Who Are you? Understanding MBTI

in #mbti7 years ago (edited)

received_519111258454097.jpeg MBTI stands for Myers Briggs (Personality) Type Indicator. I would say it is the most famous personality test of all time and is used by psychologists, businesses, and individuals all the time. I'm certainly not the foremost expert on the subject but I will try and break it down for you. Calling MBTI a personality test is a bit misleading because it goes much deeper than that. What it really does is identify how your brain works. human-head-silhouette-thinking-man-with-cogwheel-creativity-concept-vector-illustration_1284-3005.jpg First your result is broken down into four basic characteristics. E/I (extrovert or introvert), S/N (sensing or intuition), F/T (feeling or thinking), and P/J (percieving or judging). The potential four letter combinations equate to sixteen different possible personalities. For example, my test results usually are infp: I'm introverted, intuitive, feeling, and percieving. It doesn't stop there though. Behind each four letter combination is our "functional stack". This is where how our brain works comes in. Some people think MBTI is rubbish but studies have shown that brain scans of each personality type are similar to each other and different from those who have a different personality type.

There are eight different functions. Four of them are used primarily. Our first function is our main function or our pilot, the second our auxiliary or "co-pilot", the third I'll call the flight attendant (no real power but helpful), and the fourth is like the well intentioned but immature little kid on the plane that tries to do the right thing but, well he/she's's a kid. As you grow and learn throughout your life your co-pilot becomes more skilled, your flight attendant takes less breaks and the little kid matures a bit. Have I lost you yet? That's ok I'll keep going anyway. 😉

Here are each of the functions and their symbols, and a quick explanation:
fe: extraverted feeling...sociable, harmonizing, people networking
fi: introverted feeling...a cacophony of nuanced and internalized feelings (since internalized it can come off as aloof to others)
te: extraverted thinking... organization and management of one's outer life and environment (and other people)
ti: introverted thinking... internalized thoughts, (little to no feels), outwardly measured
se: extraverted sensing...experiencing and interacting with one's world around them along with all five senses.
si: introverted sensing...the intake and storage of one's experience with life, and all five senses, remembering and evaluating internally
ne: extraverted intuition... creativity in action, seemingly unrelated thoughts and ideas being connected together to reveal a constellation.
ni: a Zen-like boiling down to the truth of thoughts and ideas and what they percieve around them. "A-ha" moments.
man-and-women-head-thinking-in-daily-life-icons_23-2147492037.jpg

These are the four main functions of each type:
ESTJ: te>si>ne>fi
ENTJ: te>ni>se>fi
ISTJ: si>te>fi>ne
INTJ: ni>te>fi>se
ESTP: se>ti>fe>ni
ENTP: ne>ti>fe>si
ISTP: ti>se>ni>fe
INTP: ti>ne>si>fe
ESFP: se>fi>te>ni
ENFP: ne>fi>te>si
ISFP: fi>se>ni>te
INFP: fi>ne>si>te
ESFJ: fe>si>ne>ti
ENFJ: fe>ni>se>ti
ISFJ: si>fe>ti>ne
INFJ: ni>fe>ti>se

I feel that knowledge of mbti can transform relationships and give us a better understanding of the people in our world, whether it be at the workplace, at home, with our children, our spouses, ect. Here's a link to a free test you can take online! http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/jtypes2.asp

I'd like to get to know you more! 🙂 So tell me a little bit about yourself. What was your result?

Sort:  

My Result

INTJ
Introvert(60%) iNtuitive(9%) Thinking(22%) Judging(9%)
You have distinct preference of Introversion over Extraversion (60%)
You have slight preference of Intuition over Sensing (9%)
You have slight preference of Thinking over Feeling (22%)
You have slight preference of Judging over Perceiving (9%)

Thanks for stopping by and reading my article! Did you know mbti is also used in the movie industry and the supervillains and masterminds are usually intjs? You holding a contest like that proves otherwise though (even though I didn't win). ;)

Upvoted (100%) and Resteemed by @venuspcs.

Want your post to get more attention then check out my Upvote, Resteem & Promote Services!

Loading...

