Resistance to Meditating? Me Too!

in #meditation-challenge7 years ago (edited)

8CC27A6F-229B-439F-8B86-EA6A5EC0C28F.jpeg

For the past week I have been meditating in the morning and in the evening. I’ve been meaning to meditate for quite some time. I’ve felt the benefits of it in the past and I know it makes me palpably happier, clearer and more effective.

So why the resistance?

I definitely have some blocks to meditating. I can feel it in my body, like the drag as a plane lifts off. And, like a plane taking off requires a lot of fuel for that initial boost, I too must find the inner strength to keep going as I know it gets better once in the air. It helps that I set myself a challenge to get me going. Then once a plane is in the sky and new heights are reached, we are soaring along without as much effort.

So Ini and I set ourselves to do a 40 day challenge and the next day the #ecotrain started a #meditation-challenge. I would really encourage you to take part in the challenge and share your findings if you feel inspired! As the photo I posted above details, we all truly are walking each other home, pointing the way and finding strength in unity. Meditation becomes a lot easier when we’re surrounded by a group of likeminded effort, a sangha, and that’s what we’re creating: a digital sangha through the #meditation-challenge. It also helps to hear other people’s experience, challenges and even the fruit of their practice (check the tag to find everyone’s stories!).

53A7F38C-C1FB-439C-8B37-8002364F657E.jpeg

So beyond the resistance, what are my findings?

It gets easier each day.

In the beginning, my mind raced around with nary any space between thoughts. In those stages it’s a legitimate task to try to remember I’m meditating (haha!) because I keep getting sucked in to whatever thoughts I’m having!

At one point the first day I even almost got up to do something I was thinking about because I had forgot I was meditating! Lol!!

For me, it is essential to not be hard on myself when I notice these moments or when I get sucked into thinking and don’t notice I’m far down a thought train before I pull myself back. I’ve heard it talked about like riding a horse, a thought horse, and when the horse veers off the path we gently lead him back. It does no good to struggle with the horse or be hard on the horse, just to gently and consistently return to the trail and say something like, “good horsey, let’s keep meditating...” Likewise, return to the breath and keep trying.

We are also doing a 15 minute mantra prior to meditating in the mornings and evenings. To be honest, up until last night which was the first time I felt like I was really grooving with the mantra, it has felt like a chore- one that I’ve resisted and put off. So I’ve had to give myself treats (if we meditate we can do X). It is like bribing a kid in some ways.

But the funny part is: I usually feel better after the process! Slowly I am integrating that feedback loop into my being. Hopefully soon I’ll look forward to the time to meditate ;) until then, I’ll just keep with it! That’s the blessing of making a commitment to practice!

Some days are easy and others more of a challenge, but we meditate anyway!

One thing I do know from experience is that it gets easier the more we do it. A week in, I already see this, although not to the extent I have in the past. When I’ve meditated many hours a day, I’ve gotten to the point of feeling very thankful and happy for the meditation and look forward to it! The mind gets clearer, what I call a basic human happiness at being comes to the fore, and we start to see ourselves and our habit patterns (whether action or thought) unfold before us.

BDE3F20E-1E64-4776-80EC-08B00929BE97.jpeg

For me, one that comes up is control. I definitely have an attachment to control! It seems to boil down to attachment to the moment or what I think the moment should be.

When I do feel myself in the moment and let’s say I am enjoying it, there’s then a subtle sadness that that moment is then moving on. When I am not having what I deem a good moment, I then want nothing less than to move on as quickly as possible. But truly there is no escape from what is happening in whatever moment.

We cannot hold on to life and we cannot control life.

Meditation, in my experience, elucidates these two poles. It’s human nature it seems to get away from discomfort. We are pleasure seeking animals. But what if the constant pursuit of pleasure and happiness actually makes us less happy? Is there peace in that pursuit? Who even has peace as a goal anymore anyway?

Meditation gives us the space to see our desire to get away from the moment, to always be pursuing something and that, at base, this pursuit takes us away from what is Now.

And in the end that’s all we have.

That’s all for today. We’ll both be elucidating our experience at it happens along these 40 days. It is truly a blessing for me to be able to process and share this. It is my healing work and to have a place to share that is very beneficial.

As mentioned earlier, feel encouraged to participate in the #meditation-challenge if you want to- or even in the 40 day challenge we are doing. Blessings!

much love @mountainjewel

F063C4A4-9C5D-4B16-AE0E-A4DBA5743EBC.jpeg

Check out #ecotrain for more posts by members of the grooviest train on steemit!!

Sort:  

"We're all just walking each other home..." thanks for reminding me of this marvellous quote, it is humbles me and speaks truth to my heart..

Meditation gives us the space to see our desire to get away from the moment, to always be pursuing something and that, at base, this pursuit takes us away from what is Now.

Yess!! I totally see that, thanks for the reminder!!

wonderful to read about your experiences, I relate to many of them.. especially with getting started, and then it gets easier when we're in the air.. haha!

amazing, meditation can teach us so much! for me this week a great learning is that meditation is like sky-diving or cliff-diving, you have to take the plunge and the mind needs to let go of itself, it's quite scary, but then when it truly surrenders, it's like falling down with an endless waterfall.. or just floating on top of a still lake.. and every thought creates ripples, like little pebbles thrown by a noisy kid.. hehe.. been getting loads of visuals during my meditations recently and it's really cool because before I used to think I'm not a visual person, more of a feeler.. it turns out that my imagery can be quite powerful and carry many meanings!

what mantra do you use?

lots of love @mountainjewel eco-train brother.. <3

aw cool! I especially love this

but then when it truly surrenders, it's like falling down with an endless waterfall.. or just floating on top of a still lake.. and every thought creates ripples, like little pebbles thrown by a noisy kid.

