flushing the toilet could mean life or death and voted unanimously not worth the risk of being detected. Nothing, other than breathing, was allowed while they were down there. That was the only World War II story my Grandfather ever told.

For 5 and 1/2 weeks the only activity that submarine encountered was at night and it was for a short period of time. From what I can remember my Grandfather explaining to me, they would resurface at night when it was less likely they’d be seen, just long enough to capture sufficient oxygen to sustain the entire crew for the next 24 hours. I don’t remember asking how long that procedure would take but as soon as the sub was reloaded with air, they would submerge back to the ocean floor and pray they weren’t detected.

Uncle Buddy said “Did your Grandpa ever tell you why they didn’t spend that 41 days down there?” I shook my head ‘no?’ He continued, “On the 40th day, they risked being killed so they could retreat back to Pearl Harbor. Your Grandpa’s appendix burst and if they didn’t get him to the hospital in Hawaii right away, he would have died.” I’ve never heard this story! I was looking forward to a repeat of the submarine story but Uncle Buddy is about to tell me a brand new one - A 70 plus year old story that, until that day, stayed between two brothers:

209FF50F-FE05-450F-8B1F-DEA933D8FE82.jpeg
source

He told me the story Grandpa never told anyone else. Uncle Buddy said “oh he didn’t tell anybody this one.” On day 40 aboard that submarine, while parked on the ocean floor, my Grandfather’s appendix burst. It was life threatening. The commander of the submarine made the decision to start the engines and b-line for Hawaii - “Stat!” They took fire from enemy ships but managed to escape safely to Pearl Harbor. My Grandfather was then placed on a gurney, removed from his submarine, rushed to a nearby helicopter that was waiting for him and flown to the hospital for emergency surgery.

Medical professionals were successful in the operating room and my Grandfather’s life was saved that day. He was in recovery the next morning. His healing time was calculated and he expected to return to duty with his shipmates within 72 hours. The news he received the following morning changed everything:

A426185E-4DAC-42A9-9B41-9B0BF940B7C4.jpeg
source

His submarine suffered an attack shortly after they docked at Pearl Harbor the previous day. My Grandfather was the only survivor of that sub, thanks only to the emergency removal of a ruptured appendix. He narrowly escaped catastrophe by merely requiring an immediate life-threatening surgery. My Grandfather woke up in the recovery room only to be told “your surgery was a success, you’re in recovery. Every.single.one of your shipmates is dead.”

Nope. Negative. Grandpa never talked about that one. It’s a lot clearer to me now why he didn’t talk about World War II. I’m surprised those 40 days were such a popular conversation. My Grandfather carried that memory with him the remaining 74 years of his life, and as far as I know, his brother is the only person he ever told. I’m glad I got it out of him that weekend. God bless you brothers!

Well, Appendix, thank you! Thanks for nearly taking my Grandfather’s life that day, had it not been for you, I wouldn’t be putting this post together right now. An entire world of things would be nonexistent. My Grandfather lived to have five children, nine grand children, two great grand children at the time of his passing and I wouldn’t be celebrating Memorial Day like this had it not been for you, Appendix.

FA26F0E4-105A-4B36-945B-FB78BFF9B2D0.jpeg
RIP coolest Grandparents ever

Happy Memorial Day! God bless everyone who is and is not reading this, I hope ya’all are having the best holiday weekend ever. Many flags are proudly flying around this planet of ours today and it’s Memorial Day there, too. So regardless of your geographical location right now and regardless of your political views, color, sex, language, religion, net worth, status and every other self identifier I failed to mention - From the coastline of Los Angeles, California USA:

800F3C9E-68F0-4DB6-BEC2-33B579DA05FA.jpeg

5B080B61-55FA-4BBC-9A7F-BD96A9177CE4.jpeg
Creative Commons Attribution
BY 4.0

Sort:  

The first time I saw my father cry was when he told me of the time that the PC boat, on which he was a crew member, dropped a depth charge onto an enemy submarine. He said that most of time they would drop their ordinance into the sea with no indication that a target had been hit, but in this instance the bodies of enemy sailors began rising to the surface . My dad told me that he felt as if he had personally contributed to their death.

I only heard him tell this story one time. Once was enough to illustrate the sorrow that remained for those fallen men...enemies yet now respected.

I am a veteran of the Viet Nam War era. I remain grateful that my duties in service did not lead me into direct battle, but the stigma of involvement in military operations continues to lurk in the shadow of memories.

I will always hold a place in my heart for all men and women who were thrust into battle. The devastation that they witnessed and endured is now reduced to our own recollection of the stories that they told us. We are now the ones left to speak for them.