Wow. I'm insanely intrigued by the brain and how it works, and also its connection to the body, the soul and the mind. Can you imagine that each and every experience in this world, even the ones we may have forgotten but our subconscious hasn't, has shaped us into the "type" of personality we may be categorized as. I feel slightly ashamed to say I forgot what mine was but I ran the test:

ENFP
Extravert(59%) iNtuitive(56%) Feeling(50%) Perceiving(47%)
You have distinct preference of Extraversion over Introversion (59%)
You have moderate preference of Intuition over Sensing (56%)
You have moderate preference of Feeling over Thinking (50%)
You have moderate preference of Perceiving over Judging (47%)

I too am intrigued by how the brain works, but I can't say I've studied the subject as much as you. When I read your post I thought you must be infp but I was one letter off haha. You're right, our soul or spirit and biological make-up, and all our experiences... remembered or not, shape us into our "type." Still our soul and spirit transcend it all. :)

You know what, I've always been bipolar about this - extravert, introvert. I really have never been able to decide. But you were quite on point. Yes, the broader perspective is only fair. <3

As soon as I saw the title of this post, I knew I had to click on it and read it. I'm an MBTI enthusiast, myself. Ever since I found out that I'm an INFJ, it was as if the entirety of my life suddenly fell into place and everything made sense. I suddenly felt comfort in knowing that despite feeling like a loner outcast my whole life, I was, in fact, not alone. Yes, INFJ is the rarest personality type around, especially the INFJ male, so it can feel like a lonely existence because you don't really see too many people like you around.

But man oh man did everything seriously make sense once I found out my type and started to really learn about the ins and outs of INFJs. And then I started to become curious about where my closest friends would fall on that spectrum, and my best friend, who I had suspected could be an INFJ as well, actually ended up being an INTJ. Learning about INTJ compared to INFJ really helped us to develop our relationship in a healthy and mutually understanding way, because now we know that when I'm talking about something I need to focus less on the feelings aspect of where I'm coming from and try to explain things from a more technical and logical point.

Great post, thanks for sharing information about MBTI types :)

When I read your comment I was so thrilled!! You are rare in fact I think I've only spoken to one infj in my entire life if he was even an infj! It must be lonely at times but in the mbti world you're the superstar!! :) I too, am a natural outcast of sorts although more so when I was younger. In fact I dropped out of high school (recently went back and got my GED) mainly because I had severe social anxiety due to not having the ability to relate and fit in with others. Learning about mbti was such a relief to me. I don't have extraverted feeling, it's just not there, and my extraverted thinking isn't very strong either. Functions like these are what makes the world turn so no wonder I felt so alone. I'm so glad you found mbti too and it helped you make sense of your life and the relationships with those close to you. :) I believe mbti appeals to Infps and infjs the most.

I'm hoping this article reaches more people who may feel like we did and it opens the door to understanding for them, but a whopping 19 people saw it in 10 hours haha! Ah well, the life of a minnow...

I've also used it to type those around me: my mom's isfj and I believe my husband is entj but he's a tough one to crack as he's taken a few tests and they come up different (definitely enxx though), I really wish I had a second opinion on what his type is haha!

Thanks for reading my article, I'm glad you liked it. :)

I hope it reaches more people, too! And yes, the life of a minnow....it can get discouraging at times, but don't let the numbers get you down! Try to keep in mind that you are on here to pursue your passions in life first and foremost, the money and visibility is just a nice added bonus that will come from your hard work. Are you involved in any of the communities on here? Like Minnow Support Project perhaps? That would be a great place to get some support for your posts and build great friendships and connections with other people who just want to see you succeed on here!

You're right, if I focus on my passions and supporting the community instead of the numbers, the rest will come along naturally. :) I can't say I've looked into the Minnow Support Project, but I definitely will! So far with this post I used a resteeming service (minnowpond) and dropped links in a couple of post promotion spots. It seemed to work with my last post but not so much with this one. Then again not too many people are interested in mbti...and considering the relatively small amount of people on Steemit compared to other social media sites.

