One of the best perks of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu: Learning from the best in the game!

in #martialarts7 years ago (edited)

Can you imagine Lebron James teaching you how to shoot some hoops? Or having Cristiano Ronaldo come to your training ground to show you his favorite passes?

Well, if you are a practitioner of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ), you can be lucky to have the equivalent of that!

BJJ is still a niche sport/martial art, not very well known in the mainstream with a comparatively small number of practitioners. This situation poses many disadvantages: low earnings from those who try to make a living out of it, lower number of competitors to fight against (especially if you are a woman, or in one of the higher belt ranks), high costs of training, limited opportunities to witness big tournaments and championships.

However, being part of a relatively small community has one very exciting advantage: being much closer to those who are at the very top of Jiu Jitsu. The world champions, the most skilled competitors and the mastermind strategists are all within reach, and with a bit of luck and proactivity you can meet them and benefit from their instruction.

As I mentioned above, since it is hard to make a living out of BJJ –I mean, just look at the payouts that our posts get in Steemit!–it is not uncommon for these Jiu Jitsu "super stars" and high level competitors to tour around and offer seminars where they teach some of their favorite techniques and strategies that they have developed.

Then, if you live with a country with a well-established BJJ community, odds are that you can have access to one of these seminars and learn some amazing stuff right from the source!

I am still a white belt, but I take every opportunity I can to take part in events like this. Here are some of the highlights of the seminars I have attended:

Karel “Silver Fox” Pravec

Silver Fox, with his grey hair, sitting in the center.

Bio: With 20 years of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu experience (since 1993). During his training at the Renzo Gracie Academy, Karel has trained with and studied under some of the highest authorities in the art including Renzo Gracie, John Danaher, Rodrigo Gracie, Daniel Gracie, Matt and Nick Serra, Ricardo Almeida & Shawn Williams. Karel is one of Georges St. Pierre’s training partners when Georges periodically visits the Renzo Gracie Academy in New York. Karel is a highly sought after instructor who has taught seminars across the United States and in Europe, coached BJJ and submission grappling on national and international level (ADCC, IBJJF, GQ and NAGA tournaments) & cornered amateur and professional MMA fighters. (Source: BJJ Eastern Europe).

What I learned from him: The details of a great, killer swallow guillotine. This is one of my go-to techniques since I learned it at this seminar, and has proved to be quite effective! 

What I really liked about this seminar was that, instead of teaching a variety of techniques, Karel rather chose one and built upon it, developing setups, polishing details and counters to defensive movements from the opponent. This resulted in a very effective learning of the technique for me.

Wellington “Megaton” Dias

Wellington Dias, most commonly known in the Jiu Jitsu community as “Megaton”, is a Judo and BJJ black belt famous for a competitive drive which has kept him at the top of his game for two decades. This Gracie Humaitá team representative is the only Jiu Jitsu fighter to have competed in all first 16 editions of the World BJJ Championships as a black belt (from 1996 until 2011), having reached the podium on 4 occasions. Megaton is also the father of Brazilian jiu jitsu star Mackenzie Dern. (Source: BJJ Heroes).

What I learned from him: The details of the koala sweep that him and Mackenzie use as one of their favorite techniques, a simple one-arm collar choke set up from standing position, and some principles for takedowns which are very much appreciated since we don’t drill them often at our gym.

Oliver Taza

More of a rising star in BJJ, it is shocking to know that he has only been doing BJJ for a bit over three years! Currently a brown belt and a brilliant competitor, Oliver Taza is a testament of the level that you can reach if you have an athletic background, lots of dedication and the best instruction from day one. Now a valuable member of the Danaher Death Squad –the dominant team in no gi Jiu Jitsu nowadays–, he is rapidly advancing up the spots of the most prestigious competitions.

What I learned from him: How do to an effective heel hook – for the first time since I had not learnt them yet, talk about learning from the best! And entries to heel hook: sweeping, controlling your opponent and getting the submission. He also showed us how to do a cool back take from ashi garami.

Oliver Taza answering questions and rolling with people at the seminar. He told me I had a beautiful ashi garami (no, it wasn't an euphemism).

This upcoming Sunday I had another seminar lined up with more members of the Danaher Death Squad –Ethan Crelinstein and Nicky Ryan– but unfortunately I will be unable to take part in them due to an injury (more on that later).

What about you? Have you attended a seminar from a high level practitioner that helped your game or shown you a technique that became a staple for you? Feel free to share in the comments section!


Cheers,

Irime


------------------------------------------------------------

Photo credits: The group picture from the Oliver Taza seminar as well as the DDS seminar promotional pic was taken from BJJ Seminar Berlin

Sort:  

I attended a seminar with Renzo Gracie a few years ago. What a nice guy and funny as all hell.

My dream seminar is Renzo! Def one of my favs. I was planning a trip to NYC to train there but I fell in love with Mexico so my traveling seems to be in that direction more lately!

I'm very happy to read that you liked the country so much! I will be going back for Christmas time and I'm very much looking forward to it :-)

Same as @jiujitsu, Renzo is my dream seminar! You are very fortunate indeed :-). I have seen videos of him teaching in seminars and he has the perfect combination between being a brilliant instructor and also super funny and playful. But at the same time you can see that he takes his jiu jitsu seriously, and he's one of the most knowledgeable people out there.

