Shedding /reflections after Samyama, silent meditation/steemCreated with Sketch.

in #meditation6 years ago

DSC_0402.jpg

One of the first days when I got to the ashram ( a spiritual hermitage if you are questioning 😊 ) I questioned myself why, why am I here.

Thoughts running through my head: It’s nowhere near as great as the ashram in India, it’s cold, I’ve invested so much money to come here and time to prepare and now I’m sleeping on the floor in meditation hall with hundreds of others.

Why couldn’t I just gone to some retreat in Mexico where I could sip superfood smoothies at an infinity pool and do yoga in fancy yoga leggings. But no, I chose a place where it’s cold, I have to literally wear 4 jumpers all the time and they all have to be white. Coming from Panama I didn’t realize how cold the ‘cold’ can be. So many doubts. So many questions. So many why am I here. Why not somewhere else. It’s not like I don’t know how to meditate, eh?!

And so I watched all these thoughts coming in and leaving my headspace, in and out, like recycling a big pile of garbage. And I just sat there. Just reminded myself to be. At one point, I think after a day or two in silence I realized it’s about destroying, about getting rid of the stuff not getting more into my garbage pile.

How can I ever have more space to observe what’s going on through my mind if I keep adding? If I keep adding new experiences, places, people, things. This wasn’t about adding, this was about cleaning the space. Destroying those compulsions that I’ve been running after. Destroying the want to be somewhere new all the time. Destroying the need to take another picture and post it. Peeling layers to get to the soul/source/myself, call it how you want it, but you know what I’m talking about.

When it’s just you and you, when there’s no one who observes you how much do you really need? Do you need your hair to be blonde and shiny? Do you need those new shoes and that super vegan fruit bowl in the newest brunch place in the town? No, you can sit in 4 layers of ugly jumpers, hurting knees and embrace how you have fooled yourself around.

So yes, shedding. Those layers. And don’t get me wrong, I love yoga leggings and healthy food and all that crazy unicorn lifestyle but I know it’s not the source and it can become an entanglement if we get too carried away in it. Watch yourself.

Sort:  

Fantastic post, thank you.
And so true, we really don't need to add any more wants, cravings or rubbish to the pile!
Where did you do your silent meditation?

Thanks for commenting ☺ I did it at Isha Yoga near Nashville, they've got two ashrams, one in India and the other one in the US. Have you heard of Sadhguru?

Love this question "How can I ever have more space to observe what’s going on through my mind if I keep adding?" Very good question. It's tougher than most will admit since adding the new is so embedded in us. Great post!

Thanks, Eric. Yes, important for sure to realize that and then apply it in our daily lives... Work in progress ☺

Congratulations @ommmsome! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @ommmsome! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53