I took a look at your blog and you are a very talented writer!! (That is obvious in your comments too.) I think over time you will find much success on this platform!! Also thank you for your words of encouragement, I truly appreciate them! It was nice meeting you!! :)

You should definitely come over to the MSP then, that will be such a huge help! Click here to join our Discord channel. Thank you so much for your kind words, it really means more to me than you know! I really appreciate your support. It was a pleasure meeting you! I look forward to seeing you grow as well on this platform!! Let's grow together on the Minnow Support Project :)

You're definitely on the right track with leaving well thought out and meaningful comments and replies on posts. That's the kind of content that gets noticed and upvoted ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by snowpea from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Like your Post. I am an INTJ with a very deep N and a Super T at scale blowing level.

Thank you!! Is it like being some kind of super Android? I can sense the power from here! ;)

N came with me at Birth, but I do have my own theory that it really depends on heavy neural linking and a massive memory.

I find this whole subject very interesting. Thanks for reading my article and telling me a little bit about yourself. :)

The T was developed by training and by not living in the physical world, but on the inners of my mind.

Looks like I´m a:

INTJ
Introvert(38%) iNtuitive(53%) Thinking(12%) Judging(16%)
You have moderate preference of Introversion over Extraversion (38%)
You have moderate preference of Intuition over Sensing (53%)
You have slight preference of Thinking over Feeling (12%)
You have slight preference of Judging over Perceiving (16%)
I knew I should have been a laywyer, but I´m an IT technical anyway so I´m still into a rational field.
Good test!

I always thought meeting an intj would be interesting and intriguing but I don't think I've ever met one as you are pretty rare! Thank you for taking the test and reading my article!! I'm glad you found it useful!! I just realized I didn't share my results at all:
INFP
Introvert(59%) iNtuitive(50%) Feeling(12%) Perceiving(3%)
You have distinct preference of Introversion over Extraversion (59%)
You have moderate preference of Intuition over Sensing (50%)
You have slight preference of Feeling over Thinking (12%)
You have marginal or no preference of Perceiving over Judging (3%)

Well, it is certainly interesting to be living as one. Imagine you play life like a strategy game, optimizing it and mastering the use of time and resources to degree most people can´t even fanthom... and then your intuitive side comes up and fucks it all up with feelings :P You quarrel with your intuitive side, and then you realize it saved you more times than you can count, and you make your peace with it too.
Ah, the eternal struggle.... we are regular unicorns huh? ;)

We are unicorns! It would be frustrating dealing with the internal struggle you have. You and I are different in this way though: your first two functions (introverted intuition and extraverted thinking) allow you to strategize and create order in your world...and though you wrestle with your introverted feeling, you are still highly functioning and efficient. I lead with introverted feeling (which is whereby I make judgements) and extraverted intuition, and since it's extraverted, I'm always imagining "what about this, what if that." And I wrestle with extraverted thinking...that little kid trying to create order to my life. I'm better now as I do have five children to take care of and a household to run, but it's still frustrating because I aspire to be better. Hopefully that wasn't confusing! :)

Speaking of unicorns it seems only intuitive types took the test in my article or at the very least wanted to comment haha! Anyway it was nice meeting you! :D

Well, whenever I start to do things that are not really useful for me, I remind to myself that even though there are SOME biological imperatives, brains are mostly about PROGRAMMING, so that nasty habit you don´t like its like a program too. As a human, you can safely ignore your mental programming or even change it, the trick is to be consciously and unconsciously congruent(meaning your heart, mind and unconscious must agree to it). And while our "CPU" is tied to our bodies, out consciousness is pretty much free to roam, and that can be used to our advantage. For example: whenever you start getting too much inside your head and your feelings start to bother you, and you don´t want that, you can imagine yourself literally flying out of your body and looking the situation from a higher, more calm perspective. You can also choose to remind yourself that possibilities are not certainties and most of the time, the best approach to take with problems are to deal with them, but ONLY WHEN they become certainties, like a good ninja only dodges the knife when it has been thrown by the enemy. Aggobiating yourself with endless possibilities is a sure way to melt your brain and overload your heart :P
Try it sometime and remember, brains are just like computers in some ways, if you change their unconscious programming, the output(feelings and perceptions) change too!

Nice meeting you too btw!

Also, we kinda freak out at things we can´t predict or measure, so we invent systems of measurement and prediction where none exist. Sheldon would be proud. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57729.24
ETH 3118.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37