I only did one year of BJJ before my health made it too hard. I miss it so much. I just wish there was a group somewhere in my area where I am not the smallest and weakest by default. :(

Sounds like you just need good training partners. I train with ladies on a weekly basis, and yes most of them are smaller and weaker, but i don't think smashing them does anything for them or myself! And that's not necessarily a gender based statement. I train with some guys who are much smaller than me, and some who are much larger than me.

Smashing, stalling, using a lot of strength and power does not refine technique for either individual. Yes, there's a time to compete, roll and go at it, test yourself. But overall, be conscious of size and strength differences. I have found that the more I give some space and lighter movement on a smaller person, that once they have drilled these movements many times with less pressure, eventually when we roll with pressure, they are able to compete with me and even tap me, despite the size and strength differences.

Hopefully one day you'll find a decent place to train, and if you feel they are using too much size, strength and pressure, ask them to flow with you more so you can actually work the technique without resistance at first. Most people should be understanding of that.

@jiujitsu I wish somebody would make a leaflet out of your comment and made it mandatory reading for all practitioners!

I am actually very happy with my teammates since the majority of them are very considerate like you and ego-less (except for the new-ish white belts who seem to be on a mission to destroy you and just won't tap), but in seminars I have encountered people from other academies who either don't care and just smash you mercilessly, or don't seem to have enough control over their moves and hence spaz out, crank up submissions or force their way into positions by crushing you instead of using technique. Argh.

Much agreed. Luckily I have been schooled in the art of how to train by some of the best. There's a time to train, a time to train with some resistance, a time to flow, and a time to go at it!

I just think the longer you practice the more you realize you get very little from smashing someone who is weaker or smaller or a lower level of technique. You must have some give and take so you both get something out of it!

Of course there will always be the other type who are 100% smash like it's a tourney or a mma fight. That's just a part of the game i guess!

I wish there was an all girl team within reasonable distance of where I am. There isn't one. Rolling is not the issue. When the warm-up is suitable for young men in shape (and not little me with chronic pain and stuff) - I just can't survive it. Half the team are blue-belts and while they're happy to teach, they also come to train. So... yeah. :(

Ahh I see what you mean! Yeah many schools do an all women's self defense class. @bjjworldtraveler here on Steemit runs a women's self defense program and it's awesome to see all the ladies training together.

Maybe you can find that somewhere near you.

You think I haven't looked? Closest is an hour away by bus. I can't do that with fibro.

@techslut Yeah, the warm ups can get pretty intense. In my group, our coach normally lets one of the higher belts take charge of the warm ups, and depending on who does it (it varies day to day) you can get anything from a nice dynamic stretching and mobility warm up (the mildest and gentlest workout), to crazily athletic warmup-thons that include stuff like handstands, cartwheeling, jumping forward rolls or army-style warmups where you have to carry your partner.

Oh Gods I hurt just remembering it. My current personal trainer has trouble believing I could do 20 pushups, 20 sprawls and 20 sit ups one after the other. Stupid bloody fibromyalgia!!!!!!

@techslut, yes BJJ is definitely not the most gentle sport for the body... it sounds like it would be ideal for you to find a school or group that focuses more on drilling and flow rolling, but I get that at the moment the offer is still quite limited. Let's hope as BJJ grows in popularity this situation will change :-) Thank you for commenting!

Amen! If you hear of a disability friendly BJJ team somewhere in Israel - let me know! :)

Contact Ido Portal in Tel Aviv :-)

Checked. What he's doing is some kind of movement thing he invented and it's interesting, but not worth the trip to Tel Aviv. Currently, I have a trainer coming to my house. But that's not rolling. :(
Thanks for the suggestion!

Not related to BJJ, but I happened to come across a competitive and champion powerlifter who gave me some invaluable tips that I learned to implement and understand with time.
Learning directly from the champs certainly accelerates your progress by taking away the time that you'd need to figure out the tweaks and tricks by yourself!

Nice post! I hope your injury isn't too bad.

@tking77798 Thanks! It seems it's not as bad as I initially thought. The symptoms indicated a partially torn adductor muscle but after a week of complete rest I am recovering mobility quite nicely. Will probably go back to light training next week already :-)

Very nice! You have some high level talent visiting :)

Indeed! I hope they keep on coming :-D

How long have you been practicing jiu jitsu? I've always wanted to, but I need to cheer myself up a bit. What has been the most difficult since you started practicing it?

For a bit over a year now. I highly recommend it, I wrote a bit about my experience when I started in this other post:
https://steemit.com/martialarts/@irime/from-outsider-to-part-of-the-team-the-five-stages-of-the-social-experience-in-brazilian-jiu-jitsu

The most difficult... I think probably the fact that the learning curve is super steep and therefore there is endless frustration and confusion; during some periods you feel like you are not getting any better or you don't "get" what you are supposed to be doing. But this pretty much standard experience, you just have to persevere and keep trying to improve and eventually you will.

wow bro your post is very great post.I like it.
I love your post
reply my comment bro

irimie , again ; great post .

it looks like we could soon be sharing steemit.com with one of the biggest names in the game : keenan cornelious , that is if we push this wide enough , please see the photo below and my recent post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58871.01
ETH 2682.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50