Marvelous Tales #8 -- Misty Vale

in #marveloustales7 years ago (edited)

For anyone reading this now: I managed to make 1st place in the contest. I am very happy about this. Check out @playfulfoodie 's announcement for the info and to see if you want to try your hand at a later competition. My congratulations to @nexusfyre and @therovingreader also. Both impressed me with their writing and deserve a look-see.


(picture credit to @playfulfoodie, I thought it helped it fit in with the contest)

Misty Vale

After Eudora spoke the last words triggering the colossal spell from inside the pass, waves of thunder rolled and echoed above the misty vale. The mage, however, didn’t hear it, as she had instantly collapsed onto the path that now led only back down to the small town shrouded in mists. The pass itself was blocked by a dense wall of mist that surrounded the entire valley at that altitude. To the rest of the world, the tiny town of Misty Vale had never existed; even the four wizards who had helped lay the foundation for the spell no longer remembered their contribution.


This story has been deleted for personal reasons. If you wish to see samples of my fiction and poetry in a format that makes it easier to look at my work, please see my blog.


If you are a writer serious about improving your skills, the @ink-ubator community might appeal. Click the banner to check our web site for information.



Sort:  

I'm so glad you decided to enter this piece @bex-dk. Well done and I'm looking forward to seeing more of your writing! Cheers.

Thank you! But be sure you poke me when you need a reader on your novel. I don't mind reading it a few times if you want a little feedback in a development phase to help you get through a tough spot.

Oh, I need all the help I can get :D. You say that now, but my writing tends to get a little long-winded haha. But I have the first 6 chapters of A World Long Sundered on my blog if you care to take a look.

I will try to read through them soon. I do a lot of my reading as night without Internet access. ;-) As for being long-winded, I enjoyed reading Moby Dick when I was in 6th grade. That doesn't scare me. I used to go through the library and borrow the thick books, because I was only allowed 10 a month and they lasted longer.
Whether some of it needs to go, that's another question. ;-)

You are definitely my kind of reader. All my favorite authors write 700+ page bricks that no editor seems to want to touch haha. My first chapter was around 6k words, then with @rhondak's help, I cut it down and broke it up into 2 parts. Take your time, there is plenty of work to go around at the Fiction Workshop. I don't want to burn you out!

Love it, it had me transfixed beginning to end. Also congratulations on making it your first public story in a while :)

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @bex-dk. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bex-dk to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @OriginalWorks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

What an epic tale, and I enjoyed the reveal of the spell! (Plus any story that has horses in it is a win in my book... dreamy sigh)

I will often include horses. We have seven, but no stallions, blacks, or drafts... And 3 of the 7 are ponies. Thank you!

Ahh, I'm so jealous! One day...

Not much revision was needed - this is a spell binding tale, with lots of room for sequels and a prequel! Love it!

I hadn't thought about the prequel until your comments. Perhaps a prologue for the "book" it will eventually turn into if I can get myself writing it. I stressed so much over the birthing scenes, sure one of you mothers would rip it to shreds for something.... I have plans of where to go from here. I just need to start writing them.

I agree with that!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bex-dk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Dang it - I wanted to read this in workshop, but it looks like it emerged beautifully. Good luck with this contest!

Because I was so late finishing, it didn't have much time for workshop love. It wouldn't have made the contest at all if not for Carol and a few others who rushed on it for me... I'd not have had the courage to post it without the feedback. I don't think I do well with deadlines, although I probably would have procrastinated and done nothing without it. Now the juices are flowing, so you will have the chance to scribble on some soon. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74