You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Appendix Of My Grandfather

in #memorial-day6 years ago

The first time I saw my father cry was when he told me of the time that the PC boat, on which he was a crew member, dropped a depth charge onto an enemy submarine. He said that most of time they would drop their ordinance into the sea with no indication that a target had been hit, but in this instance the bodies of enemy sailors began rising to the surface . My dad told me that he felt as if he had personally contributed to their death.

I only heard him tell this story one time. Once was enough to illustrate the sorrow that remained for those fallen men...enemies yet now respected.

I am a veteran of the Viet Nam War era. I remain grateful that my duties in service did not lead me into direct battle, but the stigma of involvement in military operations continues to lurk in the shadow of memories.

I will always hold a place in my heart for all men and women who were thrust into battle. The devastation that they witnessed and endured is now reduced to our own recollection of the stories that they told us. We are now the ones left to speak for them.

God chose to spare your grandfather and thus provide an avenue for your existence. Although we never personally met, your grandpa impacted my life through the love that he shared with you. I vividly recall when you told me of his passing, how I felt that love. I hoped that someday I might share the same love with grandchildren of my own.

We're told that God works in mysterious ways. Your story once more proves the point. Today is a good time to memorialize the gifts we've been given and the lives that we're so fortunate to have.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing a bit of your story! I hope you don't get too much haunted with the shadows of these lurking memories, everything about war is for me unnatural to man, and would change anyone involved.
We are just mere pawns on a chessboard, and our lives have little importance to those in power.
Nothing new here !
I guess the main difference between before and now , is that our fathers and forefathers were faithful individuals, to their countries, their companies, their ideals. I can't commit to a country really, and the longest I've ever committed to a company was Steemit :)

Happy Memorial Day!

I don’t know how I missed this comment until now. Very well written Ed.

Dude, I can’t commit to a country either. I haven’t actually, ya, they branded me before I even open my F’ing eyes but I’m not committed.

I’m a retired Union Member so I can’t say Steemit is my longest tenure with a company but as of right now.. I’m preprared to make that happen.

"I’m a retired Union Member so I can’t say Steemit is my longest tenure with a company but as of right now.. I’m preprared to make that happen." I see it more as a personal investment than working for a company! There are other platform giving incentive now

Man.. If you find yourself spending more time somewhere else one of these days and you think it’s a beneficial place for someone like me, keep me posted.

There's Sola but I haven't really tried it yet !

Hey dude, thanks for taking the time to write that response. I know I’m speaking on behalf of everyone who read it, “well done!”

Eh I sent this post to another Wireman Brother of ours who’s also retired and former Submariner. I thought of all ya’all military members in my phone as soon as I posted it. He texted me back:
“Thanks for sharing the story of your Grand dads story with me, it reminds me of the time we went two weeks without a shower.”

Happy Memorial Day @carklevicci

Edit: As for the relationship between you and your grandkids, mission accomplished.

I don’t know how I missed this comment until now. Very well written Ed.

Dude, I can’t commit to a country either. I haven’t actually, ya, they branded me before I even open my F’ing eyes but I’m not committed.

I’m a retired Union Member so I can’t say Steemit is my longest tenure with a company but as of right now.. I’m preprared to make that happen.

amazing post.

I’m really glad you think so @msjanny, thanks a lot for stopping by and leaving a comment. Enjoy the rest of your week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46