You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Variability in a Heteroskedastic Market

in #mathematics7 years ago

You may wish to look at the arithmetic coefficient of variation of a log-normal distribution - interestingly, it is independent of the mean.

Or you can keep testing your own intuitive formula and see when it breaks down and when it appears useful.

Sort:  

Oh yes I see, it's basically the so called Sharpe Ratio used in finance.

However I have my problems with that, I don't use it personally, I have a better way of determining risk in a market:

I will, as I said I am not a math expert, and I didn't said this is a replacement for the variance concept, it's more like an enhancement. Certainly for measuring errors in a forecasted data it's much better since the profit/loss is always a ratio:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40