Lilac trees (daily memento)

in #memento7 years ago

z1-forum.libelle.nl-Lilac.jpg
Source; forum.libelle.nl

When I was a young boy, living with my parents, I didn’t have a very nice youth.
Being the son af a German father who worked at a brewery, I was raised by an alcoholic maniac. As long as he wasn’t loaded yet, I could handle him, but as soon as the boose started working, the man got agressive. He drank it like water, but he couldn’t handle more than four to five glasses. After that amount, his head became shortwired.
We saw it in his eyes, and we heard it when he spoke. It was the time to be very carefull, cause his hands were quicker than I could handle. My mother was the one recieving the beating. It happened several times a day.
It wasn’t just once that I found my mom laying on the floor, bleeding and being half unconsious. My dad went straight to bed after he did his job, and when he woke up, he was sober and acted like nothing happened. I could never understand that.
When he started beating up my mom, my sister took me upstairs and sat with me in a closet. She held her hands over my ears, so I wouldn’t hear the sound of screaming and beating. I still can’t stand people screaming at eachother or a man beating a woman, it makes me sick. Literally.
During the day, to avoid being my fathers trigger, I often was in the garden, where two big Lilac trees were blooming during spring and they bloomed during the Summer. One of them was white, and the other one was purple.
The smell of the lilacs still makes me calm, and when I look at them I go back to a time where I had to hide between the Lilactrees in my paren’ts backyard. I decided, when I met my girlfriend and she’s now my wife, I would never be like my dad, and that my kids would never have to be afraid or hide like I had to. Sometimes, at some moments, I feel like hiding myself though, with all this agression going on in the world.

Wouldn’t have guessed that from a horror writer, did you?

Sort:  

Well carlschrijft that';s a sad story but an uplifting one. Not only have you found happiness despite all that background, but you realise that you can move on. try to think positively from now on, dwelling on the past creates negative waves and you want a positive aura around you. I'm not someone who knows about these things professionally, I just know them because I'm old! I loved your lilac tree picture, wonderful and we had one too, but I am lucky, I have only happy memories. Good luck on Steemit and let us know how you get on, we're a community here. Happy Steeming!

I go on fine. I came over it when I met my wife. I couldn't be happier. Had a strange life, never a dull moment, lol. The biggest advantage of being toughened by youth, is that you can handle life more easy. Everything will come to an end, good and bad times. So get through the tough times and enjoy the good ones ;)

Wise beyond your years! Glad to hear it. Carry on enjoying.

I'm not that young anymore ;)

But you're young at heart like me. Happy Steeming!

In fact you are as old as you feel like ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carlschrijft to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61757.84
ETH 2985.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48