God chose to spare your grandfather and thus provide an avenue for your existence. Although we never personally met, your grandpa impacted my life through the love that he shared with you. I vividly recall when you told me of his passing, how I felt that love. I hoped that someday I might share the same love with grandchildren of my own.

We're told that God works in mysterious ways. Your story once more proves the point. Today is a good time to memorialize the gifts we've been given and the lives that we're so fortunate to have.

Thanks for sharing a bit of your story! I hope you don't get too much haunted with the shadows of these lurking memories, everything about war is for me unnatural to man, and would change anyone involved.
We are just mere pawns on a chessboard, and our lives have little importance to those in power.
Nothing new here !
I guess the main difference between before and now , is that our fathers and forefathers were faithful individuals, to their countries, their companies, their ideals. I can't commit to a country really, and the longest I've ever committed to a company was Steemit :)

Happy Memorial Day!

I don’t know how I missed this comment until now. Very well written Ed.

Dude, I can’t commit to a country either. I haven’t actually, ya, they branded me before I even open my F’ing eyes but I’m not committed.

I’m a retired Union Member so I can’t say Steemit is my longest tenure with a company but as of right now.. I’m preprared to make that happen.

"I’m a retired Union Member so I can’t say Steemit is my longest tenure with a company but as of right now.. I’m preprared to make that happen." I see it more as a personal investment than working for a company! There are other platform giving incentive now

Man.. If you find yourself spending more time somewhere else one of these days and you think it’s a beneficial place for someone like me, keep me posted.

There's Sola but I haven't really tried it yet !

Hey dude, thanks for taking the time to write that response. I know I’m speaking on behalf of everyone who read it, “well done!”

Eh I sent this post to another Wireman Brother of ours who’s also retired and former Submariner. I thought of all ya’all military members in my phone as soon as I posted it. He texted me back:
“Thanks for sharing the story of your Grand dads story with me, it reminds me of the time we went two weeks without a shower.”

Happy Memorial Day @carklevicci

Edit: As for the relationship between you and your grandkids, mission accomplished.

I don’t know how I missed this comment until now. Very well written Ed.

Dude, I can’t commit to a country either. I haven’t actually, ya, they branded me before I even open my F’ing eyes but I’m not committed.

I’m a retired Union Member so I can’t say Steemit is my longest tenure with a company but as of right now.. I’m preprared to make that happen.

amazing post.

I’m really glad you think so @msjanny, thanks a lot for stopping by and leaving a comment. Enjoy the rest of your week!

Simply captivating!! Wow, the captain risked it all the save one man. Then only that one man remained.
My great grandfather never talked to me much about WWII but then again they always lived a long ways away from us. I’m sure just like yours he had a few stories he took to the grave with him.
Thanks for sharing such an amazing story
God Bless you @dandays
@curateme

Hey God bless you, too, my brother! Happy Memorial Day. I really appreciate the kind words sir, really. I didn’t take posting this story for granted, I worked pretty hard on it for quite a few hours in attempt to do it justice.

You did an amazing job, I starting seeing myself trapped in a steel container at the bottom of the ocean not being able to even fart. 😉 Praying to God I make it out alive. I couldn’t image the stench. 🤮🤮

That is a crazy thing, it is understood that these people are trained for survival and improvisation that is possible, but 40 days? I imagine that the people next to him besides the cold and the fear, will have experienced any type of emotions and feelings.

It’s an incredible story huh?!? When you see content you like, it’s customary to show appreciation with an upvote… try it out, it won’t hurt! ✌️

Definitely a memory that sticks with you. I think about that story often, different scenarios are constantly playing out in my mind. Thanks a lot for stopping by @gustavoadolfodca

Every time you get me captivated with your words, this is something rare as my attention span is very short when it's not music related...
Funny story (not so funny), my grand father was a para trooper during the Indochine War, and received a bomb shard in his leg, and rushed to a nearby hospital while his entire squad got killed at The Battle Of Dien Bien Phu

How many of us are alive and thriving today, thanks to a burst appendix or a bomb shard?

First, thank you! This is all new to me so I greatly appreciate honest feedback. Thanks! I’ll continue to practice.

Your grandfather story. How’fa king weird is that?! What’s next? You’re a green eyed Virgo?! Hey and thanks for the link, this is the first time I’ve heard about that battle.

My sister is a green eyed virgo !
"thanks for the link" don't mention!

Fun fact:
Your sister and I make up less than 2% of the world’s population.

I had something funny then "poof" it's gone , I'll get back to it in a short minute !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68433.35
ETH 3735.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66