Through the Viewfinder - Daily Memento

in #memento7 years ago

I found an interesting movement by @macchiata and decided to go for it. The post is here if any of you are interested.

-x-

1.jpg

That is a snap of my beloved Nikon D3200 - it seems like a light (weight-wise, not really) thing but I just managed to get this camera last June 2017. I found it in an online market as a secondhand, the previous owner took care of it so well. It took most of my savings-- I treated it as a gift to myself for reaching my second year at work then.

I loved it the first time I saw the sample pictures it took and the item itself.

I've always been fond of capturing the moment into photograph/s. At this age where a good cellphone can yield the same results, I wanted something else in my goal of finding a camera: one that will let me take shots even from a distance.

This is why I agreed for the different paired lends-- a 70-300mm lens attachment rather than the standard 50mm. Call it a bit of laziness or sniping, I found myself happier because I can capture moments from any distance.

At any distance except super close ones... sighs, everything has drawbacks but that's life).

To date, it's been with me for 7 main events of my life this year (a music festival, a date to a dog cafe, a reunion with college friends, a general assembly, a cosplay convention, an afternoon with my family and a special day for me at work), and has yielded me valuables beyond money.

I'd like to recall them but-- I would dedicate this post to my dearest gear. And if I recall such close memories, I might get sick of them so easily!

It sounds terrifyingly materialistic as I go along with this post- but bear with me. I do not have a high end enough hone to take shots as I would have be satisfied. I bring around a gear in a separate bag and struggle lugging it from places, battling between stuffing it and hoping for the best, praying it won't get lost or just stuck forever in my hands til my arms tire of carrying their weight.

They're all memories-- good and bad-- and no I don't capture these moments, a photographer deals with those things with themselves behind the scenes just to bring the best to people they want to take shots of.

One day, I wont have as sharp memory as this time, or I won't be able to see the world in full color-- or I'll be away from all these friends and family-- or I'm not even capable of remembering this thing or event that happened. Isn't it wonderful to now it will still exist, even if I may no longer recognize it?

I'd like to capture more people, more events, more places. I hope it will still be there with me. It is a futile wish, I know-- something of this size and price would have long made people in danger of just possessing them.

It may be a technical or fortuitous event that brings it out of action.

Just-- right now, I want to savor the life and save the shots.

The world I see when I am behind these lens-- I'm glad I captured it.
And if you have seen some of my shots and enjoy them, then I'm glad you could see the world the way I have see it.

PS. If you are curious of my photography work, please visit the following:
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pagingp3paula/
Wordpress: https://p3paula.wordpress.com/

Thank you for bearing with me through this post.

Sort:  

Time is constantly escaping us. I was having a conversation with my mother about how people don't really get pictures printed anymore, they kind of just keep them in their phones. Definitely would like more printed. I need the physical memory.

Yes~ I restarted making those photo albums and carefully selected at least 5 shots that I would like to see formalized in print-- they may seem like clutter, but something about holding them and seeing them tangible brings a sense pf nostalgia and amazement~ thank you for understanding n.n

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

thanks <3 lucky <3

Beautiful story and I would say this is not materialistic at all! I know you are talking about a camera, but we all know you are not talking about the camera....
#cof

ahahaha~ that is one way to put it ^^ thanks red XD

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @p3paula to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Don't forget to check out the sponsored writing contest! 125 SBD in prizes!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54960.01
ETH 2314.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32