Silverfish

in #memoir7 years ago

many.jpg

My mother taught me how to entertain, to be a courtesan and, to court conversations, to raise the dead like Lazarus; who says that's not motherly! My days in rooms, in conversations, have all been received well and I rewarded for my Art.
My fathers were Daddy's tha† served a purpose, hard hand to the ass and stern warnings, distaste for the freedom my mother found in her dance and stories, in her slowly disappearing ways.
My life is ever new, evergreen. I am not that child seeking to escape, or the girl wishing under the black nothingness of night, or the lover lost to a call from the waves just round the next turn.
I'm seeping into the mist, or the next breeze, perhaps that hidden spring deep in the wood where the Fey dwells. I'm the earth, the sparkle of a star, the hissing of a kitten or, the last gasp of a dying thought.
Is there ever a One just out of reach, a sacred Other, another to come and truly be there, here? Can I find you, my Soul, my Spirit, my Love and light, or is this all a found something that is actually nothing...
But when I put on some fringe, a long dress and boots it's better, I'm better and, ready to walk
Away,
Again,
Like my mother taught me.

Sort:  

I love the imagery. I guess a memoir should feel "intimate," though I've never really thought about when I write. I love this style though it's very captivating.

Thank you dear @clayboyn. It's so moody out here in the pacific northwest of late which always inspires me to ​ reflect back. I do love memoir done through a poetic lense, for some reason it feels more wispy, as memory really is, even the vivid hard stuff.

Thank you for always being so supportive and kind, I truly value you. :)

@mamdini your honest and open reflections of identity are confessed with affirmation and vivid symbolism. I love the mystical, fairytale-like quality of memories with reference to wilderness and nature as a metaphor. A midnight blue bedtime story <3

Ahhhh, JP. It's been a rather reflective season, more so than usual and all this is pouring out of me -- the good ol' tick-tock and dark days do take ​me deeper inward. <3

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Niish (mamadini at steemit) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82