;)

this post was actually written by me, wren , a lady ;) it can probably be confusing for everyone because we both post to this account and also both comment on everyone's posts!! lol! which one will you get? haha :)

thanks for your great comment! we use the gayatri mantra, which is proving to be very powerful.. yesterday i felt my third eye dazzlingly and poignantly opening! woohoo, these are powerful tools! XO much love! (and yes, love that quote!!)

i also do the gayatri 108 times.. it IS my favourite! i actually sing it slowly at first with this SHruti app on the key of D and then speed up as I go... Its something SO powerful that the effects last ALL day an are REALLY noticeable in every way.. I will of course journal this soon!

YES going to try this!! <3

Its something SO powerful that the effects last ALL day an are REALLY noticeable in every way..

Looking forward to your journal about it ;) XO

oh, so nice to connect with you Wren! I read about you in a previous post and saw your lovely face. Beautiful that you guys share the same account. You have a very strong bond, I appreciate your love and togetherness. I love the gayatri mantra, it was actually the very first mantra I ever learnt. We have a lot in common, guys! Hope to meet you one day in person <3

Hope to meet you one day too @bristena94!! <3 ~~~thanks for your kind words~~~~<3

Great to read this mountainjewel! I can SO relate to much of what you said.. and YES I also nearly got up in the middle of it to do something.. but i stopped myself and finished the practice!

its great that you are chanting also, that can be SO powerful,. but we do have to bring up those deep feelings whilst we do it. What works for me, and you might try it, is to download a Shruti App and play a tone with it as you chant. That takes it to the next level for me and I can get really into it that way..

Keep going! You can't do it wrong, Im totally with you also!
<3

Alex, thanks for the App pointer! I think that will greatly help us! I got a youtube gayatri mantra to sing along with one night and that was really fun, i think we'd be benefited from keeping to a certain tone. YAY!

Thanks for your comment :) So excited to be doing this all together, it feels really powerful and supportive. You and @likedeeler rock for generating the #ecotrain and keeping it fueled and chugging along all this time :D XO

yes doing this together is actually giving more support than I had imagined.. its surprising how much it helps to share and be witnessed whilst doing it.. Phewph this was A goood idea, i am meditating!!!!

U might try the app without any other input also.. that way you wont have an issue with the key / note being different, and you can find and change pace as you go.. i like to step it up and down.. but maybe you like a constant pace..

love &light!

thanks Alex <3 i'll check it out - good to know a few of the options before i get into it.

its surprising how much it helps to share and be witnessed whilst doing it

feeling it too !! ^^ <3

I need to get myself meditating... I have in the past when my oldest was at school but since the wee one came along I haven't made the time! I'm sure I'll get back to it when he's a little older :)
Hope your challange goes well and that you achieve your goal <3

Thank you @amymya for your wishes!.. you're not alone in the challenges kids bring along, i've heard this from a lotta mamas... hoping you get some meditating in too if the moment is right :)

It isn't easy to sit still inside ourselves. I don't meditate in the traditional ways. Since i was a child, I found peace staring out the window. lol

no it isn't, but as you say, i've always had a more natural time at it doing in when it naturally comes up- staring out of windows is always great :D! for me, being in nature is an automatic way, but as i'm not always in nature and still want a more open/still mind, i need to meditate :) Xo

I prefer dancing, the active meditation rather then sitting still for hours! When I meditate in the classical way, I see how it helps me afterwards, I mostly do it when I am angry (which is not so rarely when raising kids :)) ). But now when I meditate, I don't try to stop my thoughts - i just observe the positions the face is making and all the body movement and the reactions. The thoughts go away and the body takes the control when I meditate. So for me is not about sitting still. Is just making the mind still and the subconscious me express the pain outside.
How long do u manage to meditate? Indeed it gets easier! If u will persevere, if might get pleasant also! (little probable :)) )

Yes ~~~~<3 I like what you say about doing it active in life and not necssarily sitting down to meditate. I find both are helpful and i think a little regime can be good! my life is naturally unstructured so it's up to me to bring the structure so i find that helpfuL!

each morning for 15 mantra then 15 meditation and same in evening :) and yes, looking forward to those pleasant times ( i have had some already ;) ) ... i've meditated for days straight before (at meditation retreats) and i have to say i love it!

The beginning of this post has been my experience to the letter. Practice and perseverance are key in all pursuits. It reminds me of a video iv seen, of a monk talking about taming your monkey mind. I think that i might revisit it.
I find this post to be very relatable and inspirational.
Subarashii (SMOKE BOMB!)

great to hear from you @offgridninja!

Practice and perseverance are key in all pursuits.

YESS^^^ glad you found it relateable AND inspirational :)

I love this. I love the image of guiding the horse back to the trail gently. My biggest issue is getting to bed early so that I can meditate before the kids get up. Otherwise, it's over. I have been listening to a guided Yoga Nidra recording as I fall asleep each night and I definitely feel better in the morning when I do it, but yeah, I really need to get to bed earlier. 😉 Thanks for this post.

MMMmmm thanks.. yeah it is so much better to be gentle with ourselves, otherwise i find i might rebel more (just like the horse! LOL).. nice i like Yoga Nidra and glad you're getting some time before the kids get up! my mom is a wonderwoman and when we were young she would go for a run almost every day before 5 am! blows my mind the things moms do! yall are wonderful <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72