Rooftop Whirlwind Romance - An Entry to @maverickinvictus' Photo-Fiction Contest

in #mavphotofiction6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to @maverickinvictus' Photo-Fiction Contest. If you want to know more about the details of this contest, feel free to click this link.

The rule is to create a fiction story basing from the photo below.

U5dsaCQSXoMH62wtBeKCCp3HJwLaB59_1680x8400.jpg

Photo source


Staring at this fiery horizon with clasped hands. Forcing myself not to blink as drops of tears are threatening to fall down.

No, I should not cry. You don't deserve my tears.

It was an afternoon of May when my feet led me to this very spot. A rooftop found in an abandoned building. Peaceful. Empty. Cold.

Here, I took refuge to compose the chaos within me. It has become my hideaway to escape the suffocation brought by my own world. I have found my sanctuary where I could just listen endlessly to the chirping of the birds, stare at nothingness and clear my mind from all the troubles brought by life. Here, I don't have to pretend. I can scream and cuss to the world. I feel so free and alive here.

Ugh, you are loud and annoying.

I jumped at the sound of his voice. I did not know someone has been watching my craziness the whole time I was here. He moved from his hiding spot and intentionally showed me the kind of authoritative vibe he has.

Okay, someone owns this place.

I am aware that he is talking to me but my mind seemed to be glued with his presence. His bad boy appearance, rugged and rough is so captivating that I can't seem to process the words directed at me. Damn. The sound of his voice is enough to put me in trance and his sly smile has just put me under his spell.

He laughed at his amusement while I try to hide the pink blush on my cheeks. Darn it. I act and feel so awkward around him. Now, I can't stop thinking how good his laughter sounded earlier. Oh, I am so doomed.

girl-2616818_1280.jpg

You became my rendezvous

Hours rolled into days and days into weeks, the rooftop became our rendezvous. He became a part of my daily routine. His laughter became my daily dose of happiness.

We became comfortable with each other that we literally lived in the moment. No pressures. No worries. No expectations. We were just happy.

You look good in pink.

A sweet smile escaped my lips remembering his words. I changed my dress into the pink one, his favorite and then dashed off to see him.

He didn't come.

One day, I will be gone.
No goodbyes. No tears.
You know I can't stay here with you, right?
It pains me to leave you
but I belong somewhere else.

He already warned me but I brushed him off. What we had was so heavenly that I did not even think that heaven could turn into hell so easily.

This is the 7th day I came back in this place but just like the past few days, he wasn't here. He will no longer come back.

architecture-2598158_1280.jpg

Photo source

So today, as I am staring into the angry orange sky, I am saying goodbye. I am bidding farewell to all the happy afternoons we have shared in this place that once we call our " tiny little space". The sky looked so angry today but you know what, this could look so romantic if you were here with me. Everything just turns nice and sweet when I am with you.

You know what is more painful? You were only here to hear my laughters. Now, you would not even hear my painful cries and you would not see how I am breaking. You will remember the "fun" me, not the broken one and it is kind of unfair. You are no longer here to listen to my rants about how I don't want us to be the proof of how messed up destiny is.

Now, I am saying goodbye to my hardest challenge, my hardest day and my hardest memory. Just like how the colors violet and red are on the opposite sides of the color spectrum, the two of us can't be with each other.

Today, I am saying goodbye to this rooftop. This is where I have experienced happiness but also where I was shattered. I have nowhere else to go but I can't stay here either. This place was not my refuge. YOU WERE.

girl-2934257_1280.jpg

Photo source


DQmYC3oDZkadqHW2wzsdrkGdpwRMqLY5FVXfyU9vcaf5HAd.png

Sort:  

Oh man i read it from start to finish. Spellbinded.

It left me with a hole over her sadness. Every words filled with emotions.

That you for supporting my contest Val!

Hahaha thank you for sponsoring this contest as well @maverickinvictus!!

Beautifully written. Goodluck on the contest!

Thank you goreeeee!

Good luck on the contest Valerie. Love stories tinged with sadness ... reminds of the beauty and sweet scents of the rose, until you feel its thorns. I now wonder, how will she cope with her sadness? will she be able to let it go? does fate decide to play nice and lead her to someone new?

Maybe she will be able to let it go, maybe she won't. Hmm.. planning to make a series out of this. Lol!

I so love how you used the rose and its thorns to convey the message I was trying to deliver. Bittersweet, indeed.

I think it would make an interesting series ... if you wanted to take it further. Will she self-destruct (some people don't take breakups well)? or will this be a new beginning and lead to her feeling empowered? so many ways to play with it ;)

Was he a ghost - that's why he can't be with her? This is so good yet so heartbreaking!

Hahaha natawa ako sa ghost but yeah, let's put it that way. Hahaha!!

Tuwang tuwa ako nung naisip ko yung last paragraph. Lol!

Thank you always sis!!

Hahaha! Kakapanood q lng kc ng Halik sa Hangin n movie ni Julia Montes 😂😂😂

Hahahaha!!! Pwede sad noh? Nice idea

Happy bday ulit sis haha!!! This is an enchanting love story. The words... tagos...👌👌👌

Haha thank you sis! Pakita ko sana knina sau baka mkarelate ka. Hahaha!

Gustong gusto ko yung:

Goodbye to this rooftop... this place was not my refuge. You were... ahhhhh sad!😭😭😭 sigh... 😔😔😔

Wahaha gusto ko rin yan. Huhuhuu! Super saya ko nung naisip ko yan. Yung masaya ka pero nainis sa self mo. Wahahaha nasisiraan ng utak. Lol!

Hi @valerie15! This is a very nice story. I now understand why it is heartbreaking to be the one left behind. It is because they are left to handle the memories, never getting closure...

That is so on point @raquelita! Yep, nostalgia's a b**** most of the time and the worst part is, you are in a battle with your own self.

Thanks for dropping by!

Why is this so painful. :'( ugh.

Hahahaha! Hi Arnieeeee!

Cutting onions now.. 😭😭😭😭

Thank you for taking the time reading this @zhayie. Enjoy your day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25