The Old Dog Says: Be Like Shakespeare And Have Pun! Meme Challenge 4 Entry 3

in #memechallenge7 years ago (edited)

My Final Entry in The Meme Challenge Focuses on Puns!

What is a Pun?

A pun is a joke that plays with words. Puns are also called paronomasia and they use words that have several meanings or words that sound the same but have different meanings.

Paronamasia defined:

noun, Rhetoric.

the use of a word in different senses or the use of words similar in sound to achieve a specific effect, as humor or a dual meaning; punning.

William Shakespeare And Puns

Shakespeare's plays are full of puns. Many of them are difficult to "get" these days because the language has changed so much. Did you study Shakespeare at High School? I did and we needed a special dictionary to understand the old english.


What Are Some Examples of Puns?

  • She had a photographic memory but never developed it.
  • I was struggling to figure out how lightning works then it struck me.
  • I've been to the dentist many times so I know the drill. 
  • The other day I held the door open for a clown. I thought it was a nice jester.
  • With her marriage, she got a new name and a dress
  • A bicycle can't stand on its own because it is two-tired.
  • I went to a seafood disco last week... and pulled a mussel.
  • Two peanuts walk into a bar, and one was a-salted.
  • Did you hear about the guy who got his left side cut off? He is alright now.
  • When a clock is hungry it goes back four seconds

With Those Examples in Mind Here is My Last Challenge 4 Meme Entry!



I hope that you enjoyed these puns and my last entry in the contest!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Nice one! ...And even a better educational aspect to it too, thank you for both the smile and for the extra skills under my belt! ;)

Namaste :)

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thanks a bunch for the kindness Old Dog! All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Punished by punitive puns.

Yes indeed!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

gostei bem engraçado aprendi algo novo aqui em sua postagem

gracias por tu comentario

The umbrella blues

Enter it before someone steals it!

you think,hmmm.....

my goal is to earn 1 cent :-)

As of the moment of this comment.....
You've officially tripled your expectations!

Entered , Thanks ! 😂😆😇

Nice one Old Dog!

Thanks a lot!

Hey @kus-knee - you are right, i tripled my expectations but i have been there too but the rewards always went down from 0.03 to a first distribution of 0.00 - fingers crossed though - my bones are shivering

I think it is proven again I am not funny or that type of contest is not for me.... old bones to revert back to topic the bones know of @kus-knee

Hey man, you can still attract me with beer and sports!

thanks @kus-knee - Yeah better back to the roots - Beer post coming in 2 minutes - Sports also not running as i hoped but i need to be patient. Thanks for your support bone man, appreciated so much

@kus-knee where are you?
are you alright?
anyway I hope you're okay
I haven't seen you in a while

All is good. I haven't posted for a week or so but still commenting and curating.

@kus-knee okay that's good to know

Hah, that's a good one!

I usually avoid memes like the plague (bah, that's even the first time I used the actual word!), because there are so many bad ones. And also, I always feel the need to rebel against popular nonsense.

(I have to shamefully admit though, that I do enjoy one or two from time to time, but don't tell anyone...)

Thanks for your comment!

Pun for all... and all for pun!

I like a good pun :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92